Sega CD-2 no power craziness !!!

Discussion in 'Repair, Restoration, Conservation and Preservation' started by somacast, Jun 25, 2018.

1. somacast

somacast Spirited Member

Hi,

I really don't get it, and I need some help...

I bought a Sega CD model-2 from ebay which was not working, no power, and no display, however it was not the fuse before I get angry replies, the power LED doesn't come on, and I can see continuous laser beam inside which disappears if I close the led switch the laser stops, the screen is black, however when I flip my modded Mega drive switch to other regions I get the wrong region screen...

I tried the following (I do work with electronics and I have 20+ years of experience with soldering etc so cold solder etc is not a factor over here).

1- I checked all caps, all were fine, I took some which I suspected out and tested with ESR meter replaced which ever suspected (1 or 2).

2- fuse is working of course as I said.

3- transistor Q301 is fine, also tried another similar one I have no effect.

2- Q302 is also fine, took it out checked it, even replaced it with a working one from a parts mega cd I have, no effect, so I restored the original.

3- Q401 took out, same thing, not effecting.

4- voltage regulator replaced.

5- dioides d301 , 401 , 601 tested, all working fine.

6- applied flux to the cpu contacts and gave it heat gun to reflow, no effect.

7- I went crazy so I thought maybe the bios chip is gone, so I took it out, replaced it with a biod from a PAL mega cd 2 , it changed the region to PAL, now it gives black screen which I put mega drive region switch on PAL, and gives wrong region screen on the NTSC UC & JAP positions, so it was not the bios chip either !

the board looks so clean, not missed up, so what do I do from here? is there a major IC dead (which I cant really check its beyond my capabilities and available tools)?