SuperUFO pro 8 compatibility

Discussion in 'Everdrive Clones and Support' started by xmog123x, Nov 3, 2013.

  1. xmog123x

    xmog123x Peppy Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    14
    I'm really happy with the superufo pro 8, as every game I wanted to play - works. Except one - Sutte Hakkun. I've read somewhere, that there are different roms with different checksums etc - the problem is I've tried every rom I could find in my set. Generally BS roms work on the superufo pro 8, is there some kind of method to making Sutte Hakkun work?
     
  2. MottZilla

    MottZilla Champion of the Forum

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,073
    Likes Received:
    112
    It's probably confused about the header information when loading the game and using the wrong mapping. It's a fairly common problem with BS ROMs. You could try altering the standard header area.
     
  3. xmog123x

    xmog123x Peppy Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yeah, when loading the rom, the title says す|っ|て|は|っ|く|ん instead of a regular すってはっくん。 so there are some erros, you have any idea how could I fix the headers? Excite bike or picross doesn't have these problems
     
  4. KiddoCabbusses

    KiddoCabbusses Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would you mind being more clear on which BS Version of the 3, or if it's the Retail or NP version, having difficulties running?

    Interesting that some Satellaview games seem to run OK off the bat, by the way. I hear the SNES Powerpak is a good bit more finicky about them.
     
  5. xmog123x

    xmog123x Peppy Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    14
    Every three of them
     
  6. xmog123x

    xmog123x Peppy Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    14
    I noticed Krikzz's post on changing one byte in the BS roms to get them to work, at offset ffd7; E2 -> 0A, the problem is, I've got there a 29 :)
     
  7. xmog123x

    xmog123x Peppy Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    14
    Has anyone got Dragon Quest 3 to work with a translation patch? From what I noticed. The original rom is 3mb, but after you apply the patch, it's size is bigger by a bit (cant remember now the exact size). I'm guessing that the sup8 doesnt have enough memory. Has anyone tried playing this?
     
  8. AtomizerZero

    AtomizerZero Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    117
  9. xmog123x

    xmog123x Peppy Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    14
    That's what I noticed. Isn't there a rom trimmer or sth to be done?
     
  10. AtomizerZero

    AtomizerZero Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    117
    Well, considering the original Japanese rom is 4MB's (32Mbits) to begin with, I highly doubt there would be anything to really trim. The Japanese rom is actually the max size that Super Ufo Pro 8 can handle. I'm going to check my sd2snes cart in a moment, and see if it works on that and edit this post.

    EDIT: Yes, it works perfectly with sd2snes. It looks so good through the Mini Framemeister too :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2014

Share This Page