Mega EverdDrive

Discussion in 'Mega Everdrive / Everdrive MD' started by KRIKzz, Nov 8, 2011.

  1. keropi

    keropi Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    62
    I am using this image: Beyond Oasis (U) [!].gen from GoodGen v.3.0 romset , it could worth to get the one suitable for your region from the romset...
     
  2. amrod

    amrod Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome the goodgen set worked

    Mine was from no intro set, it's odd how they both have same md5 checksums and stuff and one works with the .gen extension and the .md doesn't
     
  3. keropi

    keropi Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    62
    great news! enjoy!!!!
     
  4. lunch_box

    lunch_box Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi KRIKzz...

    when will retrogate have stock ready to order for the md everdrive??

    thanks
     
  5. Everblue

    Everblue Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is already in stock :p
     
  6. Kherson

    Kherson Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I just bought a Mega everdrive and I have formatted my SD card a couple of times. I get error 100 and error 103 a couple of times I formatted again and now I get the screen where it says Sd...ok and inti.. but it just stays on that screen. Can someone help?

    Thanks
     
  7. KRIKzz

    KRIKzz Well Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    2
    possible reasons:
    1) Incompatibility with sd card. Try to use another sd card if possible. Would be good if you will use windows machine for card setup
    2) Problem with console. Is your system original one, or some clone?
    3) problem with power supply (weak AC adapter)
    4) Cart defect
     
  8. nvnv-sunny

    nvnv-sunny Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am more concerned EEPROM save and NES emulator, do not know can be achieved.:friendly_wink:
     
  9. Kherson

    Kherson Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have both a Sega genesis model 1 and 2 not any clones. I also Just bought two new Ac adapters. I have only tried one SD card hopefully that is the problem and not a problem with the cart.

    Thank you for your help

    Edit: Its working now, I must have not put in the sd card into the slot correctly
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2012
  10. gcfernandez

    gcfernandez Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got my mega everdrive from retrogate and it's freaking awesome. I was also wondering about the NES emulation, is that being worked on or has it been scrapped?
     
  11. Rabid Peanut-Butter

    Rabid Peanut-Butter <B>Site Supporter 2013</B><BR><B>Site Supporter 20

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    1
    Out of stock again at Retrogate. Haha, I keep missing this. I'd love to upgrade from a regular Everdrive to one of these.
     
  12. keropi

    keropi Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    62
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2012
  13. gcfernandez

    gcfernandez Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, i just played thru this with rgb converted to component . i wish my rgb av famicom look just like this (zero jailbars and accurate colors) :highly_amused:
     
  14. dutchconsolefreak

    dutchconsolefreak Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is there any information available how to get low-level access to the onboard 8-bit audio DAC?
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2012
  15. KRIKzz

    KRIKzz Well Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    2
    Onboard dac is not 16 bit, it is 8bit stereo dac, but quality better than internal genesis dac.
    REG_DAC = 0xA1300E
    REG_DAC_CFG = 0xA13020
    REG_KEY = 0xA1301C

    you should write 0x12a5 to reg_key to unlock regs, or just write "SEGA EVERDRIVE" instead "SEGA GENESIS" in rom header, in this case regs will stay unlocked by default.
    after that you should wite 1 to REG_DAC_CFG to enable dac. Now you can use dac, you should send your audio data to REG_DAC. 8bit for each channel.
    Also possible to use dma transfer from sd to , and audio buffers inside of fpga, i will publish libs and demos soon
     
  16. dutchconsolefreak

    dutchconsolefreak Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for these infos, please do publish the info on how to setup dma transfer as i have a feeling it gives more control over sample rate etc.
    For now i'm not in a extreme hurry, as i still need to order and receive my Mega ED.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2012
  17. BlockABoots

    BlockABoots Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    4
    Have just taken possession of a Mega Everdrive!!!! yay!. What program/files should i be looking at to place on the SD card (other than roms ;-) ), whats this FM sound i have read about and SMS emulation anything else??
     
  18. BlockABoots

    BlockABoots Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hmm have just tried the Mega Everdrive on my MD2 console, when powering on i get the black screen with write righting but then im greeted with a green, then red and finally a blue screen any ideas??

    I have the MEGAOS.bin file on the root of the inserted SD card then a folder named Mega Drive and another named Master system
     
  19. scottzane

    scottzane Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have nearly everything explained here.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012
  20. BlockABoots

    BlockABoots Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    4
    Any ideas on the blue screen im getting, i have placed the MEGAOS.bin in the 'MEGA' folder on the root of the SD card, am i missing file that need to be placed on the SD card?

    EDIT: Just tried the micro SD slot aswell and still get the same problem, both cards are FAT32 formatted btw
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012

Share This Page