Sega CDX problems

Discussion in 'Repair, Restoration, Conservation and Preservation' started by Tokimemofan, Dec 17, 2018.

1. Tokimemofan

Tokimemofan Dauntless Member

System does not boot cartridges and shows black screen when one is in.
    CD bios loads silent with no animation but with picture lcd orange but blank.

2. Taijigamer2

Taijigamer2 Gutsy Member

Was the system working before? Has it been recapped?

3. Tokimemofan

Bought it broken. Has not been recapped but I did check a few with my capacitance meter they seem fine. Someone worked on it before. The prior work was done properly by the looks of it but probably didn’t fix it, I have no knowledge of why it was worked on but most likely the same reason I am working on it.

Attached Files:

4. Taijigamer2

Taijigamer2 Gutsy Member

Thats the problem with 'bought as faulty' retro hardware, there could be any issue made even worse by a previous owner.

There seems to be solder iron damage to the VDP (315-5660) and possible bridging near the cart slot. Not sure why the previous owner was trying to solder there. If the VDP is dead, spares can be harvested from Model 2 Genesis if you are feeling brave.

It might also be worth looking at replacing the caps anyway. This thread might give some ideas, though that CDX is far worse then yours. https://assemblergames.com/threads/sega-cdx-issue-need-advice-or-parts.56914/page-2

5. rama

rama Gutsy Member

Near C46, that looks like a water damaged area. Are there traces on the underside eaten away?
    On the 5660, pins 157/156 are bridged, as well as pins 152/151 (check with multimeter and verify the 5660 pinout).

The empty pads on the PCB edge near IC8 / C27 also look suspicious. Are they supposed to be empty?

6. Tokimemofan

The pads near ic 8 look fine but I’ll compare to another unit tomorrow