XDK 360 question regarding 203 watt and 213 watt power supply

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Development' started by Wolfcarnage, Apr 19, 2018.

  1. Wolfcarnage

    Wolfcarnage Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
    View attachment 31984 View attachment 31985 View attachment 31986 View attachment 31987 View attachment 31984 View attachment 31985 View attachment 31986 View attachment 31987 View attachment 31987 So I received a amazing xbox xdk from France on Ebay today but I never received a real development kit before just rgh ..the power supply cable and wattage was different. The wattage is 213 instead of 203 does this matter? I know in past I had wrong power supply for a jasper jagged and it had the E54 famous error. I do not want to damage the machine putting a regular 203 watt on. Also the plug being different since this was from France I can assume the 3 prong 240 watt is just different but never dealt with European power supply . Any help xdk owners would be greatly appreciated :)
     
  2. TriMesh

    TriMesh Site Supporter 2013-2017

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    601
    You will need a 213W supply - the extra 10W over the 203W retail PSU is the 5A @ 2A supply for the sidecar. If you try to run an XDK off a 203W retail Xenon supply the PSU will just shut down because the 5V rail is being massively overloaded.

    Just to make it a bit clearer:

    203W Xenon PSU

    16.5A @ 12V / 1A @ 5V (198W + 5W = 203W)

    213W XDK PSU

    16.5A @ 12V / 3A @ 5V (198W + 15W = 213W)

    So the main 12V rail is the same rating, but the 5A aux supply has 3 times the current draw on an XDK.
     
    sa1 and Wolfcarnage like this.
  3. Wolfcarnage

    Wolfcarnage Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok thanks for that info thank God for these forums I would have overloaded a 600 dollar machine! I will seek out a 213 W power supply
     
  4. Wolfcarnage

    Wolfcarnage Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
    So next question u have if I get one if those converters will it be able to run the required voltage with one of those foreign plug converters?
     
  5. TriMesh

    TriMesh Site Supporter 2013-2017

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    601
    It depends on which country you are in, and what the line voltage is. If it's 220V/230V/240V then you just need a plug adapter - if you are in a place like the USA that uses 120V then you will need a step-up transformer.
     
    Wolfcarnage likes this.
  6. Wolfcarnage

    Wolfcarnage Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
    A step up transformer is what i need put one on order..many thanks!
     
  7. Wolfcarnage

    Wolfcarnage Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
    Now the setup transformer they make 100 watts all the way to 2500 watts..do u think a 100 watt would be fine or should I get like a 300 watt
     

    Attached Files:

  8. TriMesh

    TriMesh Site Supporter 2013-2017

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    601
    Well, the PSU is rated at 213W, so you need at least that. 300W is probably a good size.
     
    Wolfcarnage likes this.
  9. Wolfcarnage

    Wolfcarnage Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok I will go with that many thanks!!
     
  10. Wolfcarnage

    Wolfcarnage Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
    Is this why it is recommended 300 watts?


    TRANSFORMER PURCHASE GUIDE: Remember to leave at least a 100 percent slack for the Voltage Converter Transformer. for TVs, Xbox and PS3 consoles, the power surge margin is 3 times the wattage rating of these products. Heating appliances, laser printers and power tools spike when you turn them On. For these products you need to buy a Voltage Converter Transformer that is at least 3 to 4 times the rated wattage.
     
  11. TriMesh

    TriMesh Site Supporter 2013-2017

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    601
    That really sounds like they are horribly low quality products. I have a 220->120V 3kVA stepdown transformer here and that has a 100% overload rating for t <= 100s - I.E. it will supply 3kVA at 100% duty cycle and will supply 6kVA for up to 1m40s.

    It anyone gave me a spec sheet that recommended derating the output by 75% I would throw it away and start looking for another supplier.
     
    Wolfcarnage likes this.
  12. wanszai

    wanszai Rising Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    72
    I had a US psu arrive once, didn't realise and plugged it in. Cooked the psu but the console was fine.

    keep an eye on ebay, ive seen lots of 213watt psu's for sale on there or even stick a wanted up in the marketplace. They shouldn't be too expensive, saw them go for as little as $25.
     
    Wolfcarnage likes this.
  13. Wolfcarnage

    Wolfcarnage Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thank you I found a power supply for XDK for North American consoles on Ebay thanks to users here on Assembler! I will point out you guys are great. I posted same question on others which was once sought respectable forums...no one answered at all. So I owe it to Assembler because if i would have tried to put 203 watt power supply in it it would have fried my PSU! That definitely happened with E54 message on a jtag console with extra fans and lights I once had. I never would have known the 10 watt difference with the sidecar.. thank you AssemblerGames for having active members!
     
  14. Wolfcarnage

    Wolfcarnage Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
    Those were Amazon guidelines lol I doubt they know much there about power supply guidelines for XDKs lol
     

Share This Page