NES classic edition controller mod

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by awesomeNES, Nov 14, 2016.

  1. LeHaM

    LeHaM Site Soldier

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,575
    Likes Received:
    265
    could it be a current issue? How much does the adapter draw?
     
  2. kikujade

    kikujade Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can these Nes Mini controller boards be adapted to be used on a regular NES? What would it take to repurpose a regular NES controller cable on it? has anyone tried it?
     
  3. awesomeNES

    awesomeNES Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    109
    Probably could use it if you wanted to tap into the traces, but why? It's not gonna work if you were to just plug it into an old NES because it's completely different technology lol.
     
  4. kikujade

    kikujade Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, that sucks. I though this was an opportunity to buy brand new, high quality nes controllers for $10 a piece. I guess I will continue scavenging for parts then.
     
  5. awesomeNES

    awesomeNES Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    109
    what you could do is put the old PCB into the new shell. But these controllers are impossible to find for the time being anyway, unless you want to pay like $70 for one.
     
  6. Mord.Fustang

    Mord.Fustang Hugh Jazzembler Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    118
    Update!

    http://www.raphnet.net/electronique/extenmote/index_en.php

    Guess I'll have to update mine!!
     
    awesomeNES likes this.
  7. Helder

    Helder Site Supporter 2014,2015

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    50
    I'm working on a replacement pcb that uses Raphnet's code along with the shift register so it'll be universal as an NES and NES mini controller pcb and has the home button coded in so it's activated by triple pressing the Start Button.
     
    TriState294 and awesomeNES like this.
  8. awesomeNES

    awesomeNES Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    109
    I like the idea of pressing start 3 times, however the home button also triggers the save state. You'll just have to trigger it a little bit before you know you're gonna die lol. But, I guess I could push start 3 times pretty damn quick if I had to. ...but it's not like I need save states anyway ;)
     
  9. AndehX

    AndehX You got boost power!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    50
    Do Nintendo ever plan to mass produce these controllers? Or even the NES mini itself? They'd make a fortune.
     
  10. borti4938

    borti4938 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    55
    I've modified my NES Classic Mini controller to do the same - simulating the HOME button as a combination of Start+Select. All you need is an OR-Gate (either a 'regular 74-IC', e.g. the 74HC32 or a single gate version, e.g. 74AHC1g32). I've combined Start + Select with the OR Gate and connected to output to the lifted pin 8 of the main IC on the controller (this is normally where the HOME button is connected to in a Wii Classic Controller)

    [​IMG]

    Of course I also have connected unused input pins to Vcc or GND after I took this picture.

    Now my NES Classic Mini goes back into the main menu by pressing Start+Select at the same time :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2017
    awesomeNES, Bearking, DS2 and 3 others like this.
  11. LET

    LET Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. borti4938

    borti4938 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    55
    100% sure :)
    All buttons have negative logic, i.e. '1' = unpressed and '0' = pressed. A OR gate outputs a '0' if both inputs are '0', too.
     
  13. LET

    LET Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    of course.
    Did not known there be negative logic at this Buttons.
    Thanks.
     

Share This Page