My Project Diva Future Tune Cab is working !!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Arcade and Supergun' started by soyandroid, Feb 17, 2017.

  1. soyandroid

    soyandroid Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    20
    Finally after years and years of wait.

    I got a Project Diva Cabinet.

    Originallly, i wanted a Diva RingEdge cab, but almost all cabs in Japan was updated to Nu and Future Tone version, 2.5 years ago, so i end buying a Project Diva Future Tone cab, powered by a Sega Nu.

    Cab arrived from very far away, terribly well packet (cardboard box was already removed for the photos):

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    It just took me two weeks to get it up and running, althought i already had been working on Nu, 4 months ago...

    And here is my daughter enjoying it:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    And finally here is a small an dirty video:

     
  2. DeChief

    DeChief Rustled.

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    683
  3. wombat

    wombat SEGA!

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    261
    Really cool to see you not only imported this Japan exclusive cabinet/game, you also managed to crack the online requirements. I guess you're the only person in world outside Japan actually owning a fully functioning and playable Project DIVA cabinet :)
     
    Digmac likes this.
  4. soyandroid

    soyandroid Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    20
    I know there was a cab imported to an arcade in Las Vegas last year, but it never worked there.
    I tried to buy it from the owner, but he didn't wanted to sell it, because he was thinking that someday someone will fix it for him.
    I hear later that he broken relations with his bussiness partner and closed the arcade and sold it very cheap.

    So finally, the only way was to import a cab from Japan and work a bit hard on the Nu for get it running offline.

    The NU is a very nice platform for wok on, all is encrypted and protected with Bitlocker and onboard TPM.

    Appart from that Sega designed a very nice PCI EX Board called AMEX that is in handle of most part of the security off the system.

    Is that board:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Digmac

    Digmac Removed for Not Reuploading Juiced Fast Enough

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    508
    Not true. Round 1 arcades here in the United States have had Project Diva Future Tone cabs fully working, and for a long time now. You can export these cabs to the US with full online support working, you just need to have the connections to do so. Round 1 being an arcade chain in Japan has these connections of course. Also, yes, I've played this game here in the US just fine.

    That being said, this is the first independently owned cabinet with the online functions bypassed that we know of. Huge congrats to @soyandroid for pulling this off. It's worth an extreme amount to the right person. I never thought I'd see this happen.
     
    wombat likes this.
  6. soyandroid

    soyandroid Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    20
    Here is a bit better quality video of my daugther playing Project Diva, but we are still very bad playing the game, lol

     
  7. sp193

    sp193 Site Soldier

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    722
    So does this mean that you can't save your progress? It seems like you were able to change modules, so I guess the hack took care of that?

    I wasn't very good with it either, but I played it to enjoy the music and graphics. Enjoy!
     
    Digmac likes this.
  8. soyandroid

    soyandroid Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    20
    For now i can't not save progress, because the Aime reader don't work if the cab is offline.
    But is just a matter of expend time and implement an All.net emulator properlly.
    There will be some added problems like the conexion is thru SSL and it checks for a valid certificate, but well is not my mine concert now.
    A CrossBeats Sunrise cab is also coming from Japan and is based on Nu 1.1, i will like too see if Sega fixed the small security hole i found on the first vesion of the Nu, lol
     
  9. Woodu

    Woodu Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice Work!
    Glad to see Nu works offline now.
     
  10. Woodu

    Woodu Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very nice cabinet.
     
  11. system

    system Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    5
    How are you importing these cabs? I want to get my hands on a KC cab
     
  12. soyandroid

    soyandroid Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    20
    What is a KC Cab?
    Did you mean a Kantai Collection arcade cab?

    Because that cab is terribly expensive, apart that the game is renting only, so get the keychip will be near impossible now.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
  13. system

    system Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes, Kantai Collection. That's unfortunate that it's renting only. So it seems like it's not possible to find, let alone on sale, correct?
     
  14. soyandroid

    soyandroid Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    20
    Well, all is possible , but you should ask companies like Sophia Corporation for example and be ready to pay like 10K$.
     
  15. system

    system Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    5
    well shit. Sounds like it'll be interesting
     
  16. Bruktmoped

    Bruktmoped Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    9
    Is there any news about this? Have you got the save function sorted?
     
  17. PessimisticPenguin

    PessimisticPenguin Плохо пигвин

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    30
    The arcade cabinet only has 4 buttons? Interesting. I thought it had two sets of four like they have you use on the console port
     
  18. sp193

    sp193 Site Soldier

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    722
    The arcade game existed before Dreamy Theater, and seems to follow the original Project DIVA game's gameplay (which only accepted input from the 4 buttons of the PSP)

    This is Future Tone, so it also has the slider strip, where you slide your hand in the direction of the matching note. Originally, Project DIVA Arcade did not have such a feature either.
     
  19. Joshuawthomson

    Joshuawthomson Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    8
  20. PessimisticPenguin

    PessimisticPenguin Плохо пигвин

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    30
    Oh I thought that touchpad was just for the left and right yellow arrows. On the PS4 I played the future tone demo and I believe you had to hold notes while pressing the same note for a higher score, so you'd hold like left on dpad while using square otherwise it's impossible to hold that note and tap it at the same time, so for that reason I thought the arcade machines would have two sets of four buttons.
     

Share This Page