Official Rhea Discussion

Discussion in 'Sega Saturn Programming and Development' started by citrus3000psi, Jul 16, 2015.

  1. Friend of Sonic

    Friend of Sonic Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Wowzers, a menu! Awesome. Now what's the largest SD card we can use? Lol
     
  2. cafealpha2

    cafealpha2 Site Supporter 2015

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ah OK, so Action Replay codes still work :) This is what I was worrying about.
     
  3. neuroacid

    neuroacid Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    79
    While it can be run from a cart, it would just add an unnecessary additional
    step, as the custom menu disc image itself, is an integral part in using the CDB
    to communicate with the ODE. So it ends up being better to just load the menu
    the way it is now and, leave the cart slot free for something else.

    For anyone wondering about using AR or other carts - by pressing (A) button you
    reset the system and start the boot process from the beginning, so you are taken
    back to whatever cart you have inserted (I can later just add an option to go
    back to the cart from the menu).

    On the other hand if you want to skip the cart and boot the game directly, you
    can do just that by using the (START) button instead, that way you go straight
    to the SEGA licensing screen. The reason why this is not the default boot, is
    simply because while it works well, the compatibility is not perfect. I'll try
    to figure out if it can be improved (probably just a matter of reverting to a
    state that some games expect) but for the time being I decided to just leave it
    in as an option for future use, as I plan to use it in conjunction with the
    Rhea's reset_goto option to return back to the menu.
     
    -=FamilyGuy=- and krisk77 like this.
  4. philbee

    philbee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just tried this on my Saturn and it's working beautifully, great appreciation to neuroacid for taking the time to do this for all. What a great community here.
     
  5. MeteK

    MeteK Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    8
    Great work !!! Thanks a lot !!!
     
  6. DBloke

    DBloke Huh huh "Member"

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    17
    Before I lay some cash down for one, are 128GB SDs working with it?

    Or should I just stick to some 32GB themed ones?
     
  7. MeteK

    MeteK Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    8
  8. MeteK

    MeteK Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    8
    It should work.
     
  9. DBloke

    DBloke Huh huh "Member"

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    17
  10. cleeg

    cleeg Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    Amazing, just what I wanted for Christmas! Many thanks indeed.

    For those interested, I use SanDisk Ultra 64GB SDXC I 10 30MB/s cards in my Rhea and GDEmu with no problems other than I need a smaller 4GB (as it's the only other I have to hand, not sure if size matters) to update FW on each system.

    I believe that the only official advice Deunan will release is that 32GB cards are compatible, all else is pot luck. 64GB is way more room than you're likely to need in a Saturn I would reckon, and if your DC collection is fairly modest like mine, say twenty games or so, you'll still have quite a lot of room to spare with your 64 gigger there too.

    Once again to the RMenu creator, many thanks; you are a genius.

    One other thing I wonder if is possible: Can a tool be built to arrange the games on the Saturn SD card, as there is for the GDEmu? I tried the GDEmu tool thinking it might work but to no avail.
     
  11. kuze

    kuze Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    6
    Anyone else have problems with RMENU.exe failing to execute? Running Windows 10 here and tried compatibility mode for XP SP3 as well. No errors are reported, it just hangs when starting.

    Edit: Was able to get it working under a Windows XP SP3 VM. RMENU works great! Thanks again.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2015
  12. DBloke

    DBloke Huh huh "Member"

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    17
    Looking at it, with titles of worth and a few joky titles it is about 50gb
    My folder had Mega CD in it for some reason
    This is also discounting the 4MB games

    Got to have a big selection as its mostly for my games night, if its just for me im happy to have a small SD and swap about
     
  13. cleeg

    cleeg Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    How hard would it be to make skins and such for this? I know how ungrateful that sounds, but I just wondered...
     
  14. Druidic teacher

    Druidic teacher Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,643
    Likes Received:
    129
    x
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2017
  15. Strogen

    Strogen Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    9
    Great work on the menu, Thanks!
     
  16. Friend of Sonic

    Friend of Sonic Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Get a load of this
    [​IMG]
    It is an adapter that lets you plug into a Micro SD slot, then reads info via USB. I assume there is circuitry that allows the device to act as a USB host but it apparently works. No longer manufactured. :( I wonder if it could have allowed us to use USB hard drives
     
  17. Sk8er000

    Sk8er000 Rising Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you neuroacid awesome work!!
     
  18. DBloke

    DBloke Huh huh "Member"

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    17
    Just tried with a 64GB card
    http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Search/searchTerm/SanDisk+Ultra+microSDHC+64GB.htm
    It dont work, good job it was only a tenner when I got it, I got two both work on other things

    Also ONE MORE THING is there a way of making it boot right into the menu if an Action Replay is plugged in?

    Gonna use a smaller SD card for 4mb/1mb games as the official one ive got SNK games hate it
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2015
  19. fille

    fille Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7
    hi,can someone try in the hunt please,black screen here.
     
  20. DBloke

    DBloke Huh huh "Member"

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yup also getting a black screen on it

    My thourghts on the Menu, one werid thing is, it wont name some formats, it will just label them as "Empty folder", they still work
     

Share This Page