Question about SCSI for dreamcast dev unit

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by sioivo, Jul 22, 2005.

1. sioivo

sioivo Member

Hi! I am new to dreamcast dev. Actually I own a dreamcast dev unit set 5.24 & GD Writer, and I just order a Adaptec 2940U SCSI card (still waiting it come). I am not familiar with SCSI devices. Therefore I have some questions about the SCSI things.

1. Do I need 50 pin male to male external SCSI cables for GD writer to dev unit and dev unit to PC SCSI card? If so how long should I buy? I have seen 2.5ft, 3ft, and 6ft available at http://www.stsi.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?page=STSI_4/CTGY/SCSICablesExternal

2. I have notice I also need Active SCSI terminators. But what is this thing actually do? Can I just ignore it? Do I need any Active SCSI terminators on the back of GD Writer?

3. On the back side of GD Writer. There are 2 SCSI connecter (SCSI-1 & SCSI-2) available. Which one should I use?

4. Also on the back side of GD Writer. I saw the TERMINATOR (2 little DIP switch) & ID SELECT (dial switch from 0 to 7). What I need to set on those 2 switch?

5. On the back of dev unit, the 2 dial switch next to SCSI-A & SCSI-B. What I have to set for those 2 dial switch?

Sorry to have so many questions. Thanks for help.

Last edited: Jul 22, 2005
  2. 1=Yes, you need 50 pin cables.

2=You need a terminator to 'end' the SCSI chain (channels A and B, so fit it to B for instance). You won't need a terminator fitted to the GD-Writer, see answer 4.

3= SCSI-1.

4=You should be able to select to terminate, thus you don't need a separate terminator. The I.D select should be a SCSI chain number that your not already using.

5=Any number you like just make sure you don't repeat numbers, each number must be different.

3. sioivo

sioivo Member

Thanks for your help.

4. sioivo

sioivo Member

Hi oldenginner.