PS2 FMCB Install problem

Discussion in 'Sony Programming and Development' started by -SiD-, Aug 3, 2017.

1. -SiD-

-SiD- Active Member

I have two PS2 consoles. The first one is a PS2 TEST DTL-H50002 and the second one is a slim model SPCH-75004. I want to install FMCB on the slim model. I've burned a disc with uLaunchELF which I can boot with my TEST PS2. So far so good. Now, when I want to install the actual FMCB build I can't select the menu point "multi install". Is there a way to install FMCB for multi consoles on my TEST PS2? I've tried already some different versions of FMCB. In some older versions I can select "multi install" but then an error pops up. Something with DVDELF.BIN. Can somebody help me? I have no knowledge about PS2. :(

2. Otello

Otello Member

Debug units don't have DVD Player and as a consequence are unable to decrypt DVD Player flagged KELFs. FMCB works this way. So you can't install FMCB on DTL (at least theoretically).

3. -SiD-

-SiD- Active Member

The confusing thing is that the normal installation finishes without problems and I have the FMCB files on my memory card. Only the multi install doesn't work. Is there a method to start uLaunchELF on the Slim model without modchip/swapdisk/etc. I've read that there is a way with exploited PS1 savegames. Will this work?

4. sp193

sp193 Site Soldier

FMCB installations are not transferrable between a CEX and DEX.
    Support for a DEX was only officially added in v1.9x.

FMCB is no longer dependent on the DVD player as of v1.8c. Supported models of the DEX are now also supported, specifically those that can decrypt KELFs.

The indepedence exploit does not work on all slimline consoles.
    There's the swap trick that you can use, but it's not particularly safe.

If you can see yourself getting the PS3 Memory Card Adaptor, you can use the PS3MCA package to install FMCB.
    You can upgrade to v1.953 after that.

pool7 and -SiD- like this.
  5. thebigman1106

thebigman1106 Robust Member