Sonic Xtreme video.

Discussion in 'Sonic Xtreme Release Project' started by ASSEMbler, Jun 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wingedwolf

    wingedwolf Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm... its the 718 prototype, right??? :)
    it seems to heve some bugs in there... like, when the game starts, sonic moves up and down (you are on grass, and it looks more like a graphical glich, not a bug).
    and sometimes when sonic stands and starts running, he has the running sprite but still... he is stuck in one place... <_<
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2007
  2. negora

    negora Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    It runs "softer" than what I imagined. Nice :) .
     
  3. Smithy

    Smithy Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea, the framerate is very smooth, and I totally dig the background music =)
     
  4. JamesMichael

    JamesMichael Light Hearted Drunk

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    23
    Very impressive for a tech demo I'm really impressed. Also the background music is sweet :thumbsup: Nice work ASSEMBler
     
  5. Jaysmith2000

    Jaysmith2000 Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    7
    Excellent!
     
  6. Tomcat

    Tomcat Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    1
    Haha didnt realise it had sound.
     
  7. Shadowlayer

    Shadowlayer KEEPIN' I.T. REAL!!

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    6,577
    Likes Received:
    16
    Whoa nice! it looks pretty fast, I thought it was going to be like 10FPS and nothing else, but with some levels this could've been a good sonic game on the ol'Saturn, at least much better than what we got...

    And I really like how the level design keeps the classic sonic formula of going foward/backwards instead of the big world/exploration of the SA games.

    Anyway, that BGM and gameover songs from the JPN SonicCD are actually on the game? or Kev just used those on the video?

    Nope, I see that too, which means we have the same drug dealer:lol:

    The floor kinda moves/breaths in the first part of the level, but not in the rest, weird isnt it?

    BTW those Sonic3 sprites look surprisingly good.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2007
  8. karsten

    karsten Member of The Cult Of Kefka

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,025
    Likes Received:
    171
    that is intentional. the ground is supposed to be jelly-like.
     
  9. Druidic teacher

    Druidic teacher Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,643
    Likes Received:
    129
    If anything, make sure it is NOT watermarked.
     
  10. Mark30001

    Mark30001 Guest

    What does it matter? Hopefully if it gets released, anyone else could make their own video. ;)
     
  11. XxHennersXx

    XxHennersXx I post here on the toilet sometimes.

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,116
    Likes Received:
    24
    do you guys think it would be possible to make more levels for this? o_O
     
  12. Nitrosoxide

    Nitrosoxide Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm sure you could change stuff around through "hacking" the thing to bits.
    I.e similar to gameshark.

    But, new levels would take some definite work that I doubt woul;d happen. Especially since the tools to make the thing in the first place aren't availble.

    I still wish someone would get on trying to port the SMWW levels to Super mario World.
     
  13. ASSEMbler

    ASSEMbler Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    19,394
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    You could make the playing field larger for sure
     
  14. Shadowlayer

    Shadowlayer KEEPIN' I.T. REAL!!

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    6,577
    Likes Received:
    16
    I doubt since we dont even know if theres a level editor for this game (or at least one thats user friendly enough to be used by enthusiasts like us and not professional programmers)

    Now I was thinking, what if we get more money and ask Ofer to "slip under the table" the fish-eye build and the level editor to us?

    I would definitely make levels for that game:nod:
     
  15. APE

    APE Site Supporter 2015

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,417
    Likes Received:
    141
    I'd be curious as to wether the pc version even runs on modern hardware or XP for that matter.
     
  16. ServiceGames

    ServiceGames Heretic Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    5
    APE I was thinking the same thing. You'd probably have to build a custom crap system inorder to even play it.
     
  17. Shadowlayer

    Shadowlayer KEEPIN' I.T. REAL!!

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    6,577
    Likes Received:
    16
    Yeah I was thinking the same thing, but hey, I can make a partition in my system with enough space for a Win95 installation and the game, and it would only take less than half the space an average game needs today.

    On the other hand theres the hardware: if its all done on the CPU we're cool, but if like Panzer Dragoon uses the NV1 (ergo, quads instead of polys) we're screwed, cuz I dont know if we can make it work with current GPUs.

    Unless we find a way to emulate the NV1, but then we're going into emulation territory...
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2007
  18. APE

    APE Site Supporter 2015

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,417
    Likes Received:
    141
    I've got a Compaq p3 running a voodoo4 to my right and to my left an old Dell pentium 233. I've basically got one pc from every hardware generation laying around specifically so that I can do anything I need to whenever I need to do it. Anyone ever gets a 5.25" disk and absolutely needs that to be imaged I'm your man.

    Just need to get some more obscure Iomega drives and such for my hoarding to be complete.
     
  19. kholdfuzion

    kholdfuzion I kill consoles

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    3
    Haha, finally someone else who has a ton of old pc hardware set up for oddball tasks. I have rigs set up with just above recommended specs for every windows version since 95, plus several generations of macs laying about. Also which IOmega drives you looking for, might have them.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2007
  20. APE

    APE Site Supporter 2015

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,417
    Likes Received:
    141
    I was hoping to find a Jaz drive and I heard they made a MO drive as well that was hard to find within the US. I haven't found a zip750 yet but they show up on ebay from time to time. I'm particular about the USB types, they're not as easy to get along with as the IDE counterparts but they're far more portable.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page