SNES CLASSIC MINI TEARDOWN - With DataSheets

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by LeHaM, Oct 1, 2017.

  1. LeHaM

    LeHaM Site Soldier

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,636
    Likes Received:
    295


    Flash Data Sheet: http://www.macronix.com/Lists/Datasheet/Attachments/5992/MX30LF2G18AC, 3V, 2Gb, v1.4.pdf

    RAM: https://www.skhynix.com/products.do?lang=chat&ct1=36&ct2=38&rc=com (Looks to be 4GB Low power DDR3 in a FBGA package, CPU datasheet supports this [pg. 25])

    CPU: https://linux-sunxi.org/images/b/b3/R16_Datasheet_V1.4_(1).pdf (the CPU supports clock speeds up to 667MHz and up to 3 SD/MMC controllers AND supports booting from them! 282FBGA 0.80mm pitch) The Clock is determined by an 24MHz Oscillator

    PMC(Power management IC): http://dl.linux-sunxi.org/AXP/AXP223-en.pdf (Designed for battery based portable devices, using multicore processors)

    HDMI Transmitter: http://www.epmi.com.tw/sayapro03.php?id=78
    (Takes a RGB or YUV[probaby YCbCr] input and a IIS or SPDIF audio signal and spits out HDCP Rev 1.4 HDMI signal [CPU ONLY Supports a RGB LVDS Signal, so 99% sure its using RGB for an input]) I don't think the HDCP keys are used


    Thanks For Watching!
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2017
    -=FamilyGuy=- and Durandal like this.
  2. Durandal

    Durandal Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    131
    God dammit, I pre-ordered mine and it won't even get here until Wednesday. Australia Post is the WORST.
     
    LeHaM likes this.
  3. PixelButts

    PixelButts Site Soldier

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,734
    Likes Received:
    2,025
    I have heard horrifying tales of expensive items having import fees, forget the shipping costs.
     
    Durandal likes this.
  4. Durandal

    Durandal Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    131
    I've never had a problem with import fees, probably because I'm a cheap bastard, but things routinely arrive in pieces.
     
  5. AndehX

    AndehX You got boost power!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    68
    If it's using RGB then that opens up the possibility of installing an RGB encoder of some sort so we can use these on CRT's right?
     
  6. Ergot_Cholera

    Ergot_Cholera Flaccid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    71
    Please treat the items better, you are throwing them around with disregard.
     
    LeHaM likes this.
  7. djelaba

    djelaba Benzin !, Site Supporter 2013

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    11
    I wonder what are these empty pads for...
     
  8. MottZilla

    MottZilla Champion of the Forum

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,073
    Likes Received:
    112
    If it outputs RGB it might be 31khz (VGA) as I see no reason why it would output 15khz RGB. But I'm just guessing.
     
  9. LeHaM

    LeHaM Site Soldier

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,636
    Likes Received:
    295
    iirc you can get VGA to 15khz converters from china cheap
     
  10. rso

    rso °

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,210
    Likes Received:
    472
    Won't hurt to have a closer look, but still, I can't help but be that guy: Since the signal was meant to go into an HDMI encoder and never to any type of screen, it may be whatever, as long as that encoder can deal with it. And besides, 720p RGB? What CRT would take that, regardless of frequency? Not many...
     
  11. AndehX

    AndehX You got boost power!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    68
    Maybe. But as long as its an analog signal, it wont be hard to downscale it to 240p
     
  12. TriMesh

    TriMesh Site Supporter 2013-2017

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    785
    All the HDMI encoder does is encode the signal into HDMI format - it doesn't have any effect on the timing. So the signal that's coming out of the SoC has to have some supported standard video timing or lots of displays simply wouldn't work. It's also a pretty safe assumption that the format is going to be RGB - firstly because it's connected to an interface that's designed primarily to drive an LCD panel and they all use RGB and secondly because RGB is the default and universally supported colorspace for HDMI anyway.

    But yeah, finding a CRT monitor that can natively display 720p is going to be a bit of a challenge - all the consumer CRT HDTVs I can remember seeing converted 720p to 1080i for display. Something like the old Sony GDM-FW900 should be able to display it, if you can find one and have a table strong enough to support it.
     
    LeHaM and Taijigamer2 like this.

Share This Page