Tape recovery needs old software

Discussion in 'Acclaim Project' started by ASSEMbler, Feb 14, 2016.

  1. ASSEMbler

    ASSEMbler Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    19,394
    Likes Received:
    1,005
    We need symantec backup exec older than version 12.5.

    Anyone have any lying around?
     
  2. supersega

    supersega I have 7 and a half PS1s in my room alone.

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    145
  3. ASSEMbler

    ASSEMbler Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    19,394
    Likes Received:
    1,005
    No, it's called seagate backup exec. Need versions that are veritas, or pre 4.0.
     
  4. Syclopse

    Syclopse .

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    539
    A lot of times NT Backup can open / extract the older versions. I'll look around my stuff and see what survived. Here's some info from the wiki. Conner, I remember being king when I got the 850MB hard drive to upgrade my 40MB.

    Major Milestones and Releases[edit]
    • Maynard Electronics founded, 1982
    • MaynStream for Windows 3.0, May, 1992
    • Conner Backup Exec for Windows NT 3.1, May, 1993
    • Arcada Software Backup Exec for Windows NT 5.0, June, 1994
    • Arcada Software Backup Exec for Windows NT 6.0, April, 1995
    • Seagate Software Backup Exec for Windows NT 7.0, August, 1997
    • Seagate Backup Exec 7.2, October, 1998
    • VERITAS Backup Exec 7.3, March, 1999
    • VERITAS Backup Exec 8.0, January, 2000
    • VERITAS Backup Exec 8.6, November, 2001
    • VERITAS Backup Exec 9.0, June, 2003
    • VERITAS Backup Exec 9.1, December, 2003
    • VERITAS Backup Exec 10.0, January, 2005
    • Symantec Backup Exec 10d, September, 2005[2]
    • Symantec Backup Exec 11d, November, 2006[3]
    • Symantec Backup Exec 12, February, 2008[4]
    • Symantec Backup Exec 12.5, October, 2008
    • Symantec Backup Exec 2010 (13.0), February, 2010
    • Symantec Backup Exec 2010 R2, August, 2010
    • Symantec Backup Exec 2010 R3, May, 2011
    • Symantec Backup Exec 2012 (14.0), March 5, 2012
    • Symantec Backup Exec 2014, (14.1), June 2, 2014
    • Symantec Backup Exec 15, (14.2), 2015-04-06
    • Symantec Symantec Backup Exec 15 FP1, July 8, 2015
    • Symantec Symantec Backup Exec 15 FP2, October 19, 2015
    • Symantec Symantec Backup Exec 15 FP3, December 9, 2015
    Architecture[edit]
    Backup Exec installations can have one or more media servers, which are responsible for moving data from one or more locations to a storage medium, including virtually any disk or tape device. The data may be from the local system or from a remote system. The core Backup Exec product can have additional functionality unlocked through the addition of agent and option licenses. Not all agents are agents in the traditional sense. For example the Agent for VMware and Hyper-V is not carrying out the backup process. The agent is simply collecting meta data (takes a few seconds) so that Backup Exec can perform granular recoveries directly from storage at a point in the future - no mounting required. Multiple media servers can be managed using the Central Admin Server Option. Current versions of the software support Microsoft, VMware, Linux and Macintosh amongst a longer list of supported software.

    Backup Exec shares the same Microsoft Tape Format with Windows' built-in NTBackup.
     
    BadSpencer1986 likes this.
  5. Killah

    Killah Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    17
    I have the conner backup exec on floppy for windows/dos says its version 3.5
    this any good?
     
    Syclopse likes this.
  6. sanni

    sanni Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    77
  7. ASSEMbler

    ASSEMbler Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    19,394
    Likes Received:
    1,005
    It's too new really, many of the data tapes predate 1996
     
  8. Killah

    Killah Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    17
    What about Conner software I have is 3.5 to old?
     
  9. Syclopse

    Syclopse .

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    539
    Upload it and paste the link, I'd like a copy of it myself.
     
  10. Killah

    Killah Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    17
    Ok bud am at work the now ill dump the floppys later defo I got the Conner unit from a bucket its all complete unused
     
  11. Killah

    Killah Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    17
    hi sorry took so long had to build a computer with a floppy drive lol
    try this just put all the floppy files into folders and zipped it up
    https://mega.nz/#!A4Q3SRbZ!Zlb07Ace8lB_to3Iu_p4u79tJlaFZC3DXG8seZ-1Lfw
     
    americandad and Syclopse like this.
  12. Syclopse

    Syclopse .

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    539
    Thanks for doing this, if anyone has the old floppy controller based tape drives or IDE tape drives this software will work with it. Basically DOS and Windows 3.1 versions as Windows 95 was just coming out.
    Vesa Local Bus days...
    Conner Backup Exec, Version 3.5
    Copyright Arcada Software, Inc. 1995. (October 16, 1995)
     
  13. Killah

    Killah Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    17
    glad it could be of use its sat on a shelf for years lol
    if u ever need the old tape reader id happly donate the full thing
     
  14. Poregon

    Poregon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    10
    Did 3.5 do the trick or are you still looking for another version?
     
  15. justz00t

    justz00t <B>Site Supporter 2013</B><BR><B>Site Supporter 20

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
  16. BadSpencer1986

    BadSpencer1986 Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    25
    I have these discs of Veritas Backup Exec:
    [GALLERY=media, 807]004 by BadSpencer1986 posted Apr 20, 2016 at 12:58 PM[/GALLERY][GALLERY=media, 806]003 by BadSpencer1986 posted Apr 20, 2016 at 12:58 PM[/GALLERY][GALLERY=media, 805]002 by BadSpencer1986 posted Apr 20, 2016 at 12:58 PM[/GALLERY][GALLERY=media, 804]001 by BadSpencer1986 posted Apr 20, 2016 at 12:58 PM[/GALLERY]

    May they fit to the need?
     
  17. americandad

    americandad Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    275
    It actually sort of works on Windows 7 :O It'll crash though because "the filenames are too long" lol.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  18. Kao

    Kao Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    307
    Just checking in to see if there's been any more progress. Hoping we can get into these tapes sometime! :)
     
  19. PermanentlyNulled

    PermanentlyNulled Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Were these tapes ever recovered?
     
  20. retro

    retro Resigned from mod duty 15 March 2018

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    823
    You don't need to create a new account. Log in with your original, please. Rule 14.
     

Share This Page