[XBOX] Rainbow (possible unreleased game)

Discussion in 'File Downloads - Share and Request' started by slugman, Jan 22, 2017.

  1. slugman

    slugman Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    56
    Hi,

    I found also a folder named 'Rainbow' on the same Devkit console where I found US Open 2003 unreleased game. It's seems to be the build of a game according to the content. Unfortunately when I launch it from the Xdk Dashboard it freeze on the Xbox logo.

    rainbowXdkLauncher.jpg

    rainbowFolder.jpg

    Could be an interesting unreleased game :). If someone have skills to make it run it will be great!

    [EDIT] Apparently it's a build of Cocoto Kart Racer (unreleased on Xbox).

    Download link:
    https://mega.nz/#F!LMkS0IqJ!0KM-BZec-6O5aX1__EnjrQ
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2017
  2. Knuckles500

    Knuckles500 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    29
    Hey, I looked into this a bit more.

    This appears to be an early prototype of Cocoto Kart Racer.

    http://www.e-neko.com/?p=1563&lang=en

    The game was never released on Xbox, but was released for the GameCube, PS2, and PC. I can tell that this is the same game because the data folder contains files for the "Abyss", "Atlantis", "Volcano", and "Jungle" levels. The data folder contains some files for the PS2 version as well, including a .elf executable for what I assume is the PS2 version (I'll have to take a look). I don't know what the build date of the final is, but the build date for this appears to be Jun 20, 2004. The final game was released Mar 2, 2005.

    Nice find. :)
     
  3. slugman

    slugman Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    56
    Thanks Knuckles500. Will be great if someone can find a way to make it launch :)
     
  4. Borman

    Borman Digital Games Curator

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,563
    Likes Received:
    2,219
    Trying to get my PC to finish updating so I can take a look at it.

    Edit:

    The primary error seems to be this:
    ERR[D3D]: SetVideoMode - Unsupported display mode.
    Break: 0x00093D5A 0x0000001C

    Would have to look into what its trying to set, and see if we can force it to load something proper.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2017
    americandad, Digmac and slugman like this.
  5. supersega

    supersega I have 7 and a half PS1s in my room alone.

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    145
    RAINBOW 6 SIEGE ON ORIGINAL XBOX CONFIRMED
     
    pato likes this.
  6. americandad

    americandad Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    276
    Woot! Go Borman!
     
  7. Borman

    Borman Digital Games Curator

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,563
    Likes Received:
    2,219
    Having time to actually break it down and find out if its possible to fix it with my limited skills will be much more difficult hah. Im sure someone more skillful will get to it before me, but Ill try to take a look more when I have time.
     
    americandad likes this.
  8. D_Ban

    D_Ban Robust Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    348
    You're right the .elf mentions Cocoto.
    EDIT: Seem's it's a GC one not a PS2 ELF. GC doesn't use a . in front of ELF in the header but adding with retail data crashes Dolphin currently.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2017
  9. Anthony817

    Anthony817 Familiar Face

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    595
    Nice find!
     
  10. law56ker

    law56ker Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    awesome
     
  11. RichardX

    RichardX Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    13
    So, someone managed to fix it?

    cheers!
     
  12. stuntpenguin

    stuntpenguin Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    78
    I was getting the same error with my debug kit set to NTSC-M. Seems to get a little further with PAL-L.

    [​IMG]

    Edit: Not entirely sure, but I think the folder "L100" needs to be renamed "L1" and all of the files within this folder need to have "L100" in their names changed to "L1". Doing this gets the debugger all the way to "STAGE_load END" and "GAME_open END" before erroring out.

    Double edit: it's definitely pulling assets from "DATA\L1" when they exist. I've encountered games that will both load individual assets or an archive file containing all of the assets. That is to say, the games will try to load the assets from multiple sources and take whatever is available. That may or may not be the case here, haven't looked hard enough to tell.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2017
    Anthony817, Esppiral and gladiator5 like this.

Share This Page