Pin 16 on SCART cable and consoles

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by helakustorm, Feb 8, 2018.

1. helakustorm

helakustorm Robust Member

Hello,

Does someone knows if I don't solder a resistor to pin 16 (Blanking signal up/RGB-selection voltage up) and solder the wire directly to pin 16 can I damage my CRT Sony Trinitron? And what if I left pin 16 unconnected?
    According to SCART standards, 0 V–0.4 V means composite and 1 V–3 V (nominal 1 V) means RGB only.
    I can switch the output source manually from my remote control (AV1, AV2, AV3 etc) and the aspect ratio/status 4:3, 16:9.
    My question is about consoles in general; I'm more interested in PlayStation 2 for the moment.

Thanks!

Last edited: Feb 8, 2018
  2. MonkeyBoyJoey

MonkeyBoyJoey 70's Robot Anime GEPPY-X (PS1) Fanatic

I'm no expert, but sending 5V to something that is expecting 0-3V sounds like a bad idea. Since the PS2 outputs 5V, just bridge SCART pin 8 and SCART pin 16 with a 75 ohm resistor. Better safe than sorry.

helakustorm likes this.
  3. helakustorm

I think I will test it with not connecting the 5V wire to the pin 6 to see If I can switch manually to RGB source.
    I've tested with pin 8 (unconnected) and I can switch the aspect ration from my remote control or the buttons from the TV.

4. Bad_Ad84

Bad_Ad84 The Tick

You need it connected for rgb mode. As you found you can manually switch without the aspect ratio pin

helakustorm likes this.
  5. helakustorm

If I left it unconnected but I switch manually to RGB output it will not work?
    What about connecting it directly to 5V wire on PlayStation 2, can it damage the TV?
    Thank you Bad_Ad84 :)

6. helakustorm

A little update my friends.
    I have cut the 5V wire that was connected to pin 16 from a RGB cable for GameCube and I've tested the wire connection status (connected / unconnected) and I can confirm what Bad_Ad84 was saying: