Sidecar Teardown - By Doom

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Development' started by Doom, Feb 27, 2010.

  1. Doom

    Doom Robust Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    19
    Additional Sidecar details, should help for people who lose track of what goes where, or need help installing. Snapped all the pictures the other day while swapping hard drives and installing.

    This is a ASSEMbler Games exclusive only.

    Sidecar Teardown
    [​IMG]

    Wire locations on MotherBoard
    [​IMG]

    Wire Locations on Sidecar Boards
    [​IMG]

    Wire Locations on Sidecar Boards
    [​IMG]

    About how it should look before putting it all together again.
    [​IMG]

    Final Result(Hopefully)
    [​IMG]

    -Doom
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2010
    Pikkon likes this.
  2. MichaelP

    MichaelP Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, doom! Great job on that guide! You explained things very well and the good quality pics are appreciated!
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2010
  3. ExcruciationX

    ExcruciationX Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Awesome pics, would have helped when I opened mine.
     
  4. Pikkon

    Pikkon "Moving in Stereo"

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    83
    Awesome guide Doom,nicely done.:thumbsup:
     
  5. Tyler

    Tyler Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    1
    i recognize that sidecar. lol
     
  6. Doom

    Doom Robust Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    19
    Haha, indeed.

    -Doom
     
  7. Offica1 g33k

    Offica1 g33k Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    Great info! Helped me a lot

    tore up sidecar i got on a kit lol... looks like they were trying to tear it off!
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2011
  8. ASSEMbler

    ASSEMbler Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    19,394
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    Great stuff, thanks for contributing so much.
     
  9. Om3ga Sn1per

    Om3ga Sn1per Newly Registered

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a ton! Really helpful.
     
  10. gelberhase

    gelberhase Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    2
    just took mine apart for cleaning, it has a Fujitsu 120 gb HDD, the previous owner said he had never switched HDD's, but did M$ ever use Fujtsu hdds in Sidecars?
     
  11. Dark Neo

    Dark Neo Robust Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ja Microsoft nutzt Fujitsu HDD´s auch in Sidecars und Retail HDD´s...
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2011
  12. gelberhase

    gelberhase Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the answer,

    but I just had a closer look at the boards in there and found some things I got questions about:

    1. In both pics you can see LED's (2 on the board with all the connections, 4 under the HDD board) any Ideas what they are for? (by the way, I just got this Sidecar today and didn't fire it up, don't want to open up my Kit now :p)

    2. On the board with all the connectors you can see a button (lower left corner. You can't press that button when the Sidecar is assembled by the way (metal shielding is blocking access to the button). Did anyone ever try what happens if you press it while the Kit is running or knows what it is for?

    I mean what's the point of a button you can't press:shrug:?
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Dark Neo

    Dark Neo Robust Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    6
    Die Leds sind Status-Anzeigen dafür das z.B gerade der PIX-Port genutzt wird. etc ;) Im Betrieb leuchtet da auch ne Menge... deswegen nenn ich z.B XeDK´s mit Sidecars gerne mal Weinachtsaum. ;)

    Zum Knopf...ich hatte schon min. 5 Sidecars geöffnet, aber er ist mir nie aufgefallen... :-0
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2011
  14. gelberhase

    gelberhase Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    2
    so, as dark neo just told me what the LED's are for, did anybody ever notice this button/pressed it?

    Otherwise I will just do it and see what happens, I guess the Sidecar won't explode if I press it?
     
  15. LEo

    LEo Fiery Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    18
    Could be used to switch to bootloader or recovery mode (the chip on the sidecar not the console)
     
  16. gelberhase

    gelberhase Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well, as long as someone can tell me that it won't make this kinda expensive piece of hardware unsuable I would simply install the Sidecar on a Kit the next few days and try what happens...

    @LEo:
    In case you are right with this assumption, why is the switch hidden in a totally unaccessable part of the Sidecar?
    It's one the side of the Sidecar that has no ventialtion holes, so the only possibility to press this button on a assembled SC is with something flat and long from the other side and I#m sure that's not meant to be done.
     
  17. LEo

    LEo Fiery Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    18
    Kholdfuzion told me a while ago this could very well be the case, also if I recall there are actually 2 switches.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2011
  18. gelberhase

    gelberhase Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    2
    what do you mean with "it could be the case", do you mean it could render it unusable?

    I can't find another button in the sidecar by the way
     
  19. dusan75

    dusan75 Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Trinity 512mb dev kit. I heard, it don't need sidecar. Why? Internal dvd emu or....?! trinity has new features?
     
  20. halo3

    halo3 Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    2
    No kits need a sidecar, they do provide the additional features of dvd emulation and PIX. For what most people use their kits for they have no need/use for either.
     

Share This Page