Sega Saturn Quake Test Level

Discussion in 'General Gaming' started by pwl, Mar 6, 2018.

  1. pwl

    pwl You don't need a reason to help someone

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    28
    did some rom hacking was messing around with saturn quake,
    I found a test level on the disk and got it to load in an emulator [​IMG]

    Don't know if this has already been found, but I though it was cool!!
    quake sat test j.jpg
     
    fro, speedyink, HyperGHZ and 8 others like this.
  2. ActSean

    ActSean Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    21
    Wow! That is cool! Can you tell us how you found it?
     
  3. pwl

    pwl You don't need a reason to help someone

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    28
    You can see all of the files used by Saturn Quake by putting the CD into your pc,
    looking at the files all levels in the game end with the file extension .LEV
    One file was called TEST.LEV, guessed this was a test map.

    I used a hex editor to edit the Saturn Executable changing E1L1.LEV to say
    TEST.LEV, Now when you load the iso in a emulator and go to the first level
    of the game it loads the test level and not the first level:)
     
    GamerNumber1 and DSwizzy145 like this.
  4. MBMM

    MBMM Powered by Pied Piper

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    401
    I'm not finding much on this elsewhere unless I'm not doing enough digging. Cool find. I'll have to give this a shot and check it out.
     
  5. DeChief

    DeChief Rustled.

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    709
    Looks like maybe a dev's house? Super cool find.
     
  6. Metro Spy

    Metro Spy <B>Site Supporter 2014</B>

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    10
    It was the developers house - I remember reading a magazine article on it back at the time of release.

    If I'm right it would load for you normally if you were to play the game and find every secret area on your play-through.

    I never found anything when I've dug around online, so I'm pleased someone has actually validated this after all these years!
     
    Traace and DeChief like this.
  7. pwl

    pwl You don't need a reason to help someone

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    28
    It's an apartment (a flat if you are from the UK like me) more screens quake sat 2 j.jpg quake sat 3 j.jpg quake sat 4 j.jpg quake sat 5 j.jpg
     
  8. MBMM

    MBMM Powered by Pied Piper

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    401
    Very cool. Now it makes me wonder if there are others like this in Quake II.
     
  9. Anthaemia.

    Anthaemia. The Original VF3 Fangirlâ„¢

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    184
    According to its Sega Retro article, the PAL version of Quake for the Saturn has an exclusive credit sequence that features what appears to be the test level based on the description along with something they call intermission music, but I don't remember either of these details at all during my time with this edition - the staff roll has always taken place over the camera rotating around one of the standard levels, though it's possible such things are unlocked somehow. The only other mention I can find of the test level online is a single screenshot on a page from 2015 about the possibility of porting Saturn Quake's stages into a format that can be read in the PC original, though little else is mentioned. In my own attempts to modify the game data to load this, I've only succeeded in getting various revisions of SSF to either crash with SH2-related errors or simply display an empty black screen.
     
    DeChief likes this.
  10. pwl

    pwl You don't need a reason to help someone

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    28
    The version of Quake I modified was the NTSC version, I downloaded the Iso off the net. All my Saturn stuff is packed away it quicker to just download an Iso.
     
  11. Anthaemia.

    Anthaemia. The Original VF3 Fangirlâ„¢

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    184
    For some reason SSF won't open the modified ISO, but I finally got this to work in an older version of Yabause and was surprised to learn it's actually a full level rather than just some incomplete test area - even the outer walls have textures that can only be viewed once you've exited the stage (by attempting to access the bathroom). This is a truly brilliant find!
     
  12. Syclopse

    Syclopse .

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    506
    I still keep Quake installed on several PC's, is this test.lev file available to tinker with?
     
  13. pwl

    pwl You don't need a reason to help someone

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    28
    It's on the Saturn game disc, you won't be able to load it on the PC version of Quake, Saturn Quake has a different engine called SlaveDriver.

    If you want to see it you'll have to hex edit the Saturn Iso and use an emulator.
     
  14. Anthaemia.

    Anthaemia. The Original VF3 Fangirlâ„¢

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    184
    Here's the site I mentioned earlier that shows attempts to port levels from Saturn Quake - including the test stage - back to the original PC version:

    http://www.richwhitehouse.com/index.php?postid=68

    Unfortunately, it looks as if the format's specific rendering quirks have yet to be fully reproduced, as there appear to be some geometry issues.
     
  15. pwl

    pwl You don't need a reason to help someone

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    28
    Thanks for sharing, I had no idea that someone had worked out how the data is layed out in the LEV files.

    Really interesting read, Don't think anyone will be getting the Saturn levels working on the original Quake engine anytime soon, it's a lot of work
     
  16. Syclopse

    Syclopse .

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    506
    Can you load the level on a Sega Saturn? Does this console version support the quake console ~?
     
  17. pwl

    pwl You don't need a reason to help someone

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    28
    No command console on Saturn Quake, only way I know of to load the level is to hex edit the Iso.

    If you burn the Iso to a CDR you might get it to load on real hardware, I've only tried it with an emulator.
     
  18. fro

    fro Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    10
    Nice find!

    You can use the following Action Reply (codes tested in Yabause) codes on Quake (U) to trigger when you start a new game.

    1602CD00 2B54
    1602CD02 4553
    1602CD04 542E
    1602CD06 4C45
    1602CD08 5600
     
    oldengineer, MBMM, ActSean and 4 others like this.
  19. ActSean

    ActSean Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thanks!! Works on real hardware! 1520484111494220518485.jpg
     
  20. DeChief

    DeChief Rustled.

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    709
    Super dope, brb buying a copy of Quake and Saturn. No clue why I sold mine...
     

Share This Page