Softmodded Xbox 1.6 - no video but audio and xbmc works

Discussion in 'Xbox (Original console)' started by elypter, Apr 15, 2014.

  1. elypter

    elypter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi
    my softmodded xbox 1.6 w/ upgraded hdd worked fine until yesterday.
    there is no video output whatsoever anymore but audio works and i can navigate through xbmc perfectly.

    once i got an errorcode after booting(don't remember what it was) but that only happened once.
    i switched display and a/v cable, so these should be ok. i cleaned the mb and checked the visible solder joints and elkos on the mb.

    does anyone have an idea what the cause of that problem is and if there is a way to fix it?
    it's been kind of a neat system. would be glad if it wasn't doomed to gather dust.
     
  2. HEX1GON

    HEX1GON FREEZE! Scumbag

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9,916
    Likes Received:
    838
    So you can see the error screen? Well since you're using AV cables I guess it's possible your TV doesn't display 60Hz.. With the information you've given it's a stab in the dark.
     
  3. elypter

    elypter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    im using an projector and its been working until yesterday. also it doesnt work with a tv that works with another xbox. its a pal console. video incompatibility could only be the case if the console randomly switched video mode.
    there cant be an error screen. the xbox stops booting in that case but mine boots. i posted it because i suspected this to be foreshadowing.
    my guesses are that its either a bga problem with the excalibur chip or a bios bug but i have no idea how to test, let alone to fix it.
     
  4. gs37

    gs37 Robust Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    3
    On debug and development kits you can change video regions with a combination of buttons. I think it's LT+RT+Black+White but I could be mistaken. I know you're using a modded retail version, but your dash might have that implemented as well??
     
  5. kingkat

    kingkat Robust Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    8
    On a few modded bios' this feature is implemented, but he has a softmod, it would be almost impossible to do this without a TSOP'd or chipped console.
     
  6. HEX1GON

    HEX1GON FREEZE! Scumbag

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9,916
    Likes Received:
    838
    It wouldn't be a BIOS bug as it's softmodded.
     
  7. elypter

    elypter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    LT+RT+Black+White didnt change anything but i can reboot the xbox with LT+RT+Start+Back or LT+RT+Back+Black and i used this a lot in the recent past. Maybe i triggered another key combination or this reboot can invoke a bug?
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2014
  8. HEX1GON

    HEX1GON FREEZE! Scumbag

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9,916
    Likes Received:
    838
    LT+RT+Start+Back or LT+RT+Back+Black

    Those are IGR.

    It's still unclear when you lose video? Is it the whole time from boot up to dash?
     
  9. elypter

    elypter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry, there is no video output at all. i now tested it with a 3rd device. buttons, leds, hdd, audio and controller work fine.
     
  10. Banjo

    Banjo <B>Site Supporter 2014</B>

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    10
    If you have something plugged in to the TV which is S-Video, try removing that. Apparently it worked in this thread
     
  11. HEX1GON

    HEX1GON FREEZE! Scumbag

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9,916
    Likes Received:
    838
    Check the AVOUT and check for bent pins in the connection. Other than that it's hard to tell without seeing photos of the board.
     
  12. elypter

    elypter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    there are no other devices or cables connected to the projector and i also checked the connector and the solder joints. ill try to get or improvise an oscilloscope for signal probing
     

Share This Page