XBOX power supply help

Discussion in 'Xbox (Original console)' started by davidthomas, Jan 6, 2014.

  1. davidthomas

    davidthomas Site Supporter 2013,2014

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have a trusty 1.4ghz board with the RAM upgrade. It is a version 1.1 and I need to install a new power supply. What is the best power supply for the XBOX? I have a few different types to choose from. I want to the best for that board! I have a bunch more to look though later to see if I have anymore different ones.

    They are this order in the pics Delta, Foxlink, and Minebea


    The Minbea Electronics UK LTD I have never seen before and it seems to be built different then the rest. Not sure if that is a good thing or bad thing.

    Also should I use the official GFI power cord? Or the regular power cable with no GFI? Pros and cons?


    1.0power supply.JPG
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014
  2. Syclopse

    Syclopse .

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    541
    I'd say find the "coolest" running one, as I've noticed the bottom of the hard drive carriers show heat damage on some consoles. Are all 3 of those AT connectors for v1.0/1.1?
     
  3. davidthomas

    davidthomas Site Supporter 2013,2014

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes they are all AT connectors for the 1.0/1.1
     
  4. HEX1GON

    HEX1GON FREEZE! Scumbag

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9,916
    Likes Received:
    838
    Avoid Foxlink PSUs.
     
  5. davidthomas

    davidthomas Site Supporter 2013,2014

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    4
    What do you think about the Minebea? Is that a official PSU? This is the only 2nd one I have had.


    Also which is the manufacturer that the socket for the power cord seems to get loose and short out? I have had a few over the years that buzz and smoke from a short circuit from that loose socket. I just did not note which one it was.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014
  6. HEX1GON

    HEX1GON FREEZE! Scumbag

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9,916
    Likes Received:
    838
    According to shops that repaired XBOX systems, Minebea were the most wanted PSUs. Unofficial PSUs were not branded iirc.

    Probably Foxlink.
     
  7. Borman

    Borman Digital Games Curator

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,564
    Likes Received:
    2,221
    Yep, the Foxlink power supplies are awful. I had to fix my solder joints multiple times on it, such a crappy thing.
     
  8. davidthomas

    davidthomas Site Supporter 2013,2014

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    4
    You are correct it is the foxlink. I looked for the one I still had that burnt. This one was so bad even after I solder it again it would not stop shorting. The other 2 manufacturers secure the power connector to the board. That foxlink is not secured at all! That is such a bad design! I am leaning on using the Minebea now. It has a fuses right next to the power connector. Also according to HEX1GON they are the choice of the repair shops.
     
  9. HEX1GON

    HEX1GON FREEZE! Scumbag

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9,916
    Likes Received:
    838
    I repair my Foxlink once, but a few weeks later it started buzzing at me... They are horrible, reason why many people's XBOX systems caught fire :p
     
  10. davidthomas

    davidthomas Site Supporter 2013,2014

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    4
    I just looked at Foxlink from a 1.2-1.5 and they fixed the problem with the power connector. It is riveted down to the board now like the delta 1.0/1.1 PSU
     
    Syclopse likes this.
  11. Leang

    Leang king solomon's Angkor Temple

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    if anyone know how to upgrade the 1.6 PSU, let us know. my modchip is installed and I have the electronic components but not sure how to solder it(PSU) and add more volts.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2017
  12. KaosEngineer

    KaosEngineer Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    98
    What are you asking to do? Doesn't make any sense. More volts? why?

    Probably not the PSU of the 1.6 requiring modification but the LPC debug port rebuilt to restore functionality for modchip use.

    IIRC, Aladdin XT plus 2 modchip you are installing.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Leang

    Leang king solomon's Angkor Temple

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    the xbox power supply output when i plug the ac cable in the back of the xbox. i want to upgrade it by adding more watt(https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Watt)
     
  14. KaosEngineer

    KaosEngineer Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    98
    Again, why? watts wrong with the watts now. watt needs more whats --opps -- what needs more watts?
     
  15. obcd

    obcd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    37
    The wattage rating of a power supply is normally the maximum a supply can generate. It's possible that it doesn't need all it's watts. If you overload it, it will work unstable or simply go defective after a short period of time. The 1.6 (b) xbox mobo uses a different type of power supply. You can't exchange it with the supply of a 1.2 - 1.4 xbox. The connectors are the same, but the output voltages are not. The 1.6 (b) power supply was a total redesign. It's not just 1 component they changed.
     
  16. Leang

    Leang king solomon's Angkor Temple

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    i have skills in electrical. how can i prove that check this video i am still going to resolder the 1.6 power supply and add some electronic components to increase voltage and watts.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2017
  17. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,613
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    No offense, but I wouldn't consider that skills in electronics.

    If you increase voltages, you will damage the xbox. I don't think you fully understand what you are asking.
     

Share This Page