Official Rhea Discussion

Discussion in 'Sega Saturn Programming and Development' started by citrus3000psi, Jul 16, 2015.

  1. Damn-Deal-Done

    Damn-Deal-Done Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    39
    I made a quick guide for setting up an SD Card with Rmenu for Rhea.

    Anyone think of a way to make it better, let me know.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Nopileus

    Nopileus Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    13
    It can load .iso images for sure, they just won't have any CD audio tracks which the menu does not have anyway.
    So you dropped the BIN folder and RMENU.exe in the 01 folder on the sd card, then ran the .exe from the SD card?

    I am current using rmenu 0.2 using that procedure without any problems.
     
  3. GusLanzetta

    GusLanzetta Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually got it to work as folder 01 after that. Don't know what changed. Thanks for the help, guys. Will definetly save that guide.
     
  4. Umgawa

    Umgawa Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, as a recent purchaser of a rhea board I've come into a bit of an issue with converting cue/bin files to cdi.
    I've been through this thread and people suggest daemon tools to mount the files however the older version mentioned does not work on my PC (latest windows 10). Any advice? If I can get away with not burning every disc before converting that would be great!
    Also for the auto region in the .ini file my console is a Japanese console but has built in Taiwan on the rear should I select the Taiwan code?
    I can get the Rmenu to come up but any game I've converted (using alcohol120 to mount onto virtual drive) comes up as a audio disc in the saturn menu!
    Greatly appreciate any advice!
     
  5. Damn-Deal-Done

    Damn-Deal-Done Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    39
    Not familiar with win 10 so can't comment why the specific daemon tools doesn't work. I use it on my win 7 machine.

    Archive.org should have a good collection of trurip saturn images.

    Choose Japan code.
     
  6. GusLanzetta

    GusLanzetta Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    As said above, there is a great number of ready for Rhea Saturn games on archive.org: https://archive.org/search.php?query=rhea saturn phoebe

    If Japan region isn't working maybe try Taiwan just to be sure. If not then the it's the image file. I use Win 10 and dumped my discs with Clone CD.
     
  7. Fogamer Six

    Fogamer Six Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Try a program called UltraISO. You can easily convert your Bin/Cue to either MDF or IMG and they work perfectly.
     
  8. ceramicsaturn

    ceramicsaturn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried UtraISO, and converted a couple games to MDF, and the menu says it's not recognized as a Saturn game. When placed in the Rhea, it doesn't recognize anything to read.
     
  9. Fogamer Six

    Fogamer Six Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Are you putting the games in folders 02, 03, 04, etc? Are you running Rmenu.exe so that it generates a menu list before trying the games?
     
  10. Damn-Deal-Done

    Damn-Deal-Done Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    39
    Hello. I have a bunch of TruRip saturn images to use with Rhea and a lot of the games have multiple versions. Does anyone know what the numbers mean?

    Example: Street Fighter Zero. End numbers [1], [2], [3].
    It has four versions. In this case it is easy to see that version V1.003 will be the newest one, but what are the numbers next to V1.002?

    Street Fighter Zero (1995)(Capcom)(JP) - [V1.002][1].ccd
    Street Fighter Zero (1995)(Capcom)(JP) - [V1.002][2].ccd
    Street Fighter Zero (1995)(Capcom)(JP) - [V1.002][3].ccd
    Street Fighter Zero (1995)(Capcom)(JP) - [V1.003].ccd

    Example: Alone In The Dark. End letters [A], [B ].

    Alone in the Dark - Jack is Back (1996)(Infogrames Entertainment)(EU) - [A].ccd
    Alone in the Dark - Jack is Back (1996)(Infogrames Entertainment)(EU) - [B ].ccd

    Example: Daytona USA. End numbers [1], [2,4],

    Daytona USA (1995)(Sega)(EU) - [1].ccd
    Daytona USA (1995)(Sega)(EU) - [2,4].ccd

    Example: Sega Rally Championship. End codes [E,J], [P3H,P4H]

    Sega Rally Championship (1995)(Sega)(EU) - [E,J].ccd
    Sega Rally Championship (1995)(Sega)(EU) - [P3H,P4H].ccd

    There are many more mystery codes.
    [A,D] and an alternative with [B ] at the end.
    [1S] then alternative with [4S] at the end.
    [3] then alternative with [4] at the end.
    [A04] then [A07]
    [1,2,3] then [4]
    [V1.002] then [V1.003] then [1.005]
    [1] then [2] then [P1K,P2K] then [P1C,P2C]
    [V1.013][3] then [V1.014][10]
    [1,3] then [2] first image has both lower and higher number than second image.
    [4MB1] then [5MM1]
    [1MB,2MB] then [1M]
    [FG621N] then [GG6210]
    [1] then [2MB] then [2MM]

    You can see how all these alternative images will take up a lot of disc space, 4 times as much in some cases, so I really want to keep only the best version but this is hard with no guide to what these numbers actually mean.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2017
  11. Droid III

    Droid III Rising Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    41
    Most of those numbers are disc pressing codes. Many games were popular enough that they had to make a lot of manufacturing runs, but those runs may have had some slight differences. Redump indicates these by the ring code.

    The actual game data is same for all of those, the difference is mostly in small things, like one audio file being different, or offset by a few bits or something like that. So just pick one and play.

    The V1.013 is the only exception. Some games got multiple data revisions for various reasons. These could be game bugs, or various other misc fixes. Confusingly, Redump lists these with the version number listed in the game header, instead of the ring code they use everywhere else (further confusing because the game header doesn't even advance the version number in some cases). They should have REV A, REV B, REV C, etc. for Saturn games, instead of v1.002, v1.005, v2.013 etc.

    Usually the one with the highest revision is the best. For Saturn games, the later versions are sometimes from the Satakore budget releases. Also, sometimes later versions fix game breaking bugs (like for Outrun which crashes on Saturns made after 1997).
     
  12. Damn-Deal-Done

    Damn-Deal-Done Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    39
    Cool. Cheers for the info, should save me quite a bit of disc space. Now if I could only find that all elusive TruRip Saturn dat to help organise them.
     
  13. uaagi360

    uaagi360 Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi, after three days of trying everything in this forum. I am not having much success getting the rhea to work with most disc images.
    The only images that I can get to work are from already burnt to CD/or orginal disks by using disc juggler to create an image.
    I have a collection of existing images on hard drive in formats that are supported by the rhea but only get the message that "game disc is unsuitable for this system.
    I have download darkwater, TruRip and from https://archive.org/search.php?query=rhea saturn phoebe, new images but these do not work either.
    I have followed the guide by Damn-Deal-Done above. I have tried using GDEMU and not using GDEMU
    I have tried mounting images using both Alcohol 120 and DAEMON Tools Lite 4.49.1.0356 and using Disc juggler to create an image.
    I have tried ultraISO to convert images
    I have formated the memory card FAT32 trying both 32kb and 64kb clusters.
    I have updated the firmware

    Other than burn images to disc and then use disc juggler to create a new image on the computer - I dont know what else I can do. Advice greatly appreciated
     
    vengerov likes this.
  14. Damn-Deal-Done

    Damn-Deal-Done Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    39
    Could it be a region problem?

    Have you set your region in the ini file to match your console?

    I am still confused about Rhea's region bypass capabilities because I use Action Replay Plus cart.
     
  15. NightbreedUK

    NightbreedUK Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    As Damn-Deal-Done has already said - this sounds like a region problem.

    Open your ini file (or make one if you don't have one) And check your auto_region line,
    If it is not there then just add in:
    auto_region = 0 (If your console is Japanese)
    auto_region = 2 (If you console is USA)
    auto_region = 6 (If your console is European)
    and save it.
    If you are using a Rhea - make sure the ini file is on the root of your SD card and called Rhea.ini (Must have a capital R)
    If you are using a Phoebe - make sure the ini file is on the root of your SD card and called Phoebe.ini (Must have a capital P)

    If all the above is correct and you still have troubles then check to see If your operating system is set to hide known file types - you may find that your ini file is actually called Rhea.ini.txt - and then all you will have to do is change that :)
     
  16. uaagi360

    uaagi360 Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you. The ini file was called Rhea.ini.txt. All is working now
     
  17. Damn-Deal-Done

    Damn-Deal-Done Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    39
    I will update the guide when I get time. I never understood why microsoft think it's acceptable to hide file extensions by default. It's a good idea to always have them showing.
     
  18. Krycek7o2

    Krycek7o2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    I wonder if anyone has had this problem; randomly the phoebe will take me back to the menu. It happened with Marvel Super Heroes so far. I wonder if it's the cable or the SD card?

    SOLVED

    It was the damn Lexar SD 32gb card. I switched to a 64gb SanDisk and it worked flawlessly.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2017
  19. Night-Dweller

    Night-Dweller Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'm using the NTSC version. It's either Redump, Trurip, or Darkwater dump. So it should be quality. My dumps are almost all MDF/MDS because I got tired of trying to get a good conversion to CDI after hours.

    I brought it up again because there was only one person who responded to the original post. And as I said, I tried the dumps from the most reputable dumpers (i.e. Redump, Trurip, Darkwater) in multiple formats and had no luck until I tried a random Emuparadise dump. It's just odd to me as Emuparadise would be much less reputable than those dumpers I posted above as the disc images may not be 1:1 rips and are more susceptible to problems.

    Also. I just experienced "Space Jam" giving me a problem during both Full boot and Fast boot. The game is playable but the announcer does not take a millisecond break. He is saying things that make no damn sense at all and just keeps going non-stop regardless of what is actually happening or who is playing. Then after the first quarter the game freezes.
    Once again all my rips are of the most quality available and in MDF/MDS format. Some Trurip dumps may be in CCD format as that's how they came. I'm not trying to be fussy but I'm just intrigued and am posting to see if anyone shares the same experience.
    Check out "Retro_revisitor" on Instagram to see the Space Jam issue.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2017
  20. Fogamer Six

    Fogamer Six Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yeah, I'd already posted this issue. Went so far as to rip a copy and it just does this... but then every version also freezes at the quarter as well (if you play that long) All of the announcer voices are one CD track so it isn't accessing it correctly. I've given up and just decided that the game isn't worth worrying about since it is also on PS1 and I have a PSIO.
     
    Night-Dweller likes this.

Share This Page