[PS2] POPS stuff & POPStarter

Discussion in 'Sony Programming and Development' started by krHACKen, Apr 10, 2013.

  1. ElPatas

    ElPatas Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    73
    Great, keep the good work. :encouragement:
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2013
  2. blueheaven

    blueheaven Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Got some time so i tried some games (thanx for the SUD image btw).
    With the portable launcher (i used rev9 and cue2popsv1) i finally got SLPS-02034 Cotton and SLUS-00606 Dead or Alive running :)
     
  3. krHACKen

    krHACKen Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    373
    POPStarter Revision 11 (FIXED) [2013/04/30]

    POPStarter Revision 11 is on Pastie #7749880, or just Google "POPStarterRev11FIXED".

    No update in CUE2POPS, the version which is included in the POPStarter 11 ZIP is CUE2POPS_v1.2.

    Like announced in my previous post, the binaries need no hexedit. The container takes the ELF file name as the target game partition.
    For example, when LAUNCHER.ELF is renamed to PP.CRAP-00001.ELF, the container sets up POPS for running the IMAGE0.VCD which is located in the partition "PP.CRAP-00001".
    Before you try to install this new revision, please read the README.TXT.

    The KELF boots slower than the Revision 10 one. Since I've added the "ELF name to argument" thing, the container has grown and I've been forced to MG encrypt another block of 768 bytes, within the executable segment.
    The fastest boot you can have is with EXECUTE.ELF renamed to PP.YOUR_PARTITION_NAME.ELF and copied to the root of the partition.


    EDIT :
    Quick report about some stuff I've tested.
    Tekken v1.0 has minor SFX problems (some are not played entirely, some are mute), almost not noticeable.
    SFX in Tekken v1.1 are completely messed up. Galaga SFX and other odd garbage are played during battles and in menus.

    I had the opportunity to test the gap-- command of CUE2POPS v1.2 against a (bad ?) dump of Darkstalkers: The Night Warriors (US). It did the trick. Without it, the music started 2 seconds after the beginning. I think it was a bad dump, because the CAPCOM FMV had no sound. Anyway, like reported in AKuHAK's POPS-00001 compatibility list, the game freeze at the "Loading" screen, after you select a character.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2013
  4. blueheaven

    blueheaven Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Nice work!

    Maybe i'm doin' something wrong, but i get the same output message using CUE2POPS_1_2_DEBUG.EXE with command "gap-- and gap++", is that correct?

    "daTrack_ptr hit on TRACK 02 AUDIO INDEX 01 MSF minus 2 seconds !"

    With both Tekken SLUS-00006 and Ridge Racer SCUS-94300 the cdda tracks are out of sync.
    I'm using Rev.10 and CUE2POPS_1_2.

    Edit: ok i see no need for messing any further with Tekken then...
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2013
  5. krHACKen

    krHACKen Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    373
    "daTrack_ptr hit on TRACK 02 AUDIO INDEX 01 MSF minus 2 seconds !" appears with every games that have a CD-DA track regardless the entered commands.
    daTrack_ptr is used to define where the NTSC patcher has to stop scanning (so it scans only the DATA track and not AUDIO tracks); and where dummy sectors have to be injected (only in CDRWIN dumps).

    Have you tried without gap commands ? gap++ and gap-- are optional, and should normally not be needed, unless the tracks are out of sync without gap commands.
     
  6. blueheaven

    blueheaven Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    I just did a quick test with SLUS-00606 DOA, the game plays fine, music is ok.
    cue2pops_v1.2 and rev 11 :)

    I understand Tekken and Ridge Racer are both problematic games, so i'm gonna try some others...

    Thanx for the explanation.
     
  7. DaSA

    DaSA Robust Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    153
    Thanks for your hard work krHACKen :very_drunk:
    I will test it today, and make some reports.
     
  8. krHACKen

    krHACKen Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    373
    Thank you for trying POPStarter revision 11 :) .
    Did you test with EXECUTE.KELF, EXECUTE.ELF or LAUNCHER.ELF ? And if you tried with EXECUTE.ELF or LAUNCHER.ELF, what ELF launcher did you use (uLe, OPL, FMCB...) ?

    Yep. As for Tekken v1.0 (JAP), the SPU glitch does not make the gameplay uncomfortable. The JAP version of Tekken 2 does have a similar glitch. I didn't try the US releases.

    You are welcome. Thank you for your interest in POPStarter.

    The US version of Einhänder was reported incompatible with POPS-00001 by 2 testers. I've tried it with the Rev.11 KELF just now. I could play the 1st stage with no proplem.
     
  9. blueheaven

    blueheaven Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    FYI: I used LAUNCHER.ELF with uLe.
    Setting things up for HDD OSD takes some time i will get to that later ;)
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2013
  10. krHACKen

    krHACKen Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    373
    Nice:love-struck:.

    POPS-00001 appears obsolete now.

    Up to you comrades to spread the news and the release:smile-new:.
    I keep on mirroring the ZIP in case teh Giant Enemy Crab strikes back.
     
  11. ElPatas

    ElPatas Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    73
    I tested the POPStarter revision 11 with this games:

    Lomax PAL
    Quake II PAL
    Wipeout XL NTSC-U
    Wipeout 3 Special Edition PAL
    Tekken 3 NTSC-U

    The audio CD tracks worked fine for all this games which uses this type of audio like Lomax.
    Tekken 3 US works as it worked in previous revision10, BGM only works in some stages, and he
    have the graphical "epilepsy" glith.

    I tested them with the 3 containers (execute.elf and launcher.elf launched from uLE) and
    seems all worked fine with the same result, savegames worked fine at least from the first
    slot which i use always, and also i used a different BIOS working well.

    Seems all is ok but better test more games with the different containers for see if
    appears any bug.

    Many thanks krHACKen for your time and work on it, great job.:encouragement:

    Regards.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2013
  12. blueheaven

    blueheaven Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Just did a quick and dirty test with the modified hdl_dump here and booting from HDD OSD works great! :)
    (used DOA see previous post).
    Back to the browser with L1+START+SELECT.
     
  13. krHACKen

    krHACKen Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    373
    @ElPatas & blueheaven

    Thanks for the feedbacks.

    Same glitches with the Japanese version :( .

    You are welcome.
    Feel free to inform EOL members about the POPStarter 11 release:smile-new:.
     
  14. ElPatas

    ElPatas Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    73
    He, he, you know eol? thanks count on it, also when i have more free time i will make a tutorial in spanish for eol of the POPStarter 11, which is great and now very ease of use
    thanks to no more hex edition needed.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2013
  15. AKuHAK

    AKuHAK Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    46
    thanks for testing :) I can provide easy but dirty cmd file which can install game on the HDD in one click. unfortunately no way for network cause pfsshell uses another hdl_server.
     
  16. blueheaven

    blueheaven Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    It's allright like this, it took about 5 seconds to install over network, so i'm fine with that :)
    Here's an example of how it looks (picture from my tv screen).
    Icon is just a sample/test...

    Thanx again to all of you ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  17. blueheaven

    blueheaven Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Sorry my mistake i thought you meant installing the icons. How fast is installing the game that way?
    Why is it not possible to transfer over network and which server do you use for pfsshell?
    Can you post that cmd file?
    Thanx ;)
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2013
  18. AKuHAK

    AKuHAK Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    46
    Here is dirty and ugly pack.
    usage: pops.bat device partition file
    e.g. pops.bat hdd2: PP.POPS.TEST "Crash Bash.cue"

    This will create 1Gb partition, inject there your game and inject attributes.

    You need boot.kelf for it. Also you can change system.cnf, list.ico and icon.sys.
    Be careful - don't write already existing partitions as arguments - it will permanently erase your partition.
     
  19. DaSA

    DaSA Robust Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    153
    For now, I only tested rev 11 with 2 PAL problematic games - Crash Bandicoot & Rayman (confirmed as problematic).

    Crash Bandicoot had terrible framerate issue that make it unplayable (sound is ok tho) if you convert it with vmode command. VCD image works fine (good framerate + display centered) if you made it with no command in CUE2POPS, and then run GSM before launching the game. I still need to test with the last OPL+GSM beta build.

    Rayman Pal : I only get a black screen, with or without command in CUE2POPS. I remembered having it working with POPS-00001. Need to test more for this one.



    Would it worth to make a new compatibility list, now that POPS-00001 is obsolete? Im thinking especially about the CUE2POPS commands.
    Example :




    [TABLE="width: 1000"]
    [TR]
    [TD="align: center"]Name of game [/TD]
    [TD="align: center"] Region[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Game ID [/TD]
    [TD="align: center"] Working status[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]CUE2POPS version [/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]CUE2POPS commands[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"] OSD handler [/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]BIOS handler [/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Notes[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]POPStarter rev build[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]User[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="align: center"]Crash Bandicoot[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"] Pal[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"] SCES 00034[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"] Working[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"] v1.2[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"] NONE[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]NO[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]NO[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]framerate issue with vmode
    use GSM instead
    [/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]r11[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="align: center"]Rayman[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"] Pal [/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]SLES 00049[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Not working[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"] v1.2[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"] NONE[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]NO[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]NO[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Blackscreen [/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]r11[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]




    Well, my examples are not the best, but it would save us time to test which command is needed when converting with CUE2POPS.



    [A bit offtopic : @ElPatas : I saw your tuto on EOL forum, and that you recommand RadHostClient over USB to transfer games to hdd. How many times do it take to transfer one game? I cant manage to make it work (issue with the drag and drop), and I would like to know if it worth the trouble to find a solution. Thanks]
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2013
  20. krHACKen

    krHACKen Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    373
    About the Crash Bandicoot framerate issue :

    [​IMG]


    - The 1st Y-Pos patch is wrong. It's out of the game EXE and does not seem to be related to the vertical position
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    - The VMODE patch is responsible of the frame rate slowness

    - The last Y-Pos only fixes the screen position when the VMODE is patched


    I've reverted the 1st Y-Pos and VMODE offsets to their original code, then manually fixed the last Y-Pos. Since the VMODE patch was disabled, the frame rate is too fast...
    Both PAL and US version are in English. It would be better to use the US version.

    CUE2POPS will have to be updated with :
    - vmode exception for the PAL Crash Bandicoot
    - PAL Y-Pos patch, in case the VMODE pattern can't be found
    - Restriction to MODE2/2352 dumps (block anything else than MODE2/2352)



    I didn't found the time to rebuild Rayman with Zony's CDGEN yet...


    Yep, a compatibility list including the CUE2POPS version, the POPStarter revision, the efficiency of the NTSC patcher, the used BIOS/OSD and the launcher type (LAUNCHER.ELF, EXECUTE.ELF or EXECUTE.KELF) would be very nice.
     

Share This Page