Unofficial Deunan's GDEMU Thread

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by duskdawn, Jul 8, 2015.

  1. krisk77

    krisk77 Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    51
    I never managed to get mine working with 1.032 like you and had the same problem. I went back 31 instead.
     
    DanyH83 likes this.
  2. renanbianchi

    renanbianchi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hmmmm, i'm stuck on a boot loop when i'm trying to boot Unreal Tournament NTSC, anyone else had this problem? Strangely enough it's the only game so far that has this problem. I'm using a clone unit that just arrived today.

    I'm using Trurip btw.

    I did some research and couldn't find any info other than this thread, but i haven't seen a slution yet.

    Any tips? Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2019
  3. Mrneo240

    Mrneo240 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    624
    could you rebuild that trurip into a normal gdi? theres a couple ways but on windows, RebuildGDI would be the easiest
     
    renanbianchi likes this.
  4. renanbianchi

    renanbianchi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the suggestion, but the problem persists.

    RebuildGDI makes the gdi noticeably smaller, but other than that after the sega authentication screen, it loops back to the dreamcast logo. My firmware is 05.15, so i don't think it is a firmware issue.

    If you have gdemu please give it a go and let me know. Other than that i'm open to any suggestion.

    Edit: Just tried with Tosec, also trying with RebuildGDI. Same problem both ways.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2019
  5. Mrneo240

    Mrneo240 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    624
    Meant to post earlier . Forgot.
    GDEmu clone 5.5, ntsc va1 DC. Clone is dated 4/20/18. With tosec unreal


    20190129_153935.jpg 20190129_153950.jpg
     
    renanbianchi and AUSTIN PEYTON like this.
  6. renanbianchi

    renanbianchi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Huuuuuuum, think it's firmware related? Might also try with another sd card, dunno what else i might try tho. Also, what SD card are you using? Also i'm using 32kb cluster size, think it might be related? i'm using a kingston class4 16gb.
     
  7. Mrneo240

    Mrneo240 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    624
    20181118_163536.jpg
    Oddly enough, board is stamped v5.5 but GDMenu reports v5.15
    20181115_154212.jpg
    It's on the silver card but I doubt it wouldn't work on the gold.
    If you're on windows I suggest formatting your card with the official SD formatter. It has always done well for me
     
    renanbianchi likes this.
  8. renanbianchi

    renanbianchi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    you mean the sd association or the phillips one?
     
  9. Mrneo240

    Mrneo240 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    624
    renanbianchi likes this.
  10. renanbianchi

    renanbianchi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
  11. megavolt85

    megavolt85 Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    482
    is board revision
    is firmware version
     
    fafadou, Anthony817 and Mrneo240 like this.
  12. renanbianchi

    renanbianchi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok i just tested with a brand new Sandisk class 10 32gb formated using SD Card formatter and i still get the same error. Maybe you can PM me a link to get the same image you got, @Mrneo240 ? I have no idea what else i could try.

    I did remove the 12v resistor + voltage regulator from the power supply as i read that it reduces heat, i don't know if it has any relation but i don't think it does.

    Also i'm using SD CARD MAKER FOR GDEMU V1.04 to transfer the games. Every other game worked, except this one, even Rainbow Six that has more cdda tracks than UT :/
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2019
  13. DanyH83

    DanyH83 Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    There is a new version of SD CARD MAKER FOR GDEMU, try different release of unreal Tournament.
    madsheep said:
    GDEMU SD CARD MAKER 1.10
    -Custom menu will be saved in sd card by default
    -Custom menu will be load from sd card by default
    -Save button removed (not needed anymore)
    -Load button will load the saved entries from last session
    -Default button will load default game names from ip.bin
    -Saved menu entries will be displayed in Main Window

    This update will help with the custom menu you will not need to mess with load save files
    you only need to do this:
    Select SD > Load games > Press SAVE Button > Edit Menu > Done

    Download
    http://xxx.biskoto.gr/GDEMU_SD.rar (Right click, "Save as")
     
    Greg2600 and renanbianchi like this.
  14. renanbianchi

    renanbianchi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the tip, but the download link doesn't work, or the website is blocking brazilian ips. Either way i can't download it.

    EDIT: managed to download it from another website, will report in a minute with both releases

    EDIT 2: Same problem persists. I even checked if there is any factory defect and i saw that there is a wrong crystal on some gdemus that could cause problems, but my GD is using the correct crystal.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2019
  15. Anthony817

    Anthony817 Familiar Face

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    596
    Any issues I typically have I solved by unplugging the GDEMU from the gdrom bus and plugging it back in. Cleaning contacts on SD cards with isopropyl alcohol and cotton swabs helps too. Other than that, it can only be an incompatible SD card at this point. I was playing the TOSEC rip of Unreal Tournament just fine on my GDEMU clone with a 128gb SanSisk micro SDXC inside of an adapter.
     
    renanbianchi likes this.
  16. renanbianchi

    renanbianchi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    I just downloaded from a website called Freerooms v1.004 and it worked.

    Seems to me that all this time i was downloading ver 1.000 so it must be something wrong with that.

    But thanks for all the help guys, really apreciate it.
     
    DanyH83 and Anthony817 like this.
  17. Greg2600

    Greg2600 Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    112
  18. Anthony817

    Anthony817 Familiar Face

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    596
  19. Mrneo240

    Mrneo240 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    624
  20. Greg2600

    Greg2600 Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    112
    Well, if you were to have these things made by a 3D printing service, it's going to cost about that much. The one from Javi in Spain looks a lot nicer.
     
    Anthony817 likes this.

Share This Page