Overclock

Discussion in 'Geist Force' started by Treamcaster, Aug 19, 2012.

  1. Treamcaster

    Treamcaster Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    5
    Simple question:

    Would it be worth overclocking a dreamcast to get the most out of this game?
     
  2. sabre470

    sabre470 Site Supporter 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    26
    No idea, but with the right cooling it would an interesting experiment!!!

    Wasn't there code making reference to unexisting hardware in Geist or was it purely related to copy protection???

     
  3. atreyu187

    atreyu187 Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    16
    Mine is OC'd to 240mhz on a v0 heat pipe system to keep it cool and I will gladly test once mine arrives. But 99% of retails games it has adverse effects as I think most are hard coded to 200mhz but we can try.
     
  4. -=FamilyGuy=-

    -=FamilyGuy=- Site Supporter 2049

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    The game was hardcoded to read the disc in mode1. Gd-roms are in mode1 and cdrs are in mode2, thus the backup only crash. Seems yhe game was developped so early that it doesn't use the gd-rom libs that would have took care of the modes themselves. For the boss crash, I can't tell.
     
  5. spinksy

    spinksy Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    7
    I've overclocked acouple of my Dreamcasts - playing powerstone 2 with 4 players in 240mhz is brilliant! No slow downs and the game runs alot smoother!

    Looking forward to trying this game (whenever I manage to get a copy) and trying it.

    (worth noting I've added alot of extra cooling to my DC too).
     
  6. bomb78

    bomb78 Rising Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmm i'm thinking of overclocking mine as well, is there any site explaining how to do it and where to place the extra coolers ?
     
  7. atreyu187

    atreyu187 Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have a japanese launch model with heat pads overclocked with larger fan myself and it was intended for this very game. In fact a modder on here did the job for me. Also the need to overclock your vmu doesnt seem to be true as none of my vmus are and it saves fine. One game i wish the oc worked for is jet grind radio but it makes the game all jumpy.
     
  8. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,613
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    The launch models run hotter than the VA1's anyway. Which is why they needed the heat sinks.

    Putting a VA1 board into a VA0 with heat pipe system would be better.
     
  9. -=FamilyGuy=-

    -=FamilyGuy=- Site Supporter 2049

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    A bit of shameless self-publicity here: http://fileforums.com/showthread.php?t=77928

    For cooling, just cool what's already cooled... but better! (cpu/gpu)
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2012
  10. spinksy

    spinksy Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    7
    I used your guide familyguy ;-)
     
  11. bomb78

    bomb78 Rising Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    hmm too much for me, i don't want to kill my console :D
    Thanks anyway
     

Share This Page