Region modding on a Saturn without a chip?

Discussion in 'Sega Saturn Programming and Development' started by Arkanoid, Dec 31, 2009.

  1. Arkanoid

    Arkanoid Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    I remember hearing about this somewhere. It had to do with DIP switches IIRC. Can anybody tell me how this is done if it even exists?
     
  2. raylyd

    raylyd Guest

  3. Arkanoid

    Arkanoid Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought it was without having to solder anything. Well thanks anyway.
     
  4. raylyd

    raylyd Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 2, 2010
  5. Segata Sanshiro

    Segata Sanshiro speedlolita

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    11
    Does the action replay allow 50/60hz switching.
     
  6. raylyd

    raylyd Guest

    i do not know i dont own one yet my saturn is all ready region modded about a year ago it was easy a one two theree
     
  7. dj898

    dj898 Site Supporter 2015

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,325
    Likes Received:
    56
    ahem~

    region mod - you just put the siwtch with wires at few jump pts
    50/60Hz mod - again switch with few wires
    action replay cart - bypass region checking but not 100%
    mod chip - strictly just for bypassing the security ring on the disc

    as you can see yes region mod does not require the chip but you still need to solder wires and etc. ^ ^

    [Note: guess this is my 1st posting after years of hiatus... hey!]
     
  8. adolobe

    adolobe Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. adolobe

    adolobe Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. Rogue

    Rogue Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    28
    I've played PAL games on a NTSC console perfectly with the Action Replay.
     
  11. jammanutz

    jammanutz Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a region modded saturn, works by holding down the reset if i remember, and i get diff colour light depending on the region
     

Share This Page