My CD64 self boot, load any protected cartridge mod (Any game up to 256Mb)

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by Seeds, Dec 24, 2016.

1. Seeds

Seeds Member

Hello, not that many of you would probably care because this thing is so old, kind of obscure, and severely outdated; but I thought I should share what I did here for anyone interested, and that I'm kind of proud of this.

I spent a ridiculous amount of time on this mod, mostly due to inexperience with electronics and soldering. It was a good beginner practice project and I've learned a lot about soldering so this little project wasn't all that pointless to me. I am an electrician by trade so I know a little about electricity and continuity but zip about computer chips, so by metering things out I understand what connections have to be made where to make them but I do not fully understand what the chips are doing.
    If anyone can give me any pointers, tips, or what I could have done to make this project better looking, more efficient, or some insider knowledge on how the N64 games protection chips work in the way a complete bumbling idiot would understand, please let me know!

For anyone that doesn't know the CD64 is a backup unit that sits underneath the N64 that allows you to play backup games from a CD rom. You can read a little about it here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CD64_(Nintendo).
    [​IMG]
    This is a picture of my CD64 collection.

The CD64 requires a game inserted it with a 6102 boot chip boot the CD64. To play certain games, or load cartridges with a different boot chip you would have to use a device called the parallel cartridge decoder.
    [​IMG]
    With a parallel cartridge decoder you insert a game with a 6102 chip on top and the protected game on the bottom. The problem I have with this is how irritating, inconvenient and ugly this thing looks. So I finally took the challenge and decided wire the protected cartridge decoder into the CD64 itself.