PlayStation 1 / PSone Colour Correction Modification

Discussion in 'Sony Programming and Development' started by H360, Feb 3, 2012.

  1. Calpis

    Calpis Champion of the Forum

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5,906
    Likes Received:
    21
    FALSE. Every PAL console has the necessary 4.43 MHz signal stock, otherwise the encoder wouldn't be able to make a COLOR composite signal. CXA1645 ALSO have a NTSC/PAL mode input, again that's all you have to override.

    I think you're interpreting him wrong.

    There is no such thing as NTSC @ 50 Hz. And you're probably wrong about your TV not supporting PAL60, you're probably looking at NTSC thinking it's PAL60.

    I suppose you also need an asshole on your elbow.

    Yes it will.


    You are the one that needs to listen to others, you're acting like a timewasting clown. I'm done repeating myself, if you don't get it by now there's no hope for you.
     
    Bad_Ad84 likes this.
  2. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,631
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Changing the crystal doesnt force 50Hz - its software controlled. The crystal is for the color carrier (the PAL or NTSC part, not the 50/60hz part).

    So people saying you are wrong are still correct.

    Calpis did cover all this above :(

    Edit:

    And Caplis covered it again while I was writing this
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2012
  3. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,631
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    No only that, if you are planning on playing NTSC/60 games in 50hz - its going to run slow/weird anyway....

    Pointless thread is pointless :(
     
  4. H360

    H360 Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2012
  5. Mystical

    Mystical Resolute Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    35
    no i live in the UK but its not hard to post to Australia dude
     
  6. Elijah

    Elijah Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    3
    "Sorry, but www.amishrakefight.org is blocked on this network.

    This site was categorized in: Adult Themes"


    Was that really a necessary retort? It would appear that the filter in my workplace may just be a blessing in disguise, as you linked to something inappropriate that I would not want to see.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2012
  7. cybdyn

    cybdyn Embedded developer (MCU & FPGA)

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    4
    dunno who's wrong and who's rigth. but all 550x model that i've have now - chipped with PIC (mcu) and additionaly with 4.43 osc on the chip's circuit.

    but i saw some mod without 4.43osc.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2012
  8. Lum

    Lum Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    43
    No. That's wrong info. A crystal will NOT help you if using SCART.

    RGB color is RGB color. No matter 50 hertz or 60 hertz.

    The crystal only affects RF/composite/s-video. RGB has no color encoding, it can't be corrected because it doesn't exist on RGB.

    If your TV not supporting 60 hertz is the problem, a crystal will NOT help there either. PS1 games use software to determine 50 hertz or 60 hertz. Unlike other consoles. There is no such thing as a 50/60 hertz hardware mod for PS1. This means to get NTSC games at 50 hertz, you must patch their programming.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2012
  9. H360

    H360 Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1
    The plan was to NOT use SCART (RGB) from the start, since this is not a standard port in Australia.

    I wanted to add a crystal before hand so if I move the console to another TV, it will work ok with composite still - even if or if not that TV I put composite into supports 50/60 Hz...


    Like Bad said, another mixed up crazy topic started by myself as usual. I get a few lulz from these most times.


    Lets get a mod to lock it up :shrug:
     
  10. Elijah

    Elijah Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    3
    They never honour your requests. One would hope that this should discourage you from starting all these frankly embarrassing topics in which you make a fool of yourself.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2012
  11. Lum

    Lum Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    43
    It's alright. Let me ask a direct question that confirms whether this topic was useful:

    Do you own a TV that accepts 60 hz, yet not NTSC color?
     
  12. H360

    H360 Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dude, shutup. I do not think I make a fool of myself at all. Even if I have, I see it as a way to learn from my mistakes.


    @Lum, okay. When I put an NTSC-J game in my 5502 PS1, the TV flickers because it will not accept 60 Hz. However, it is in colour. This is through (*EDITED*I said component by accident here) composite and not RGB and this PS1 has the crystal in it which is making it do colour correctly I believe.
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2012
  13. Lum

    Lum Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    43
    That's a BIG time consuming problem to get around then. For 50 hz you'd have to burn a CD-R 50hz patched version of each and every NTSC-US or NTSC-J game you want to play. Assuming patches have been written to do that. After all real PS1 CDs can't be edited. :)
     
  14. Gemini

    Gemini Retro developer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    88
    You could always soft-patch them in order to default to a fixed video mode no matter what. It won't work in all the games out there, especially those using secondary executables (see Resident Evil), but most should be no problem.
     
  15. H360

    H360 Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah it is a pretty annoying issue. I was using a boot disc to force the software mode to 50, but the image alignment was off. The image was more towards the end of the screen on the X axis. Not the top.

    It is ok though. I only play a few NTSC-J games..................
     
  16. tails92

    tails92 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    3
    This thread makes for some nice popcorn...
    p.s.: excuse me for being ot but it kinda warranted this.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2012
  17. jinn

    jinn Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    4
    ImportPlayer Light is an utility that allows you to play PlayStation games from all regions, even protected games or games in a different video mode than the one your TV uses.
    This version fixes some bugs in the older versions and adds some features such as in-game screen positioning (press L1+L2+R1+R2 & use the directional buttons) and support for PSX games on PS2 (in PSOne mode only).

    It does not include Game Cheats but it includes an Anti-Mod & Anti-AR killer to bypass Mod-Chip Protections & Action-Replay checks.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Jorge Nuno

    Jorge Nuno Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    The crystal is irrelevant for component video
     
  19. jinn

    jinn Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    4
    How did you get component to work on a PS1?
     
  20. H360

    H360 Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ignore that. I meant composite. Not component.


    (edited)
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2012

Share This Page