[MOD] Aladdin XBlast

Discussion in 'Xbox (Original console)' started by bennydiamond, Dec 29, 2014.

  1. KaosEngineer

    KaosEngineer Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    98
    It is pin 6 that has 5Vdc as long as the console is connected to AC power.

    Installation of a modchip on a 1.6 should have the LPC installed pin header's pins 4 and 6 removed.

    V.16 Xbox consoles have 5Vdc standby instead of 3.3Vdc as on all previous revisions.

    You need to power the modchip using an alternate switched 5Vdc source. Team Xecuter suggests using the right-hand pin of the device at location U6A1.

    Alternate 5Vdc Source - Team Xecuter.png
     
  2. nextria

    nextria Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you kaosengineer.

    To what point on the chip should it go ?
    Also in the first post it says we should only have one wire the L1 On the 1.6.

    What should I do?
     
  3. KaosEngineer

    KaosEngineer Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    98
    Wait does the Aladdin XT modchip even use 5Vdc. I think it's only powered by 3.3Vdc from pin 9 of the LPC debug header. This voltage supply level is reconnected when doing the LPC rebuild on a 1.6 console.

    It's the X2.6 and X3 that need a switched 5Vdc source.

    Why would there be more than one wire to L1 for any console? I need to re-read the first post and get back to you on what I think they are talking about.

    Update: If I understand the first post, L1 is tied to a 1.6's LFRAME signal for the Aladdin XBlast modchip. Instead of using D0 as with other versions of the Xbox. I'm not even sure it has to be tied to L1 as I thought the 1.6's are always trying to load the BIOS across the LPC bus.
     
  4. nextria

    nextria Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks @KaosEngineer, I Will check without the
    L1 wire on my Xbox see of it works.

    I also will cut the pin 4 so the light goes of :)
     
  5. nextria

    nextria Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    This morning I was using my HW-USBN-2A to program some chips again.
    It really sucks I needed an external power supply to make it work.

    This make me think, the USB supplies 5V to the programmer, and normally should also have some 3.3V.
    So I opened up my HW-USBN-2A, and used my multimeter, and found a point where I have 3.3v.
    I soldered a wire to the VCC pin, but it still did not work.

    So I solders a wire from the two ground point to one of the legs of the USB shield.
    this still did not work, than I found out the ground tracks around the board are a different ground.
    I soldered a wire to this point and now It is working !
    Don't need an external power supply, and it is working great, I already did 5 chips with it.
    I think tomorrow I will solder in a switch so I can turn the 3.3V off, although I am just using this for the Aladdin modchips.

    Below a picture of my board,

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2019
  6. lotec25

    lotec25 Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a ?. I set my mod chip to boot directly into a certain bios. How can i get back in to change this?
     
  7. nextria

    nextria Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    i think if you power on your xbox with the eject button it should boot in the menu again,
     
    lotec25 likes this.
  8. lotec25

    lotec25 Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    @nextria Thank you worked perfect.
     

Share This Page