Region free BIOS for MEGA-CD Version 2.00

Discussion in 'Sega Discussion' started by l_oliveira, Oct 25, 2014.

  1. APE

    APE Site Supporter 2015

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,403
    Likes Received:
    134
    If I had known you needed a PAC S-10 I would've sent you mine but spiffy shit my S-10 is socketed already so I'll throw this onto an EPROM and fit it in. Wonder if there's enough space to solder a socket to the top of an EPROM so I can keep the original BIOS in there for posterity and not having to solder to the chip itself.
     
  2. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    213
    I just keep the original rom chips for my things on a box. lol
     
  3. Dr.Wily

    Dr.Wily Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    11
    In your Laseractive bios archive I see three versions :
    - 1.02
    - 1.04
    - 1.05
    But for 1.02 I see 0.98 in the file. For 1.04 and 1.05 version number match but not for 1.02. Why ?
     
  4. Droid III

    Droid III Rising Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    41
    The version in the header may not match the header shown by the boot rom when it runs. The 1.02 one has 0.98 in the header but says 1.02 elsewhere in the code, I'm assuming sometime when it boots up.

    On that note were the unmodified Laseractive boot roms shared here?
     
  5. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    213
    I didn't but I believe you can fetch them here:
    https://segaretro.org/Sega_Mega-CD/Technical_specifications#Boot_ROM

    I labeled them as per what is displayed on the screen. SEGA emulation people are not very consistent on their documenting of hardware IDs and software dumps. I would prefer naming the ROMs after the EPR/MPR codes but that sadly is extremely poorly documented.
     
  6. 8bitplus

    8bitplus Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    41
    Hi. Just a quick question about Mega CD region free bios:
    Does it still need to match the region of the Mega drive?
    If we use a region free PAL bios in a PAL Mega CD, but switch the Mega Drive to NTSC, will the MCD boot up or show the "not for this region" message when powering on?
    Thanks.
     
  7. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,346
    Likes Received:
    1,114
    No, it doesn't need to match.

    I supply the jap bios as standard as its more compatible. I only supply the others if people ask.
     
  8. 8bitplus

    8bitplus Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    41
    Thanks Adam
     
  9. dj898

    dj898 Site Supporter 2015

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,299
    Likes Received:
    40
    does this by chance work on the Wondermega too?
     

Share This Page