PSX DVR Problem

Discussion in 'Sony Programming and Development' started by Unknown-Organization, May 26, 2015.

  1. Unknown-Organization

    Unknown-Organization <B>Site Supporter 2014</B>

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hello

    [​IMG]

    I have PSX DVR (7700 model) It was working properly all these years then I shortcut it accidentally ( don't ask why) Now it won't power on. No red light stand by. When I turn on, it make a quiet click sound and that it. I assume I damage the PSU? Is anyway I can fix this problem or any handy method?

    On next saturday, it is a skip day. If I can't fix I will have to throw it the whole thing in the skip and call it a day, so I hoping I can fix it before I throw it away. I can't be bother selling broken PSX on ebay for cheap price. Not worth the time.

    Any help I would appreciate.

    Thanks
     
    gwald likes this.
  2. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,895
    Likes Received:
    252
    What you shorted ?

    That don't ask why won't get you ANY HELP. lol

    I in 2013 got a DESR-7500 with a serious problem:
    [​IMG]

    And I bet you had some similar issue ... lol

    It did blow some fuses on the motherboard because of that. I had to replace the flat cable and the fuses.
     
  3. Unknown-Organization

    Unknown-Organization <B>Site Supporter 2014</B>

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    9
    What happen is, I open the PSX inside to sort out the lens due to not reading properly and what I did mistakenly I remove the cable wire then I reconnect back while PSX still power on and of course I shortcut it . (It is a ribbon that connect between from motherboard to the whole disc stray... similar like yours

    I'm so fucking stupid, I can't believe i done that. I assume I damage the PSU, so it means I have to change the fuses. I have heard that you can replace PSU from fat PS2 to PSX, I wonder if that is true?

    Is anything that you may can help? and thanks for the picture aswell.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2015
  4. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,895
    Likes Received:
    252
    No, you can't.

    But I find unlikely that your PSX has a power supply problem. Like I mentioned on my post, the fuses are on the mainboard, not on the power supply.
     
    Unknown-Organization likes this.
  5. Unknown-Organization

    Unknown-Organization <B>Site Supporter 2014</B>

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    9
    Interesting, what kind of fuses you replace yours?

    Thanks
     
  6. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,895
    Likes Received:
    252
    After "manufacturing" a suitable replacement for the originally screw punctured flat cable I had to replace two power related fuses on the main board. They look like resistors but are clearly identified as fuses on the board markings.
     
  7. Unknown-Organization

    Unknown-Organization <B>Site Supporter 2014</B>

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    9
    I check it out, I will post If I need to. Thanks oliver
     
  8. Unknown-Organization

    Unknown-Organization <B>Site Supporter 2014</B>

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hello

    I tried to message you but I can't find the way to message you, alot of things has changed on this site since I last log on.

    I decided to go back and fix my PSX DVR again, Now you saying you replace two fuses that's look like a resistors on the mainboard. Do you mean two fuses on the PSU board or just actually mainboard. It just differcult to know where it exact they are, I can take a picture of my PSX DVR motherboard and could show it to you?

    Many thanks!
     
    gwald likes this.
  9. Unknown-Organization

    Unknown-Organization <B>Site Supporter 2014</B>

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    9
    Update

    I assume when you said fuse look like a resistor I believe you meant this
    [​IMG]

    I saw one of that on the PSU board, I can understand why you said it looks like a resistor. I took a close up on my fuse and It doesn't show any sign of burnt or snap in half or anything like that. I better replace that just in case. I don't see a second fuse on the PSU board yet, maybe the mainboard?!? Or maybe I just have one fuse due to that I have a 7700 model. I better start examine it soon. Your help alway be appreciated.
    Many thanks
     
  10. citrus3000psi

    citrus3000psi Housekeeping, you want towel?

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    419
    fuses can be in smd packages like in this example:

    [​IMG]
     
    Unknown-Organization and gwald like this.
  11. Unknown-Organization

    Unknown-Organization <B>Site Supporter 2014</B>

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    9
    Blimey I don't know where to start! Is that what l-oliveria is saying?

    I have upload two picture of main motherboard from top and bottom, Hopefully someone can spot those uses.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 26, 2016
  12. citrus3000psi

    citrus3000psi Housekeeping, you want towel?

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    419
    I think every circled in this picture is a fuse.
     

    Attached Files:

    Unknown-Organization and gwald like this.
  13. Armorant

    Armorant Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    57
    gwald, sa1 and Unknown-Organization like this.
  14. Unknown-Organization

    Unknown-Organization <B>Site Supporter 2014</B>

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    9
    Oh fantastic!!! at last we got somewhere. Thank you guys for your time and help.

    Just a quick question, How can I know which fuse is broken or working. Do I buy a device like a meter reading?

    Thanks
     
    gwald likes this.
  15. gwald

    gwald Net Yaroze '99

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    40
    get a multimeter :p
     
    l_oliveira likes this.
  16. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,895
    Likes Received:
    252
    Citrus, you missed PS3001(no pun with your forum name is intended), which looks like a tiny resistor, protects the standby circuitry and is likely the one he blew.
     
    gwald likes this.
  17. TnVGaming

    TnVGaming Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I know this thread is old, but I recently did the same damn thing to my DESR-7700: I had the lid off, inspecting one of the daughter boards, and when I went to put it back on, I pinched a ribbon cable that connects the IR sensor & "quit" buttons to the main board and it died.

    I'm not an engineer but I do have a multimeter to test continuity. And I've tested a lot of them and they all pass just fine. So perhaps it's just the ribbon cable that's the root cause of the problem?

    There aren't any tears in it but there are creases from being pinched.

    I_Oliveira mentioned a PS30001 fuse and I found the label on the board but I don't know where it actually is.

    Any help would be great guys, and of someone could circle everything I need to test on the two images I have uploaded that would be great.

    This PSX was reading DVDs and CDs just fine, but the eject button on the sysyem wasn't working which is why I took it apart. Now I have an even bigger problem to fix.
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  18. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,895
    Likes Received:
    252
    The fuse for the front panel is around the area of the connector for the flat cable. It is marked on the soldermask as a fuse.
     
  19. TnVGaming

    TnVGaming Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Could you mark on the pictures the area it's in? I don't even know what it looks like, like I said: I only found the label on the board, but there was no indicator of it's exact location.
     
  20. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,895
    Likes Received:
    252
    not with that blurred photo.
     

Share This Page