[PS2] POPS stuff & POPStarter

Discussion in 'Sony Programming and Development' started by krHACKen, Apr 10, 2013.

  1. Jolek

    Jolek Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    131
    Does POPStarter supports PS1 (SCPH-1090) Mouse?
    [​IMG]

    There should be few games that originally does that:
    • A-Train
    • Arcade Party Pak
    • Alien Resurrection
    • Amerzone
    • Area 51
    • Ark of Time
    • Atari Anniversary Edition
    • Atlantis: The Lost Tales
    • Baldies
    • Breakout
    • Broken Sword: The Shadow of the Templars
    • Broken Sword II: The Smoking Mirror
    • Clock Tower: The First Fear
    • Clock Tower II: The Struggle Within
    • Command & Conquer: Red Alert
    • Command & Conquer: Red Alert – Retaliation
    • Constructor (Europe)
    • Cyberia
    • Die Hard Trilogy
    • Die Hard Trilogy 2: Viva Las Vegas
    • Discworld
    • Discworld II: Missing Presumed…!?
    • Discworld Noir
    • Dracula: The Resurrection
    • Dune 2000
    • Elemental Gearbolt
    • Final Doom
    • Front Mission Alternative
    • Galaxian 3 (Japan & Europe)
    • Ghoul Panic
    • Klaymen Klaymen: Neverhood no Nazon (Japan)
    • Lemmings
    • Lemmings 3D
    • Monopoly
    • MTV Music Generator
    • Myst
    • My Disney Kitchen
    • Neorude (Japan)
    • Oh No! More Lemmings
    • Perfect Assassin
    • Policenauts (Japan)
    • Project: Horned Owl[2]
    • Puchi Carat
    • Quake II
    • Railroad Tycoon II
    • Rescue Shot
    • Risk
    • Riven: The Sequel to Myst
    • RPG Maker
    • Sentinel Returns
    • Shanghai: True Valor
    • SilverLoad
    • SimCity 2000
    • Spin Jam
    • Syndicate Wars
    • Tempest 2000 (Tempest X3)
    • Theme Aquarium (Japan)
    • Transport Tycoon
    • Virtual Pool
    • Warhammer: Dark Omen
    • Warzone 2100
    • Worms
    • X-COM: UFO Defense
    • X-COM: Terror from the Deep
    • Z
    Taken from Wikipedia:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_Mouse.
     
    UniqueUserName likes this.
  2. AlGollan84

    AlGollan84 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    22
    Salut @Jolek.

    Cette souris me semble être l'exacte réplique extérieure de celles que j'ai eu pour mon ATARI-1040STF il y a plus de 30 ans.

    Cet ordinateur que j'ai très "custom" par moi même fonctionne toujours et j'avais créé des extensions mémoires qui lui permettait de démarrer soit en 520Ko, en 1024Ko en 2,5Mo et en 4Mo (maximum). Ces configurations mémoires étaient commandées par des micro-interrupteurs à bascules (inverseurs) en donnant les bons signaux au bons moments. Je n'avais pas créé que ça mais que c'est loin maintenant !!!
     
    UniqueUserName likes this.
  3. Jolek

    Jolek Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    131
    Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator
    I don't understand?!
    This mouse is an official one from sony.
    Mouse should be in Port 1, DualShock\Dual Analog Controller should be in port 2.
    Only compatible games are supported with this peripheral device.

    Did you tried it with POPStarter?
     
  4. deba5er

    deba5er Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    32
    I have this PS1 mouse and could not get it to work with a number of games on the posted list.
     
    kHn, Jolek, AlGollan84 and 1 other person like this.
  5. AlGollan84

    AlGollan84 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    22
    @Jolek.

    Non, je ne possède pas de souris PS1 (voire pour PS2), je n'ai que des souris pour les micro-ordinateurs ATARI type 1040STF. La souris que tu as mises sur la photo est pratiquement l'exacte réplique que celles que j'ai possédé en leur temps pour mes ATARI (j'en ai eu plusieurs modèles jusqu'au Falcon030).
     
    Jolek likes this.
  6. AKuHAK

    AKuHAK Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    22
    Popstarter will not support this device cause it handle only ps2mode compatible hardware.
     
    Jolek and AlGollan84 like this.
  7. Jolek

    Jolek Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    131
    So maybe this adaptor might help:
    [​IMG]
     
    Traace and AlGollan84 like this.
  8. maxstyle

    maxstyle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    No like this
    $??????? ???????
     
  9. Jolek

    Jolek Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    131
    [​IMG]
    For mode 0x07?
    Be more precise about what you want to achieve.
     
  10. maxstyle

    maxstyle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Patch 0x07 did not complate. And not stable. We can't play games like Tomb Raidwer III, IV, chronciles well with this patch. Games are looking very bright unwanted. We should config gamma with a cheat code we want to be how much it.
     
  11. kHn

    kHn Rising Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    188
    Mode 0x07 isn't something that'd let the user configure things such as gamma. It's a dirty patch which hasn't been completed or replaced with something efficient. And POPStarter is no longer being developed, so I cannot provide a hexcode or TROJAN/PATCH, sorry.
     
    AlGollan84 likes this.
  12. Jolek

    Jolek Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    131
    Is there a cheat to enable DS analog mode at startup?
    [​IMG]
     
  13. rogerioronin

    rogerioronin Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3
    kHn

    Desculpe não saber Inglês e Francês:

    Eu mantenho um blog sem fins lucrativos no Brasil (https://mundowiihack.wordpress.com/2017/10/22/popstarter-ps2/), e só no ano de 2017/2018 o POPStarter foi baixado mais de 10.000 vezes!
    Em países pobres (de "terceiro mundo") muitas vezes só temos um Playstation 2, e o POPStarter que é naturalmente uma ferramenta extremamente poderosa, que proporciona jogarmos Playstation One gastando pouco dinheiro!
    Eu realmente espero que um dia você volte a trabalhar neste projeto e esqueça as poucas pessoas que não valoriza seu trabalho, porque MUITAS outras muitas pessoas dependem do seu trabalho e respeitam seu trabalho, e sinceramente estas pessoas merecem mais atenção que o jay-jay!

    Desculpe insistir no assunto, mas seu trabalho com o POPStarter faz a alegria de muitas pessoas, principalmente no Brazil!
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2018
    diegoginard, cjuni and AlGollan84 like this.
  14. Jolek

    Jolek Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    131
    @rogerioronin you can write in your language and put a translation (eg from https://www.deepl.com).
    It'll make at least my life simpler.

    Here is translation:
    Best regards.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2018
    AlGollan84 likes this.
  15. cjuni

    cjuni Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    6
    I agree with @rogerioronin
    Unfortunately brazilians have to live with the highest rates in the world thanks to their rulers.
    Anyway. Popstarter is amazing. Thank you kHn. I hope you get back to working on this great project again.
     
    AlGollan84 and deba5er like this.
  16. Jolek

    Jolek Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    131
  17. Vedita BR

    Vedita BR Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    21
    Could someone show me examples of DISCS.TXT and VMCDIR.TXT for games installed for HDD-OSD launch method...
    I have one Game: Metal Gear Solid

    PP.SLUS-00594.MGS_CD1
    ........\IMAGE0.VCD
    ........\EXECUTE.KELF

    PP.SLUS-00776.MGS_CD2
    ........\IMAGE0.VCD
    ........\EXECUTE.KELF

    How my DISCS.TXT should look like?
    How my VCMDIR.TXT should look like to make MGS CD2 save to MGS CD1 VMC folder?
     
  18. kHn

    kHn Rising Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    188
    Install both disc in the same PP. partition. The disc change feature does not support multiple partitions (cannot unmount/mount partitions).
    First disc must be named IMAGE0.VCD, since POPStarter only looks for that VCD when booting in HDD-OSD mode.
    Second disc, IMAGE1.VCD.

    Since CD1 and CD2 belong to the same partition, the same VMC will be used with both VCDs (no need for VCMDIR.TXT)

    Content of DISCS.TXT (put the text file in the VMC folder of MGS) :
    Code:
    IMAGE0.VCD
    IMAGE1.VCD
    Hope I'm correct...
     
    ElPatas, pool7, AKuHAK and 2 others like this.
  19. Vedita BR

    Vedita BR Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thank you very much! it works flawless
     
    kHn likes this.
  20. emmanu878

    emmanu878 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Its a shame development stopped on this. I just tried it again over the last few days to see that most of the DDR games are now fully playable. Expect for not surprisingly, DDR Disney Mix but turns out its because of the engine its running on.

    Its the Dancing Stage engine that was made for the spin off titles that causes issues because i randomly tried one of the Japanese Dancing Stage title and heard and saw the same audio skipping and disc error message occur during gameplay.

    Note i have not tried the PAL Dancing Stage games but those should run without any issues since those are running the DDR engine

    TL;DR: The Japanese Dancing Stage engine is the culprit for the skipping audio, not the disc dump itself.
     
    stayhye, ElPatas and kHn like this.

Share This Page