Psone modchip

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by Kaicer, Apr 6, 2015.

  1. Kaicer

    Kaicer Site Supporter 2014

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    5
    I got a PSone SCPH-101 and I'm looking to install a modchip which is the best for this model?
     
  2. Madsmaten

    Madsmaten Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    150
  3. Kaicer

    Kaicer Site Supporter 2014

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    5
    Does the mm3 allow to play those games with the modchip protection?
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2015
  4. Mord.Fustang

    Mord.Fustang Fiery Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    185
  5. master991

    master991 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    28
    Yes, you can also use, alternatively, which is better, mayumi v5, wich was developed for this series...
     
  6. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,613
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    IIRC, Mayumi v5 is a direct copy of Mayumi v3 - like byte for byte identical and therefore fake.
    Or I have v3 thats actually a copy of V5 - I cant remember which way around it is.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2015
  7. Mord.Fustang

    Mord.Fustang Fiery Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    185
    When I open up Mayumi v5 it has "Mayumi05" in the ROM data.
     
  8. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,613
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Can you upload and share a link to the version you have? I can then compare to what I have.

    Im sure there was a post by Jinn some years back about this too, but my memory isnt so good.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2015
  9. master991

    master991 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    28
    They are completely diferent, i've compared mayumi v5 with v3....
    The only fact, my mayumi v5 version uses scei string, i think it's compatible only with jap consoles...
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2015
  10. Mord.Fustang

    Mord.Fustang Fiery Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    185
    I have 3 different versions, NTSC-U, NTSC-J, and PAL and they each have their own SCEX string and contain "Mayumi05" in it. I will PM both of you. I am interested in taking a look at Mayumi v3 as I couldn't find it online and I'm not sure it was ever a major release. Mayumi v5 is also only for PSOnes (the Slim one).
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2015
  11. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,613
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Found what my brain was trying to remember:

    ---Quote (Originally by Jinn @ TheisoZone)---
    To be honest, yes, they do work. however, you need to change the code in order for them to work properly.
    I don't program my psx/psone chips. I buy them from a guy in Romania which uses a update version of mm3 and mayumi 4 which work on 5001-9001 and the 101.
    I have tried to dump the chip but they are protected.

    Now, I know he sell the best chip since I have never had one fail on me.
    On every system I have used it on. He uses 12C607,12C508, 12C509, 12F508, 12F509, 12F629.

    For some reason I always read post in assembler about not getting the MM3 to work in the 101 or in other models. These are bought from eurasia or from other users on forums. I know there is something wrong with the mm3 hex code for 12C508 and 12F629.

    Just so you know their is no Mayumi 5, it's the MM3 renamed to Mayumi 5
    ---End Quote---

    However, pretty sure thats not accurate as they seem to be different when I check them....

    I dunno
     
  12. root670

    root670 Robust Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    17
    So it's best to stick with MM3 for the PSOne?
     

Share This Page