Play and Charge kit hack?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Development' started by battle1, May 3, 2013.

  1. battle1

    battle1 Newly Registered

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought a P&C kit thinking that it would allow me to play games on my pc with my xbox 360 wireless controller and was just dissapointed at the result. I mean i saw many answers stating that it does not send data to pc but just is used to charge the battery and decided not to buy a wireless adapter before asking here so is there a driver a hack a program or any sort of "fix" that makes the controller usable on pc?
     
  2. itchy

    itchy Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: May 3, 2013
  3. battle1

    battle1 Newly Registered

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's no simply other way?
     
  4. itchy

    itchy Guest

    Nop
     
  5. hl718

    hl718 Site Soldier

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,856
    Likes Received:
    7
    This is your answer right here. The USB cable is just a power cable. Expecting to send data over it is equivalent to asking if you can hack your console's power cord and plug a USB memory stick into it. ;)

    Wireless controller is wireless. You either need the wireless receiver (which is a standalone RF board) or you need to rip one out of a dead console and wire up a USB plug to connect it to your computer.
     
  6. battle1

    battle1 Newly Registered

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well i mean as the receiver costs 20 dollars i probably should go for it. Thanks for the quick replies :)
     
  7. derekb

    derekb Well Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,964
    Likes Received:
    44
    curiosity question: how do the chinese clones compare to the legit microsoft wireless pc adapter?
     
  8. CrAzY

    CrAzY SNES4LIFE

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    53
    I wouldn't know, but from personal experience I now avoid the MS wireless adapter. Bought it years ago, crapped out in under 2 months. My replacement died after a year, no refund. Waste of cash.
     
  9. johnace

    johnace Grumpy Old Man

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried to get it to work, but it's nulled in the drivers and I'm no good with software so I just made a ghetto receiver lol.
    [​IMG]
     
  10. ddxcb

    ddxcb Gota J.T.A.G. That Xbone Yo.

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    46
    do you still have them, all it is the fuse burnt out and needs a bridge. Same happened to mine, but it works again.
     
  11. bdawg

    bdawg Rising Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    10
    Just did this today! Works brilliantly, Cheers!
     
  12. hamburger

    hamburger Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    1
  13. richi902

    richi902 Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    2
    the play and charge kit dose send data over the cable, but only to sync the controller with the console while charging, which is pretty nice, since my xbox faceplate has no sync button anymore, so its pretty handy sometimes.
     
  14. superspeed

    superspeed <B>Site Supporter 2012</B>

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know of a way to get it to work on x64 OS?
     
  15. bdawg

    bdawg Rising Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    10
    Works fine on 7 x64. Just install the 64 bit controller drivers from MS, and edit the .inf just the same.

    On 8 x64, you need to disable integrity checks, and install the drivers in test mode, as the drivers are obviously not signed anymore.
     
  16. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,618
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Win 7 x64 also need signed drivers, windows 8 is no different.

    So both need to disable the checks
     
  17. bdawg

    bdawg Rising Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    10
    Odd. Worked fine without on the 7 install I did a few days ago! But no bother. :)
     
  18. HEX1GON

    HEX1GON FREEZE! Scumbag

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9,916
    Likes Received:
    838
    Maybe you have UAC off - if it's got to do with UAC that is, I know if you try to install an unsigned driver UAC will warn you about the 'risks'.
     
  19. bdawg

    bdawg Rising Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yeah probably man. I just remember when I did it on 8, it whinged about the hash being incorrect. So I had to go the test mode route, and have that rank watermark I can't be bothered to remove. Haha.
     
  20. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,618
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Its not disable by UAC.

    its a x64 thing. Its technically a good thing, but when you want to install some drivers from "the community" its a pain in the ass. :(
     

Share This Page