Open Source Xbox Live?

Discussion in 'Xbox (Original console)' started by AlexRMC92, Feb 19, 2013.

Tags:
  1. AlexRMC92

AlexRMC92 Site Supporter 2013

This is really more speculation than anything, mostly because i have no experience in how xbox live works. Does anyone think i would be possible to build an open source xbox live server? This has been done for other online games that no longer have servers.

I'm guessing all xbox live connection info is stored in the XBE itself and offered as a library in the XDK. The first place i can think of looking for information is by taking apart the XDK libraries.

Xbox Loyalists likes this.
  2. kl0wn

kl0wn <B>Site Supporter 2013</B><BR><B>Site Benefactor</

IIRC there was someone who was working on this years ago, I can't find the website anymore...I don't think it got anywhere though. I looked into it for about 5 minutes then decided I didn't want to deal with encrypted packets :p

If I can find the site of the people working on it I'll link it here. I think it was a blog.

3. AlexRMC92

I'm thinking the XDK libraries will contain what information the xbox expects to see and what it sends out. Taking them apart will be a big challenge. you can't really sniff encrypted packets because live no longer exists for the xbox1. Although you could sniff the first packets the xbox sends out then figure out the rest sequentially.

4. kl0wn

kl0wn <B>Site Supporter 2013</B><BR><B>Site Benefactor</

When I wanted to attempt this (for the 5 minutes I wanted to attempt this) I bridged a connection through my pc and did like you said, sniffed the first packets. I was hoping to be able fake some sort of authentication but I did not get anywhere near there. Maybe I'll return to this project, but I'm not sure the libraries alone will be enough. I'm sure someone can share more knowledge on this

5. AlexRMC92