SuperUfo Pro 8 add DSP chip

Discussion in 'Everdrive Clones and Support' started by mdmx, May 30, 2010.

  1. mdmx

    mdmx Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    29
    I acquired a Super Ufo Pro 8 copier. I really like this copier because it's small and has a nice GUI. Unfortunately it does not have DSP support. According to the manual I have to use a DSP boot card to play DSP games. I tried Pilotwings and Mario Kart as a boot card, but that didn't work.

    So I opened the unit and noticed an empty socket marked as 'DSP_74HC74' (14 Pin). I assume I can install a DSP chip here. So I disassembled my Mario Kart cartridge, but the DSP chip is much larger than the socket on the Ufo.

    So how can I enable DSP support in the Super Ufo? I would prefer to install an DSP chip.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2010
  2. Jamtex

    Jamtex Adult Orientated Mahjong Connoisseur

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5,472
    Likes Received:
    16
    The 74HC74 is a dual type flip flop, installing one of those might help...
     
  3. ConsoleFun

    ConsoleFun Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    3
    Mine had two empty sockets. One socket for a 74HC74, and one socket for the actual DSP chip. I installed both chips and DSP support works fine.
     
  4. ASSEMbler

    ASSEMbler Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    19,394
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    have to try this...
     
  5. mdmx

    mdmx Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    29
    Last edited: May 31, 2010
  6. Jamtex

    Jamtex Adult Orientated Mahjong Connoisseur

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5,472
    Likes Received:
    16
    That's the one (assuming the chip missing is of a DIP type...), I would suggest you get 2, just in case one doesn't work. There is nothing more annoying in buying a new chip and then spending ages trying to work out why it don't work only to find the chip is fried.
     
  7. mdmx

    mdmx Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    29
    ok, finally I installed the 74HC74 and a DSP chip. The socket for the DSP chip is hidden under the floppy drive, I haven't checked that place before :redface:

    I disassembled the DSP chip from an old Pilotwings cartridge. The UFO shows 'DSP on' in the main menu. I've tested a few DSP games and they all seem to run, except Pilotwings - the screen turns black when I start a flight.

    I wonder why that happens. At least Pilotwings should run, because the UFO has the chip from the game installed:confused:
     
  8. dutchconsolefreak

    dutchconsolefreak Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is the image of the pilotwings you use of the same region as the card you took the dsp from? Maybe its just a pal/ntsc timing problem, or maybe some kind of software protection, if you took the image from the original card that is.
     
  9. mdmx

    mdmx Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    29
    The cart is PAL. I dumped it before I disassembled the DSP chip and I tested the NTSC versions of the game aswell. However no version does run properly on the UFO.
     
  10. Oldgamingfart

    Oldgamingfart Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    2
    The Super Wild Card DX has DSP support. I was playing Mario Kart and Pilotwings on it up until it stopped working. You can have it for parts if you like, it's boxed up like new.
     
  11. ASSEMbler

    ASSEMbler Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    19,394
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    Wouldn't the bios be different, you'd need pal bios right?
     
  12. mdmx

    mdmx Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    29
    My PAL Super Nintendo has a lockout and 50/60hz switch, so I can boot everything :)

    btw, the UFO has a NTSC boot cic installed. The DSP is from a PAL cart, but I think that shouldn't matter.
     
  13. ASSEMbler

    ASSEMbler Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    19,394
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    The cart connector itself might be missing some of the traces. I know some of my units like my bung units need a different edge connector as the stock doesn't have all the lines on it.
     
  14. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,894
    Likes Received:
    252
    Out of curiosity, Dont Pilotwings map the DSP chip at a different address than the other DSP games ?

    I know that because I tried to use an Pilotwings cart as DSP on a copier and the only DSP game I could play with it plugged was itself. I then bought an Mario Kart cartridge and been using it as DSP chip instead... My copier has no internal slot for DSP, though. Means I aways have to plug the cart in.
     
  15. Calpis

    Calpis Champion of the Forum

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5,906
    Likes Received:
    21
    Exactly, there is a map for LoROM (Pilotwings + 1 other I think) and one for HiROM. Smarter copiers decode both spaces (and may do address translation for external carts) but it's not that difficult to just patch Pilotwings.
     
  16. mdmx

    mdmx Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    29
    thank you, that explains my problem:nod:

    btw, is the DSP chip from Pilotwings exactly the same as in a HiROM cart? I wonder if I can get any problems when I'm using a DSP chip from a LoROM cart for HiROM games.
     
  17. Calpis

    Calpis Champion of the Forum

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5,906
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yes, all DSP1 contain the same code (well multiple revisions of DSP code exist but are all compatible), the chip itself is just accessed in a different area of memory.
     
  18. DrReviews

    DrReviews Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see that this is an old thread, however when you guys modded this Super UFO Pro 8, was it the original import one?

    Can it be done to the newer stateside released unit here http://www.dascheap.com/snes-adapter-super-ufo-pro-8.html?
     
  19. Trenton_net

    Trenton_net AKA SUPERCOM32

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    59
    They are talking about the original Chinese Super UFO Pro 8 drive, not the flash-card versions.
     
  20. wyndcrosser

    wyndcrosser Rising Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did this as well and it worked. I like my SF7 slightly better as I use a usb floppy emulator for all my games. Never fails and no dirty disks :)
     

Share This Page