PS1 SCPH7502 Mayumi v4 troubles

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by Hennessyslick, May 8, 2018.

  1. Hennessyslick

    Hennessyslick Tactical Espionage Action

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey fellas,

    Installing a Mayumi v4 (from Bad_Ad84) in my PS1 following this helpful guide's instructions.

    On the first boot attempt after installation, no CDs would boot properly at all. The kynar wire at pin location 8 on the motherboard itself wasn't soldered too well so I put it down to that - I de/resoldered this joint and I seemed to be correct, as I could boot several games and audio CDs afterward.

    Unfortunately, I still get the "insert a Playstation disc" message when trying to play NTSC-J games. I haven't had the time to do continuity testing yet but I figure if there were a problem with my soldering then games wouldn't boot at all. Any idea where I might be going wrong?
     
  2. Taijigamer2

    Taijigamer2 Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    157
    Have u tried backups from other regions? Do retail games boot? Do u have pics of your install?
     
  3. vectrac20tsri

    vectrac20tsri Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    I once had troubles with the same board/chip, was advised to not route my wiring cda/x?? which fixed all my boot problems, have a search of the forum.
     
  4. Hennessyslick

    Hennessyslick Tactical Espionage Action

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I haven't actually tried backups yet; just retail games from NTSC-J and PAL. Retail PAL games work fine (which makes sense because it's a PAL console), but retail NTSC-J games won't boot. Don't have pics at the moment but I'll see if I can get some later when I'm home.

    Thanks for the info man; what do you specifically mean by cda/x? Is this the ribbon cable slot on the motherboard?
    I think I found a post suggesting that on at least another site, but I wasn't sure what they meant. Are you able to clarify? Would really appreciate it.
     
  5. Taijigamer2

    Taijigamer2 Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    157
  6. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,324
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Need pics of install
     
  7. Mord.Fustang

    Mord.Fustang Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    169
    Redo your soldering job... all the points. Please don't just assume that your soldering job is fine.
     
  8. Hennessyslick

    Hennessyslick Tactical Espionage Action

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Images should now be available here.

    You'll be happy to know that I've reflowed all my points (I do realize that one of the wires is not attached to the chip; it came loose when I was moving the board to get pictures. This may well have been the offending article.

    I also re-routed the wire to pin 8 away from the CD drive connector.

    Let me know if I've horrifically embarrassed myself.
     
  9. Mord.Fustang

    Mord.Fustang Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    169
    So it's working now?
     
  10. Hennessyslick

    Hennessyslick Tactical Espionage Action

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    No, afraid not. Exactly the same symptoms.
     
  11. Mord.Fustang

    Mord.Fustang Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    169
    Try removing points 3, 4 & 7 temporarily... these are for stealth and it should still boot out-of-region a game without them.

    Pin 1 = power
    Pin 2 = clock
    Pin 5 = gate
    Pin 6 = data
    Pin 8 = ground

    Also double check you have the pins in the correct order (not backwards for example).
     
  12. master991

    master991 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    28
    The problem is the soldering job, every point is a cold joint.
    Redo all the install, you can use flux to help the job better...
     
    s8n likes this.
  13. s8n

    s8n Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    66
  14. Nully

    Nully Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    47
    Seconding this. Also where is this attached to? https://imgur.com/a/xKy2AE2

    Edit: read your comment about it breaking off. I would literally just start over, you can get some Kester flux for $5 shipped on Ebay. Sent you a message.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2018

Share This Page