Mayumi v4 on the PIC12C508A / PIC12F508

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by Shane McRetro, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. Shane McRetro

    Shane McRetro Blast Processed Since 199X

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    194
    I saw that @Mord.Fustang had done up the Mayumi code to be 12F629 compatible - legend! However I have been having issues burning 12C508A and 12F508 chips with Mayumi v4 with 12C508 code. It just seems to drop out halfway... see below!

    Just curious if anyone else has had a similar issue really! My code appears to be OK compared with other internet sources. So I'm a little at a loss! Had issues with the K150 and the MiniPro TL866CS, didn't even touch it with the GQ-4X - that thing still doesn't burn MM3 properly (and that's my baseline!)

    [​IMG]
     
  2. master991

    master991 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    28
    Because it's write protected. It's OK
     
    Shane McRetro likes this.
  3. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,629
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Yes, you are reading back a protected chip.

    Disable code protection when you load the hex, then burn it and you can do what you are trying to do.
     
    Shane McRetro likes this.
  4. Shane McRetro

    Shane McRetro Blast Processed Since 199X

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    194
    Thanks guys! I'll give it a spin and well since you are both well versed in chips... I'd say it should work! :) I knew you guys would help out quick smart! Best community ever! :D

    Edit: Worked a charm. Wizards! The lot of you! :)

    Note to future self, code protect is found under the CONFIG tab of the MiniPro TL866CS software labelled as "/cp" on BIT3. Party!
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2016
  5. Mord.Fustang

    Mord.Fustang Fiery Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    186
    The original Mayumi v4 code has Code Protect enabled by default... I intentionally disabled it in my ports by default to avoid issues with people trying to read the chip back.
     
    Shane McRetro likes this.
  6. Shane McRetro

    Shane McRetro Blast Processed Since 199X

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    194
    You are a star good sir! :) Thank you!
     
  7. nextria

    nextria Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello

    Sorry I bought 40 chips from AliExpress.
    And have the xgpro software. But when I do a blank check on the chips it says it not empty.

    Also I can not write the hex file to the chip.

    Could I have a bad batch ?
    What do you think
     
  8. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,629
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    They are often not blank from aliexpress. They are often chips that were intended to be used by some manufacturer, weren't and resold.

    Hopefully you have the "F" versions that can be erased, not the "C" version that can't.

    If they are erasable, erase them but keep note of the oscal value first.
     
  9. nextria

    nextria Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello @Bad_Ad84

    They are the C version, but I made a dispute and got my money back already.

    I think I will be using the 12f629 for my modchips.
    They are also cheap, and can be erased.

    Only need to solder them to a small board before I sell them
     
  10. nextria

    nextria Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    so i got my hands on some 12F508-I/P chips.
    I try to program them but now get an error:

    "Out of address of the device"

    i can program the chip after this but will it work ?
    And what is this error
     
  11. nextria

    nextria Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Okay so i programed the chip with the error and installed it into my playstation.
    But it will not boot my backups.

    I am at a los i dont know what i am doing wrong :(
    I know the chips are good and they are empty,

    @Bad_Ad84 i also dont need to fill in the oscal value, is it normal it does this automaticly ?
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2019
  12. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,629
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    It depends on the software/programmer you are using.

    I have no experience with what you are using, but it's why I ended up replacing my cheap programmer with something better when it was apparent I'd need it for more than a couple of one offs.
     
  13. nextria

    nextria Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1

    Hello @Bad_Ad84 I am using a TL866II PLUS and the software for this,
    I flashed a couple of different chips already and all work but with this one I keep getting an error.
    I tried to put a picture on my post but it is not showing now, maybe now it does.

    [​IMG]

    when I change the region to "code memory" I don't get the error.
    In another threat I saw you also uses this programmer ?
     
  14. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,629
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    I have the older version in a drawer as a backup/in the field. Didn't recognise the name of the software.

    Send me the exact file you are using and I will test on mine
     
  15. nextria

    nextria Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello @Bad_Ad84 thanks for checking, I tried multiple hex files, this is one of them
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,629
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    The one you have uploaded works fine for me on both programmers. However, if I open it on my "Professional" programmer, save it and open on mini pro (TL866A), it gives same error as yours.

    It also doesnt load in the config bytes. If I manually set them, then it works fine and still verifies successfully on the pro programmer.

    Pretty sure this is just an issue of where the software is expecting to find the config bytes in the file.

    If you are getting this error, you should just need to set the config bits manually, then save the file. Should work in future.

    Config settings from MiniPro (TL866A software) below.

    config.png
     
  17. nextria

    nextria Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    @Bad_Ad84 you are a genius, I changed the config and saved it, loaded it again and programmed the chip.
    Now it is working !

    I made an socked on the outside of my Playstation so I can check the chips faster if they work or not.

    already tried 3 Mayumi v4 and 1 mm3 and are working now, thank you so much !


    [​IMG]
     
  18. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,629
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    No problem
     

Share This Page