PlayStation 2 modchip model

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by helakustorm, Aug 2, 2017.

  1. helakustorm

    helakustorm Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    Can someone tell me according to this picture http://imgur.com/a/Xj3Rj what modchip was used in the console?
    The model of the console is 90004 from what I've understand.

    Thanks!
     
  2. iCEQB

    iCEQB Robust Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    24
    Probably one of the many Modbos (Matrix Infinity clones) ... try to get into the menu (press and hold triangle and circle while powering on the system) to let it display the FW version, this might give a bit more insight.
     
  3. helakustorm

    helakustorm Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    Unfortunately I can't test the console because I don't have it.
    Someone is selling it very cheap and that's why I was asking.
    I was thinking that the logo from the original Matrix Infinity modchip was different from the Modbo clones.
    I will ask him to test the menu code to see what firmware is.
    Thanks!
     
  4. iCEQB

    iCEQB Robust Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    24
    It depends on the clone, there are clones which didn't change the logo from the original chip, but you'll also find modbos which display "Modbo Chip" all over the place.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2017
  5. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 Keyboard Error: Press F1 to Continue

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7,686
    Likes Received:
    632
    The version of firmware will only help if its 1.99 or higher.

    1.93 or lower could still be legit matrix or a modbo.
     
  6. helakustorm

    helakustorm Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    Let's say if it is 1.93 then the modchip can be a good clone or legit matrix?
    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2017
  7. wmi

    wmi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    If it's a SCPH-90004 the chances are slim to none that it's a real Matrix Infinity.
    They were pretty much out of production at the time those last PS2 revisions were released. Also people reported problems when installing them in SCPH-90000 consoles and recommended the Modbo clones instead (at a fraction of the price).

    Not that it really matters besides the novelty value of the real chip.
     
    helakustorm likes this.
  8. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 Keyboard Error: Press F1 to Continue

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7,686
    Likes Received:
    632
    There was a fix for that, using a transistor to drive the W point IIRC.

    But you are right, its most likely not one and the modbo does just as good a job as the original
     
    helakustorm likes this.
  9. helakustorm

    helakustorm Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thank you everyone for you responses.
    Here is a picture of the bottom: http://imgur.com/a/TrPaj
    Unfortunately you can't see the date code... maybe it's 0C or 0D?
     
  10. wmi

    wmi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Clearly 0D, so running FMCB is not possible.
     
  11. LeHaM

    LeHaM Site Soldier

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,481
    Likes Received:
    246
    The Modbos that run 1.93 are good, they usually have writable memory :p
     
  12. helakustorm

    helakustorm Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've received the picture: http://imgur.com/a/FEMa0
    Unfortunately, the modchip have 1.99 firmware.
    The price for the console (90004 model with date code 0D) is ~8$ with shipping included.
    From what I've understand it have a problem, the ribbon cable to the laser is missing.
    Is this a right price?

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2017
  13. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 Keyboard Error: Press F1 to Continue

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7,686
    Likes Received:
    632
    Id buy it for that. Swapping the modchip shouldnt be hard (desolder modchip side, leave wires to mobo) and the laser ribbons are easy to get and worth replacing anyway as if the laser is parked incorrectly (pulling power without powering off) it can end up scratching the disc.

    I replace the ribbon on all slims i refurb.
     
    helakustorm likes this.
  14. helakustorm

    helakustorm Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    Unfortunately I don't know what problems may have but that was the only thing mentioned.
    I bought it anyway and will see if they are more problems or not with the console.
    Bad_Ad84, do you know if 90004 have PVR-802W?

    Thanks!
     
  15. helakustorm

    helakustorm Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    New updates guys!
    The console is working and use this modchip: http://imgur.com/a/LC5uQ
    Unfortunately PlayStation 1 games doesn't work: black screen.
    Someone posted this:
    So, what do you think?
    Thanks!

    P.S. if set the "PS2 SCREEN FIX" to OFF is something bad? The console is PAL and I've tried NTSC games on it and they are displayed correctly on my TV.
     
  16. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 Keyboard Error: Press F1 to Continue

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7,686
    Likes Received:
    632
    If S isnt connected on your install, PS1 games wont work. What you quoted is accurate about the SX/SCEX/S point and also using circle to force PS1 mode.
     
    helakustorm likes this.
  17. helakustorm

    helakustorm Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    Bad_Ad84, what about "PS2 SCREEN FIX".
    If I set it to OFF it's OK?
    I don't understand the use of that option...

    A little update:
    The console motherboard is GH-072-42.
    I saw that SX point and Y point are not connected.
    Sadly I don't know what Y point is...
    I have found two explanation for this point:
    - Y point - screen fix to force video mode
    - Y point - Region Free DVD Playback
    So which is correct?
    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017 at 5:01 PM
  18. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 Keyboard Error: Press F1 to Continue

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7,686
    Likes Received:
    632
    PS2 Screen fix Options:
    1. Off: Uses system default.
    2. NTSC: Used to force NTSC signal format on all games/software
    3. PAL60: Used to force NTSC signal format with color correction on PAL televisions that can handle NTSC signals.
    4. VGA: Use if you have a Blaze VGA adapter or on official one that came with the Linux Kit.
    5. Color: Uses your PS2's default region signal with color correction.
    6. PAL: Forces standard PAL TV signal on all games/software

    Basically, leave it off.
     
    helakustorm likes this.
  19. helakustorm

    helakustorm Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    What about the Y POINT?
    That point is not connected on the modchip like the SX/S POINT (SCEA, SCEE, SCEI, injected data for PS1 game).
    Y POINT is used only for movies and not for games?

    Thank you!

    Update test:
    Tested some DVD cartoons with TMNT and same error like PlayStation games, black screen.
    Pressing CIRCLE at the boot up the DVD's were working.
    So, I think the Y POINT is used for DVD's like S/SX POINT is used for PlayStation games :)
    But I'm not 100% sure...
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017 at 6:28 PM
  20. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 Keyboard Error: Press F1 to Continue

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7,686
    Likes Received:
    632
    Y is video mode.

    just connect all the missing points so it's installed correctly.

    They are all connected in the installation instructions for a reason. If you could get full functionality without some of them - they wouldn't be on the chip or installation instructions.
     
    helakustorm likes this.

Share This Page