Original Xbox Video Controller

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by CabbageHead, Jan 8, 2019.

1. CabbageHead

CabbageHead Member

Hello,
    I recently softmodded my xbox and of course i made an USB adapter for it.
    But when I looked up the chart for the pinouts I found that the extra pin on the Controller port has something called Video-Sync.

Now because of that I was intrigued and wired a Composite cable to it. And well It did show a picture but it was frozen and glitched. It updated the Image though every time i switched back to the xbox on my TV.
    Makes sense it is named sync after all.

Now, I am not an expert in electronics but shouldn't it be possible to get at least composite somehow out of this connector ? If there is no composite on this sync signal maybe some additional chips could help with that ?

Again I know not mutch so please go easy on me if it is obvious that this won't work.

But I think it would be kind of neat to have a Display that you could slide into the Xbox Controllers Memorycard slot.

Hopefully someone has something to say about this or some ideas.

Thanks und vielen Dank,
    -Cabbage-

2. Borman

Borman Digital Games Curator

The extra wire is used for Lightguns.

3. CabbageHead

CabbageHead Member

Oh, well I guess that explains it.:D
    Thanks, Borman

4. Borman

A popular mod was actually to rewire the yellow wire to the power button, so you could remotely turn the console on and off. The downside was losing the lightgun support.

5. Conte Zero

Conte Zero Rapidly Rising Member

According to the Hardware Design Specification:

Video Sync Signal
    The NV2A GPU outputs a composite sync signal that is output to each of the controller ports. This
    signal is provided to support the implementation of controllers that need to have a timing reference
    to the CRT output. A light gun, that provides X,Y pointing input to the Xbox based on the location of