Sega Saturn Region Free BIOS

Discussion in 'Sega Saturn Programming and Development' started by Serantes, Jun 12, 2011.

  1. Dr.Wily

    Dr.Wily Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    11
    I don't understand, if I put this BIOS on orriginal hardware how is possible to switch the frequency by sofware ? The video frequency on Saturn is hardwired on motherboard. To my knowledge it's impossible to switch between 50/60hz by soft...

    Any clue ?

    Debug or bypass. Dev CD allow to boot non protected discs...
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
  2. fasman

    fasman Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    3
    This is great news, the only problem is that you need the pin-outs of the original saturn bios to properly replace it with this one :)

    PS It would be great if some one can sell pre-prograamed bioses,as I dont want to build a programmer just to do one,for myself.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
  3. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    1,376
    If there is interest in a group buy, I can do them pre programmed.

    As stated in my other thread, I regularly order chips from china so I can add extras with my normal shipment.

    If you want to wait until people have had their dreamcast ones from me (therefore showing feedback) thats fine by me.
     
  4. DarthCloud

    DarthCloud Fiery Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    14
    My guest it's just remove the region check, do not change the video freq.
     
  5. Emperor Udan

    Emperor Udan Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same thought.
     
  6. Dr.Wily

    Dr.Wily Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    11
    Read the quote ! From this URL you can read about Sega Saturn region-free Bios :

    Install this Bios in your Saturn and play any authentic game in any video mode you like, no need for clunky switches or cartridges anymore.

    I have no doubt that region free bios disable region check, just these some words : "in any video mode you like". By video mode, he meant zones (NTSC-J/U, PAL...) not 50/60hz ?
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
  7. DarthCloud

    DarthCloud Fiery Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    14
    Maybe he means that any game region will play in your current freq setting?

    Because honestly if the freq change automatically then that suck, because if I ever play a PAL games on my US machine for whatever reason I prefer to run it in 60Hz!
     
  8. Emperor Udan

    Emperor Udan Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Actually I own a Saturn Pal 2.1 with a cd-r chips installed, 50/60 Hz switch and region switch.

    I just buy a white Japanese Saturn 2.1 in mint condition.

    My project is to mod it with a region free bios, a cd-r chip and a 50/60Hz switch.

    A good French modder tells me that the last Jap Saturn he mod with a region switch don't work and he don't know why, considering a great amount of mod he made.
    He said to me that he don't want to frequency mod Jap Saturn until he know why it does'nt work.
    I must say that he know what he is doing, it's a Saturn Reference in France. (http://saturn.netboarder.com/f37-tutos-saturn)

    Until we know if that bios automatically change frequency for real (and I think it do not make it right now), do somebody know a good and tested way for frequency mod a Jap Saturn?

    And most important!
    Do you think possible to put a Jap Region free bios into my pal 2.1 already frequency modded?
     
  9. Druidic teacher

    Druidic teacher Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,643
    Likes Received:
    129
    x
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2017
  10. Emperor Udan

    Emperor Udan Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    You are right, I misspell. :rolleyes:

    Here is my Pal Saturn:

    [​IMG]

    Here is my Jap one:

    [​IMG]

    I search trough the forum but don't find anything about the serial number and motherboard revision relation.

    Any clue about soldering region free bios into Pal Saturn?
     
  11. Druidic teacher

    Druidic teacher Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,643
    Likes Received:
    129
    x
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2017
  12. Emperor Udan

    Emperor Udan Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    No problem, it will be done Monday or Tuesday..
    And thanks for this perfect answer, we'll see more when those two will be disassemble.
     
  13. Dr.Wily

    Dr.Wily Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    11
    :rolleyes:

    off topic :
    Everyone does not share this opinion, me first. Selling modchip and modding Saturn for few bucks is not far enough for pretending become a "saturn reference".

    I can confirm that swaping BIOS works on a PAL 64pins modded to 60hz Saturn (VA PAL SD mb, serial 165057198). The swaped BIOS taken from an US 32pins Saturn (VA6 JPN SG serial AE66107599).
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2011
  14. APE

    APE Site Supporter 2015

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,417
    Likes Received:
    141
    And he is French!

    <Not that it really matters>
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2011
  15. Emperor Udan

    Emperor Udan Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    I should say, it's a famous Saturn modchiper in France. :rolleyes:

    And I will try swapping bios I guess.
     
  16. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888
    Likes Received:
    249
    FYI, pinout is same on SOP and DIP chips. :thumbsup:

    Also I've been running a Hi-Saturn bios on a VA1 USA Saturn with it programmed into a 27C160 (matches the DIP maskrom pinout) and it works fine.
     
  17. Druidic teacher

    Druidic teacher Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,643
    Likes Received:
    129
    x
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2017
  18. Dr.Wily

    Dr.Wily Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yes, and hard dips define frequency and region. So it's impossible to select frenquency by sofware.
     
  19. TmEE

    TmEE Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    1
    All CD drive access stuff is in the SH-1 (including copy protection) not in the main BIOS
     
  20. Dr.Wily

    Dr.Wily Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yes, in another topic we wondered if drive checking can be bypassed by BIOS or not.
     

Share This Page