RGH 360 with DVD drive problem?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Development' started by gs37, Mar 28, 2014.

1. gs37

gs37 Robust Member

[SOLVED] RGH 360 with DVD drive problem?

Backstory: I bought a Trinity slim for cheap. It had the error where games say "Insert into Xbox360" or something like that.
    Despite showing no obvious signs of being tampered with, I suspect the drive was swapped at some point and the DVD key doesn't match up.

I have some RGH experience, so I went ahead and RGH'd this one. FSD and everything is working great, but that disk read problem still remains- even with nofcrt ticked.
    I only have the CPU/DVD key provided by Xell. I don't have any information about the previous drive, if there was one.

Therefore, I was wondering how I could go about either:

Changing the drive's DVD key to what the KV expects it to be
    -OR-
    Changing the KV/NAND to accept the current drive's key

I would really appreciate any insight from someone more experienced than I am. :)

P.S. I know I don't *need* a DVD drive with RGH and that I can FTP the games over. It's just that I have a stack of games I want to backup. It'd be way faster to just rip them all than to download them all. I only have 10Mbps downstream. :/

Last edited: Mar 29, 2014
  2. HEX1GON

HEX1GON FREEZE! Scumbag

Change the DVD-ROM drive's key from the keyvault, would the most easiest or should I say "what I'd do" :p

Last edited: Mar 28, 2014
    gs37 likes this.
  3. gs37

gs37 Robust Member

Thanks for the reply, Hexi. You're saying to flash the drive to have the expected DVD key? What would be the best way to go about that. I don't have any drive flashing experience.

4. turfster

turfster i grow grass

Hexigon is talking about patching the nand/kv with a tool like jrunner with correct dvdkey I believe. That should work with a rgh but not a stock console.

Are you sure its not the drive that came with it? Did you try cleaning the laser or replacing the laser first?