original xbox power supply mod

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by gorgyrip, Jun 9, 2018.

  1. gorgyrip

    gorgyrip Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    12
    I need to use the power supply for another project (without the xbox).
    The power supply is from an 1.6 xbox and has been tested.
    How can I make it to power on?
    Thank you.
     
  2. Mord.Fustang

    Mord.Fustang Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    171
    [​IMG]

    Just a(n educated) guess. Connect the white one (PowON) to the black one above it. Should that fail, the blue one to the one above that. Try at own risk.
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2018
    Syclopse likes this.
  3. gorgyrip

    gorgyrip Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    12
    I've tried that without luck. I've also tried vcc to powon and that didn't work either.
     
  4. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,346
    Likes Received:
    1,114
    Did you have a load on the power supply rails when trying it?

    A lot of power supplies have a minimum load requirement to turn on.
     
  5. gorgyrip

    gorgyrip Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    12
    I had a hdd connected. I've tried 2 power supplies and if I apply vcc to powon it outputs 5v but on the 12v line i get about 6-7v.
     
  6. CkRtech

    CkRtech Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    34
    From a more ATX point of view (I haven't messed with many Xbox PSUs), Power on should be driven low (connected to gnd) in order to power up the PSU as Mord.Fustang mentioned. Also - HDD would only pull +5v and +12v.

    It is possible that the PSU needs a minimum load on 3.3v.
     
  7. gorgyrip

    gorgyrip Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    12
    If I connect powon to gnd nothing happens.
     
  8. KaosEngineer

    KaosEngineer Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    91
    I actually think for an Xbox power supply unit (PSU), applying ground voltage level to PowOn turns the power supply off. Applying 3.3Vdc turns it on.

    The v1.6 power supply is a bit different having a 5Vdc standby voltage supply unlike all the previous Xbox consoles versions that had a 3.3Vdc standby output when AC power is connected.

    I think the standby (always on) 5Vdc output voltage supply (red) [ *The voltages for the STB and ON conditions of a v1.6 power supply above are incorrect! ] needs to be regulated to 3.3Vdc (which is done somewhere on the v1.6 Xbox console). This voltage supply level is routed through the System Management Controller (SMC - Xyclops) chip which when the front panel power button is pressed routes/applies this regulated 3.3Vdc standby supply voltage level to the PowOn pin (white wire) of the power supply connector.

    *For the Xbox Delta v1.6 power supply unit (PSU) with a multimeter, check the voltage levels present on the RED and ORANGE (ORG) connections. I believe the correct levels are as follows:

    COLOR / STB / ON
    BLUE / 0V / 3.3V <--additional update (PowOK can't be okay for entire supply when turned off.)
    RED / 5V / 5V
    ORG / 0V / 5V

    They later two are opposite of this in the image Mord.Fustang posted above from http://diy.sickmods.net/Tutorials/Xbox1/Power_Supply_Pinouts/

    Remember, the PSU's standby voltage supply is always ON when AC power is connected. This standby power supply powers the clock cap charging circuit, real-time clock and the SMC which turns on and off the remainder of the console's voltage supplies.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2018
  9. gorgyrip

    gorgyrip Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    12
    KaosEngineer, you are correct. On 1.6 there's only 5v in standby. I've found a mod for 1.6, but it didn't work. Something like this: 5v--10k---powon; powon--20k--gnd.

    I also have another power suppy, this one is not tested. It's 1.0-1.1. It has 3.3v in standby. If i connect 3.3v to powon, the 5v line works, but on the 12v line i get like 5-7V.

    About PowOK. On some forums it said that when the power supply is on, it sends 3,3v to powok to tell the console everything is good, but i don't have 3.3v on that pin.
     
  10. KaosEngineer

    KaosEngineer Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    91
    If the 12Vdc output is 5-7V then all is not okay, no 3.3v on PowOK. Do all of the voltage supply output pins have a load attached?
     
  11. gorgyrip

    gorgyrip Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    12
    The hdd I was using had some problems. tested another hdd and now it spins. I used a 1.0-1.1 power supply with powon connected to 3.3v. Powered on the psu and after that I connected the new hdd and it works. Now I have 12v with a load attached.

    Now about the 1.6 psu. It doesn't have 3.3v in standby. But it has 5v in standby mode. Is it ok to apply 5v to powon?
     
  12. Mord.Fustang

    Mord.Fustang Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    171
    I don't think it can hurt to try. Most likely it'll do something or it won't. Of course, try at your own risk.
     
  13. KaosEngineer

    KaosEngineer Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    91
    I think the voltage divider you tried earlier should work to adjust the 5Vdc standby voltage source level down to ~3.3Vdc for PowOn.
     
  14. gorgyrip

    gorgyrip Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    12
    For the moment i'll use the 1.0-1.1 power supply. But later I will try the 1.6 psu to make it work.
     
  15. Somechump

    Somechump Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    30
    I have a 1.6 xbox.
    To turn the psu on you need to connect the 3.3v pwrOK line to the pwrON line. Blue to white from the picture.
    PwrON should be a 3.3v input.
     
  16. KaosEngineer

    KaosEngineer Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    91
    For a v1.6 console, PowOK should be 0V until the power supply is on and the outputs are stable then 3.3Vdc present.

    Does it already have 3.3Vdc when AC is plugged in? I don't have a multimeter to check my 1.6 console's PSU.
     
  17. Somechump

    Somechump Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    30
    When the power supply is plugged in, there is 3.3v on the pwrOK line, as illustrated in the diagram at the start of the thread.
     
  18. gorgyrip

    gorgyrip Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    12
    Back tot the 1.0-11 psu. If i connect a samsung hdd, it spins and i have 12v. If i connect a seagate hdd, it doesn't spin and instead of 12v i get 6.7v. Why is that happening?
     
  19. obcd

    obcd Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    32
    Probably because the samsung has enough load on the 5V and the seagate isn't. Most power supplies like the xbox one only regulate the 5V and 3V3 as the 12V isn't critical. If there isn't hardly any load on the 5V and 3V3, the 12V will drop. Connect an additional 22 ohm 3W resistor to the 5V and/or 3V3 and see if it fixes your issue.
     
  20. gorgyrip

    gorgyrip Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have ended using another psu, but thank you.
     

Share This Page