PlayStation Continuity Checker

Discussion in 'Sony Programming and Development' started by Logi26, Nov 16, 2015.

  1. Logi26

    Logi26 Site Supporter 2014

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    86
    I stumbled across this console on eBay the other day. The seller says that the console was used to check controller and memory card connections.

    The console has the buttons from a blue debug and the internal card is marked "SCEI". I couldn't find any information about the console online or any other pictures. I placed a £110 bid just because the console seems interesting and probably quite rare, but I didn't want to pay anymore since it doesn't have much use and there are other things that I would rather buy. It ended up selling for £114.

    Anyway I just thought that it would be a good idea to share the pictures here for future reference.

    An here is information from the eBay listing:

    "This console was one of 6 consoles used for connectivity checks on pads and memory cards during manufacture and development, it is the earliest scph-1002 audiophile console, has blue power/eject/reset buttons much like the later net yaroze.
    The dealer that sold me this reliably informed me that all 6 consoles were delivered to him by Sony UK in a large lot of old hardware.
    As you can see on the photos it has an add on board inside the console and is called CONT CHECK V3
    This board has led's that display a green light when pads and memory cards are fitted correctly, if it doesnt have good connectivity a red led lights up under the label NG (not good.)"


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    SILENT_Pavel likes this.
  2. cez

    cez Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    29
    Great find. I wonder if it has a different BIOS/user interface or if all the magic is done by the extra board.
     
  3. Logi26

    Logi26 Site Supporter 2014

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    86
    I was wandering the same myself. That was the main reason why I made a bid on the system.
    Unfortunately that is all the pictures and information that the seller provided and I didn't win the auction.
     
  4. TriMesh

    TriMesh Site Supporter 2013-2017

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    691
    My guess is that it's just monitoring the power consumption of the stuff plugged into the expansion port, Probably used for a screening test on controllers an memory cards to see if they would blow the fuses.
     
  5. PixelButts

    PixelButts Site Soldier

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,587
    Likes Received:
    1,753
    I sent TriMesh a PM about it and it was interesting of an item in general.

    Most notably because it appeared to be a stock retail unit with blue devstation buttons (and of course the LEDs and board). I hope whoever got it is a member here.
     
    jamespoo likes this.
  6. Ed Hunter

    Ed Hunter Site Supporter 2015. Site Patron.

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    33
    I didn't win the auction mentioned above, but I dealt with the guy who had 6 for sale. The 6 units were sold on eBay around October 7th. The only thing the dealer knew about them was they came from Sony with in a lot of "old hardware" for recycling or disposal. Sadly, the other "old hardware" was parted out and disposed of. I am not a Playstation collector, but these looked interesting and they were pretty cheap, so I grabbed the last 2 of them. They finally arrived a few days ago. They look interesting, but I haven't been able to test them out yet. Here are some initial pictures.

    http://s1180.photobucket.com/user/darkhorse1111/library/Mystery Playstation
     
    Syclopse likes this.
  7. Jackhead

    Jackhead Site Soldier

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,376
    Likes Received:
    533
    Got a unit today. PS only play PAL retail games. So it is no special bios installed. Strange is, they bypass the power button. There is no function on it. Unit is always power on when you conect the voltage cable.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2015
  8. ASSEMbler

    ASSEMbler Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    19,394
    Likes Received:
    988
    Someone has tried to sex it up by swapping the buttons.
     
  9. smf

    smf mamedev

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    85
    The bios isn't usually responsible for region lockout & that in itself doesn't prove whether it's special or not. But that is easily checked by dumping it, or at least getting the crc. I would guess that it isn't though.

    They probably disabled the power button because they didn't need to turn it off and accidentally turning it off would cause delays. The people using this would have been told to plug things in and look at lights, they probably didn't understand what they were doing other than that.
     
  10. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,463
    Likes Received:
    1,182
    Are you implying the seller? or Sony?

    As all the ones I have seen look like this.
     
  11. ASSEMbler

    ASSEMbler Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    19,394
    Likes Received:
    988
    Just in general. Curious as to why, as it requires time to undo the spring and plate for the button.
     
  12. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,463
    Likes Received:
    1,182
    Oh I see what you mean.

    I guess it was to make it noticeably different at a glance. If it was grey or one of the debug colours, maybe someone would have shipped it out or thrown it away?
     
  13. ASSEMbler

    ASSEMbler Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    19,394
    Likes Received:
    988
    I was thinking that as well; so people don't accidentally pack the tester instead of the retail machine.
    Perhaps for inventory purposes (it could be a mundane reason).
     

Share This Page