SNES Supercic alt solder points?

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by retronerd, Sep 12, 2015.

  1. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
    I was going to mod my US snes with the Supercic. i accidently fried leg 10,2, and 8 on the cic.

    Anyone know if there are alternative solder points?

    sorry for my bad english.
     
  2. Blaasvis

    Blaasvis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    I recon you lifted the pads on the cic ? If so take a multimeter and put it on the start of the trace and start checking continuity to test holes or pin connector. You can solder to these solder holes and the pin connector.
    Another option is scraping a little of the trace and solder to it. Make sure to use a temperature controlled soldering iron.
     
  3. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks for the tip, but the solder points are completely off?
    see Image.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2015
  4. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,604
    Likes Received:
    1,375
    A bunch of them are on the cart slot. You can solder to the pins underneath.

    Then reset button has one of them too.

    I think there is like 1 or 2 pins total on the CIC I couldn't find elsewhere easily.
     
  5. Blaasvis

    Blaasvis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah it seems the pads are off ;) But you can still measure the sides of the pads. The pads are connected to a copper trace. The copper should be still exposed. What i have done in the past is put my multimeter on the side of the broken path and followed the traces then.

    I am not familiar with your board. But it recon the yellow dot is pin 2. pin 8 is the blue dot and red pin 10.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
    thanks for the tip, its an american usa snes pcb GPM-02.
    Il try to solder to the points you describe:)
     
  7. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
    the points you adviced me must be wrong, when i boot a game i see the intro text after that the screen blinks and black screen???
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2015
  8. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,604
    Likes Received:
    1,375
    No, if the points were wrong it wouldn't boot at all.

    I find it odd you are saying it must be the points he's given you, rather than the shoddy soldering work you have done.

    But it sounds like you might be switching to 50hz after 9 seconds and your TV doesn't support the mode.
     
    Blaasvis likes this.
  9. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
    My tv supports 60hz i was using it before right, i run it thru rgb cabel its an sony trinitron crt:)
     
  10. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,604
    Likes Received:
    1,375
    Need a picture of what you are seeing really
     
  11. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
  12. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,604
    Likes Received:
    1,375
    I mean a picture of what you are seeing on the screen.

    If you have no change of led, maybe reset wiring is wrong (or pulled off the board)
     
  13. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
  14. Blaasvis

    Blaasvis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well check every point. make sure it won't connect to other lines. If it is the reset switch try disconnecting pin 13.
    if it boot try soldering it to to the reset switch itself. pin 8 is really in danger of touching pin9 Which is ground which would reset the console if i remember right.
     
  15. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,604
    Likes Received:
    1,375
    Well superCIC is working - else you wouldnt be getting title screen.

    It seems to happen after about 9 seconds - all pointing to resolution issue to me. Are you CERTAIN its RGB? as you could be putting out NTSC/50 which is why the picture vanishes.

    Can you post a picture of the RGB cable (and if its scart, open it up and picture of the inside).

    Your switching issue is definitely around the reset button/pin too. But it doesnt look like you are far off a working mod.
     
  16. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Update,
    it boots without pin 10 and 11 but the same thing happens?????
     
  17. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
    ---
    Ive tried with composit, works the same. Its an gamecube rgb with condensators. its for the us snes.
    it must be some bridge somewhere???? where on the reset button shall i solder pin 13? on the ounderside its 4 points?
     
  18. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
  19. gorgyrip

    gorgyrip Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    16
    Also when you completely remove the CIC, you need to add a 10k resistor from pad 8 to gnd.
     
  20. Blaasvis

    Blaasvis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    It wouldn't boot if he hadn't done that. Look at pin 7 of the s-clk. What i did just saw the ppu-1 has rusted pins ?
     

Share This Page