SEGA Saturn SOPHIA - CUSTOM Build of rare MDR50 "VCD" cable

Discussion in 'Sega Saturn Programming and Development' started by Gerry_MAN, Sep 17, 2017.

1. Gerry_MAN

Gerry_MAN Spirited Member

Hi Folks,

A Friend of mine here, owns a Sega Saturn SOPHIA Programming BOX, along with the JVC PC-IF3 Emulator interfacing card. He is missing the very rare type of MDR50 cable assembly, that is used on this system for the "VCD" interface. As shown Below:

[​IMG]

I offered to build this cable for him to help him out.

Now just to inform you all, my background is mainly in Digital-Electronics, and I am currently working in the Filed of "Test-Development" for a manufacturing company. I have been working in the filed of digital-electronics and also Robotics for the past 5 or 6 years. So with that said, putting a cable like this together is just a routine process.

I recently assembled a similar type of connector for a RARE N64 Development cartridge called the
    IS-VIEWER64 and I managed to get the unit up and running.
    You can check out the details on this endeavor at the link below:
    https://assemblergames.com/threads/is-viewer-64-custom-scsi-cable-working.66597/

So Now,
    here is a photo I found of the actual "VCD" interface cable.
    The unique thing about this cable is that it uses Receptacle (FEMALE) connectors as part of the Cable assembly. This is not the norm.....It is more common for Cable assemblies to use MALE (PLUG) connectors.

[​IMG]

A similar cable assembly that uses the "Receptacle" type of MDR connectors is shown below....
    This is just for your visual reference of the connector style:

[​IMG]

As you can see here in the photo below, the Male "PLUG" connectors are actually installed on the SOPHIA Programming BOX and are also used on the JVC PC-IF3 Emulator Card for the "VCD" interface.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Notice the specific difference here with the male PLUG connectors compared to the Standard "3M MDR50".