Ripping GDR's

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by Dot50Cal, Jul 19, 2006.

  1. Dreamcast

    Dreamcast Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    112
    It's much easier. Instead of needing to run dc-load-ip on the DC and the backup utility on the PC, you just run the httpd-ack disc on the Dreamcast and use your preferred web browser to access it by typing the Dreamcast's IP into the URL bar. The Dreamcast will return a webpage with links you can follow to download the individual audio / data tracks.
     
  2. unclejun

    unclejun Site Supporter 2011-2014

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    136
    No need for the trap discs?
     
  3. raylyd

    raylyd Guest

    i own this
    [​IMG]

    can back up any gd-rom and tell me the version
    i dont know how the file system works dup files
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 4, 2011
  4. unclejun

    unclejun Site Supporter 2011-2014

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    136
    I'll try with httpd-ack, and if it doesn't work Ill send you a PM about your gd-x gd-rom ripper...
    Have you already used it to dump GD-Rs?
     
  5. raylyd

    raylyd Guest

    yeh its a pain as i have to open up the unit to copy the files to my computer but at least we can rip the gd-rs with this thing and is always 100% read disc never had a problem it i hear some other people who had one of these had disc read errors mine no chance it reads all the time take care buddy
     
  6. -=FamilyGuy=-

    -=FamilyGuy=- Site Supporter 2049

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    This seems weird, is the track it fails on largen than (or close to) 360000 sectors? I recall RETAIL GD-ROM reading with pc using an analogous technique of swap to be unable to read more than 360000 sectors in a row, as this is the supposed maximum size of a CD-Rom.
    Give me as much details as possible about your disc, and your trap disc structure, and try different options in DC backup utility, like dump track per track or all at once.

    Another possibility is to dump uit via a pc-drive, I've made a tutop in french for that, you could translate it to try if you want, but I requires a rare drive: http://dreamagain.free.fr/index.php...ft-ripper-un-gd-rom-avec-le-lecteur-de-son-pc

    I could have try it for you but I'm currently way too much busy.

    Hope you'lll get it fixed!

    @raylyd a Duplicator, if i recall correctly does only dump data in 2048 bytes/sector, rather than the 2352bytes/sector collectors prefer.

    FG
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2010
  7. APE

    APE Site Supporter 2015

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,417
    Likes Received:
    141
    I never got any usable data when trying to dump a GD-R I have via httpd-ack. It would pull up the track listing and download properly but whenever you tried to turn what you got into something useful...well you'd find out it looked "corrupted" to every tool I could throw the data at. I tried using a trap disk as one person suggested with the same result.

    Someone posted a mod involving using switches installed to stop the gd-rom from spinning and another switch to keep the lid tray switch detected as being held down to boot GD-Rs. I was going to apply this to ripping GD-Rs but never got around to polishing up my switches and had to sell my BBA due to financial reasons.

    The GD-X duplicator raylyd has might do the trick. AFAIK it dumps the data to a harddrive and then asks for a blank GD-R to burn that data onto. Basically for reproduction of GD-Rs for testing but it should function as a dumper if you pull the harddrive.

    Also I'm rather curious if anyone knows the answer to this one. I've seen talk of replacing the GD-ROM as a whole and I have seen that device for the Wii that pops onto the DVD-ROM ribbon resulting in a harddrive being attached to the ribbon. Might it be possible to build a GD-ROM controller for a standard everyday PC? Yank a GD-ROM from a retail Dreamcast and build a proper GD-ROM drive for IDE or Sata?

    I don't recall the specifics as to why you can't just rip a GD-R the same way you can a GD-ROM but I'm going to go hit up google and find those docs.

    EDIT:
    http://f17.aaa.livedoor.jp/~takotako/dcserial_ft232bm.php#dcsdrip

    Now THIS looks fascinating. Gotta finish my Dreamcast overclocking mod and get started on this sucker.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 4, 2011
  8. -=FamilyGuy=-

    -=FamilyGuy=- Site Supporter 2049

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    Old versions of DCSDRIP can rip user-defined sectors, might works well for GD-R, untested though. This little cable is Extraordinary, it's almost magic for dumping games.

    The reason it's harder to dump GD-R is that it got no valid authentification "ring", otherwise it's a regular GD-ROM. So it gets recognize as only the low density track as a GD-ROM.

    Cheers,

    FG
     
  9. raylyd

    raylyd Guest

    i used to have a LTD-165 drive years ago but bined it as it stoped reading dvds wow did not think i will keep a eye for some of these in a flee market
     
  10. ackmed

    ackmed <B>Site Supporter 2012</B><BR><B>Site Supporter 20

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yup. This is why httpd-ack requires a trap disc in order to dump gd-r's.

    -ack
     
  11. -=FamilyGuy=-

    -=FamilyGuy=- Site Supporter 2049

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    Hey ackmed, are you the author of http-ack? If so, please contact me I have one or two ideas that could help dumping betas with modifications to your tools if you want to try.

    I though about this: Put SonicAdventure (or any 3-track GD-ROM) in the drive, stop the drive, ask user to swap disc without opening the lid, put retail in, read sector LBA45000, extract TOC from it, then rip in 2352 data/sectors both data and audio tracks from the sectors according to the info from the TOC embeded in the ip.bin.

    FG
     
  12. ackmed

    ackmed <B>Site Supporter 2012</B><BR><B>Site Supporter 20

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    yes thats me. Feel free to email me at ackmed@gotwalls.com.

    httpd-ack already supports reading and showing the user the TOC from the ip.bin via browsing to http://ip/?ipbintoc

    A separate audio trap disc would be required too. You would get read errors if you tried to read an audio sector when the gd drive thought it was data.

    Its been a long time since I dumped a gd-r, but the general procedure should be.

    1. boot httpd-ack
    2. insert data-only gd-rom (sonic adv like you suggested)
    3. browse to http://ip/cdrom_spin_down
    4. swap in gd-r without triggering lid open/close
    5. browse to http://ip?ipbintoc
    6. dump/download all data tracks from high density area
    7. insert a audio-only trap disc, do trigger a lid open/close
    8. dump/download all audio tracks from high density area

    -ack
     
  13. splith

    splith Resolute Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    4
    RE: Hooking GD-ROM drives up to PCs;
    NAOMI & NAOMI2 GD-ROM System has a dreamcast drive, encapsulated into a container with PCBs and whatnot, a power in socket and a SCSI-2 output which goes to the NAOMI...
    I've not tried it, but I did think it'd be possible to hook it up to a SCSI-2 card and use it in an ordinary PC.
     
  14. unclejun

    unclejun Site Supporter 2011-2014

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    136
    This is the problem I have with DC-BACKUP, It doesn't dump the last track further than that:
    [​IMG]

    So I tried with htppd-ack, I followed the procedure posted by ackmed, got this from the ipbintoc page:
    [​IMG]

    I dumped all the data tracks, track01 and 03 have the correct size, but the dump of the track05 is only 329129472 bytes.

    I extracted the data using Familyguy's Gdi2Data, it worked except that around 150 files were missing, or rather have a size of 0 bytes, including 1ST_READ.BIN wich leaves the dump pretty much useless...

    Then I tried to dump a retail game, everything was fine, including the data extraction.

    Any ideas at what went wrong?
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
  15. ackmed

    ackmed <B>Site Supporter 2012</B><BR><B>Site Supporter 20

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    It sounds like your disc is scratched. What does httpd-ack show on your TV when it stops transferring track05?

    By default httpd-ack will abort the transfer if there is a read error. You can bypass this if you change 'abort1' to 'abort0' in the download link for track05. Sectors that cant be read will be filled with Q's.

    I would also suggest changing sector_read16 to sector_read1 in the download link for track05.

    -ack
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2010
  16. raylyd

    raylyd Guest

    If you have errors i wonder if it would rip on my gdx gd rom ripper hkt-0500.
    I have ripped scratched gd-rs and it works ok.
    Pm me if you or anyone on this fourm want there games dumped i can put the files on. A dvd for you and send you discs back i would delete all files after that.
    and there safe i can keep secrets.
    I am not the kind of person to brag about crap.
    take care everyone
    :thumbsup:
    i dont release anyones games unless i am asked to unless i buy them on ebay.




     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 21, 2010
  17. drx

    drx BLAST PROCESSING. SITE SUPPORTER 2015

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    280
    I'm dumping some GD-R's using httpd-ack and most I've dumped so far followed the same pattern, they had:

    track01.bin
    track02.raw
    track03.bin
    track04.raw
    track05.bin

    Now the strange thing is, track04 is always completely unreadable (gives read errors for all sectors on it) and track01 for sectors ~600+ (this changes).

    Is this normal/OK? It might, I haven't dumped GD-R's myself before. I really hope I don't have yet another broken Dreamcast. I probably need to test these on nullDC or something.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2010
  18. Dreamcast

    Dreamcast Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    112
    As long as you can extract the data BINs OK and it's usable (if it has a web browser folder, check to see if it contains images that show up), not having the RAW files should be OK (they are just the warning audio). If you have more than two RAWs, the game is CDDA and you'll want to make sure they download properly to preserve the game's soundtrack.
     
  19. ackmed

    ackmed <B>Site Supporter 2012</B><BR><B>Site Supporter 20

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    It sounds like you are using a trap disc that has data sectors where track04 is located on your gd-r. This would cause the cdrom to try and read the sectors as mode-1 data. This will fail because the the sectors contain audio data and not the sync header/data/ecm that cdrom is looking for. Try a trap disc that has audio sectors where your track04 is located.

    For track01 make sure you arent using a trap disc at all.

    -ack
     
  20. raylyd

    raylyd Guest

    I can and will make a video how to do this soon as i can.
     

Share This Page