XBOX clock capacitor

Discussion in 'Xbox (Original console)' started by omp, Oct 9, 2012.

1. omp

omp Familiar Face

Howsit?

I have been reading up on this dead clock capacitor thing.

I am now doing a mild mad panic as my XBOX was modified years ago with some sort of mod chip, bigger hard drive and runs the evo dashboard.

Now I can mod consoles and stuff no worries, BUT I have never dealt with XBOX mods, only repairs as far as replacing lasers, DVD drive servicing etc.

So if I had to replace this due to a leaky battery it would be hard for as I am not good with software and stuff. (I have been wanting to load Sega emulators on it for years but don't know how...)

Anyway to replace this capacitor, could I use up to 55F with no issue's? I know it would take longer to charge (and technically last a long time) but would there be anything else? The voltage is correct.

I have 2 choices (living in Australia blows sometimes)

http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=RE6704 (ouch)

or

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Cooper-Buss...364?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4604abb044

Cheers

EDIT just found this

http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=RE6702 Which maybe better

Last edited: Oct 9, 2012
  2. HEX1GON

HEX1GON FREEZE! Scumbag

Jaycar's prices are stupid! Even for wire...

3. CodeAsm

CodeAsm ohci_write: Bad offset 30

Battery? lipo? :D If I ever going to be crazy ill put in a rechargeable battery :D

4. Patrick

Patrick Rising Member

What about this:
    1x Elco 0,47mF
    1x Diode 1N4148
    1x CR2032-Holder
    1x CR2032
    [​IMG]
    109.jpg

KrypticNL likes this.
  5. CodeAsm

CodeAsm ohci_write: Bad offset 30

Nice, thats also a nice solution. Are there any test results of howlong it lasts ?

6. omp

omp Familiar Face

Hmm that looks interesting still require the capacitor. I see in your list you say 0.47uF cap, but in the pic it looks to be a 5v 1.0uF? Is it a standard capacitor, or super cap?