Which Donkey Kong 64 Maintains Save?

Discussion in 'Everdrive 64' started by Prodigal Gun, Jul 30, 2011.

  1. discomike

    discomike Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    OS 1.23 fixed the problems i was having with the F2 (force SRAM) version not creating the save file on my NTSC console.

    Good work.
     
  2. Nintendo64

    Nintendo64 Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    @KRIKzz

    Hi,

    I got a 64Drive a few days ago and tested it with Donkey Kong 64 (U) [!].z64 (the original dump that has not been patched). For my surprise, the game saved fine to EEP16K. Even after finishing the first level the save was not lost.

    I don't know if this is hardware or software related, just wanted to let you know. Maybe there is still a bug in the EEP16K save feature in ED64.

    Again, I am not complaining, just trying to help making the ED64 bug free :)

    Thank you for your work.
     
  3. sharklaser

    sharklaser Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello,
    which (E) rom of DK64 should I use if I want to be able to save my game on the ED64:

    Donkey Kong 64 (E) [f1] (Boot&Save).z64
    or
    Donkey Kong 64 (E) [f1] (Save).z64

    thanks

    EDIT:
    Nevermind its: Donkey Kong 64 (E) [f1] (Boot&Save).z64 on PAL consoles
    thanks anyway
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2013
  4. yourgamerman

    yourgamerman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi! I have problem the Donkey Kong 64 (E) [!] original rom (No cracked), because sometimes one of the file saved is gone, everything was fine until my file was deleted (is the third time that happens!), but Kong Battle and Mystery Menu still are unlocked, I don't know what happens to EEP16K save feature, is a bug o something?

    I hope someone responds

    i using:

    N64 NTSC American, With Revision NUS-CPU-04
    Everdrive 64 v2
    OS: 1.28, 1.29 (are Tested)
    Firmware: 2.24
    Manufacture Date: 04/22/2013

    I playing this game in PAL Version for Spanish language.
     
  5. fathertime

    fathertime Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Even when using a virgin rom with EEP16K save type the save will wipe. There is some fancy copy protection in this game, most likely a some bits set on the EEP16K in the factory that are tested in game.

    you must use the 101% crack version of the rom and force SRAM save type.
     
  6. yourgamerman

    yourgamerman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    ooh okay thank very much!

    I try to download Donkey Kong 64 (E) [f1] (Boot&Save).z64

    and
    and start the game from the beginning, that sucks :(
     
  7. krisk77

    krisk77 Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    52
    Over at krikzz forum he mentions that EEPROM implementation is more accurate on 2.04 OS and that the default eeprom save type seems to work with the original virgin rom. Can someone confirm this? thanks
     
  8. phcy

    phcy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone here who can confirm this by now?
    Ive read on several ocassions that krikkz fixed the EEPROM issues on the newest OS releases, and as far as i understood you should be able to play the clean version of DK64 withouth any save issues.

    So is anyone here who played through DK64 on a newer OS without any issues?
    Of course people who had issues can post too.

    After all it wouldnt suprise me if it worked for some people, but at the same time didnt work for other, allthough they are using the exact same rom and OS.



    I got another general question on DK64, just for clarification:

    Isnt the general consensus that
    - Donkey Kong 64 (E) [f2]
    and
    - Donkey Kong 64 (U) [f2]

    are the roms which work defintely as long as you force sram before every start?

    Or isnt it necessary anymore to manually force sram each time with the latest OS?

    Lets assume the latter isnt accurate, no matter if its the PAL or NTSC-U Version, all i have to do is using the [f2] dump of DK64 and just be sure to manually force sram before each start?
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2015
  9. Conker2012

    Conker2012 Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    80

Share This Page