Mars Matrix 240p Mode???

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by fluffymadness, Dec 13, 2017.

  1. fluffymadness

    fluffymadness Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    I read somewhere that Mars Matrix has a 240p mode, but I didn't find exact instructions on how to activate it. I tried it with the Japanese and NTSC-US versions.
    Even did the Region Mod on my PAL V1 Console, cause I figured that it wouldn't let me change the mode to 240p since its putting out in 720x576.
    Tried the Start + LButton and Start + YButton Combo, but no chance on this.
    Does anyone have any idea on this ?
    Thanks.

    edit: If there's no 240p mode, can the output resolution be hex patched?
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2017
  2. MetalliC

    MetalliC Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    112
    is there was DC games, which uses 240p at all ?
    I know none. anyone ?
     
  3. MonkeyBoyJoey

    MonkeyBoyJoey 70's Robot Anime GEPPY-X (PS1) Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,736
    Likes Received:
    309
    Iirc one of the Street Fighter games did. That game also forced you to use composite/s-video mode as well iirc.
     
  4. MetalliC

    MetalliC Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    112
    Street Fighter III 3rd Strike - Fight for the Future
    Street Fighter III W Impact
    Street Fighter Zero 3 - Saikyo-ryu Dojo
    Super Puzzle Fighter IIX for Matching Service
    Super Street Fighter IIX for Matching Service - Grand Master Challenge
    neither of these ^^^^ uses progressive mode, all of them enable interlaced
     
  5. MonkeyBoyJoey

    MonkeyBoyJoey 70's Robot Anime GEPPY-X (PS1) Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,736
    Likes Received:
    309
    According to RetroRGB, the games in this list are 240p compatible:
    [​IMG]

    Like it says in the picture, you may need to hold Start+L (Start+Z on the Arcade Stick) while starting the system. Source: http://retrorgb.com/dreamcast.html

    As for the OP, I have no idea. :/
     
    Anthony817 and fluffymadness like this.
  6. fluffymadness

    fluffymadness Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
  7. Anthony817

    Anthony817 Familiar Face

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    490
  8. MonkeyBoyJoey

    MonkeyBoyJoey 70's Robot Anime GEPPY-X (PS1) Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,736
    Likes Received:
    309
    I'm hoping the HDMI mods have the option to play TV Mode only games over HDMI. That would be wonderful.
     
  9. S4pph4rad

    S4pph4rad Site Supporter 2015

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    114
    Don't the arcade games in Shenmue run at 240p? I seem to recall an article somewhere showing that a DC emulator was emulating Outrun in Shenmue 2 at the wrong resolution, producing nicer looking graphics than they were supposed to be.

    Edit: Found it. Read the article and comments below it:
    http://reassembler.blogspot.com/2013/01/higher-resolution-mode.html
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2017
    wombat likes this.

Share This Page