Mario Kart Arcade GP DX - Discussion

Discussion in 'Rare and Obscure Gaming' started by ItsMeMario, Oct 20, 2015.

  1. solidpro

    solidpro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    There's a 3 player version of this in Milton Keynes, UK - Xcape. Me and my two boys played on it last week. It can take a pic of you before you start so that it shows your face in a bubble above the rival cars.
     
  2. Gonzo

    Gonzo Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    23
    in the video i posted , you can see my chest in the picture box , haha, i was sitting to high for the camera to get my face :p
     
  3. ItsMeMario

    ItsMeMario Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    168
    Anyone of you living close to it ?

    Id like to buy some Data Cards of it :)
     
  4. ItsMeMario

    ItsMeMario Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    168
    Taken from :

    https://www.revolvy.com/main/index.php?s=Namco System ES3&item_type=topic

    Namco System ES1

    • Motherboard: Supermicro C2SBM-Q (Intel® Q35 + ICH9DO Chipset)
    • CPU: Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU E8400 at 3.00 GHz
    • RAM: 2x512 MB DDR2 800 MHz 1.8V
    • Video: NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT with 512 MB GDDR3 memory
    • HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 160 GB (ST3160318AS) with copy protection
    • Operating System : arcadelinux (Debian 4.0 based)
    ES3 is using Embedded Windows 7 instead of "arcadelinux"...hardware stayed the same ?
     
  5. ItsMeMario

    ItsMeMario Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    168
    runwhiteboyrun likes this.
  6. ItsMeMario

    ItsMeMario Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    168
  7. supermario18

    supermario18 a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm gonna test the emulator if it's actually playable.
     
  8. MBMM

    MBMM Powered by Pied Piper

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    400
    Has anyone given this a shot yet? The dump/emulator I mean.
     
  9. supermario18

    supermario18 a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    It booted but didn't get to the title screen because of a Direct3D error.
     
  10. ItsMeMario

    ItsMeMario Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    168
    -You MUST have a DirectX 10 card.
    -You MUST install DirectX 10 SDK (DXSDK_Jun10.exe) (ignore the error on installation, just click finish!)
    -If not already installed, install "directx_Jun2010_redist.exe" :p

    The Emulator works 100% at 60fps+. (got a GTX960 here)
    But I think you need a USB Joystick or Wheel to steer. I set keys for accelerate and stuff, but it did nothing, when finally in a race.
    At menus you can use most keys.

    In the meantime I made this mockup : (sadly it only exists as HDD)

    temp.jpg
     
  11. MBMM

    MBMM Powered by Pied Piper

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    400
    Good information, @ItsMeMario. Thanks for the heads up.
     
  12. Gamemaster14XIV

    Gamemaster14XIV The Master of All Games

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    30
    Basically, just like the Taito Type X2 stuff many years ago, all this "Emulator" TeknoParrot is doing is tricking the software into thinking it is running on the real system. Unlike your traditional emulator that simulates the whole system in software and uses tons of system resources, this type of simulation just more or less natively runs the game and doesn't need to use all the horse power needed to emulate the game.

    Of course this is a good thing because if they had to make a real Namco System ES3 emulator, it would probably be a good 5 or 10 years before computers were powerful enough to run it. I mean, look at Wii U, a rather underpowered system, which needs pretty beefy computers to emulate it.
     
  13. la-li-lu-le-lo

    la-li-lu-le-lo ラリルレロ

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,679
    Likes Received:
    266
    That's how I understand it. It does emulate certain things, like security dongles and other proprietary stuff that's connected to the main system. The game itself isn't being emulated, though. People have been able to run PC-based arcade games on PCs for a while; this just makes it easier.
     
  14. TriMesh

    TriMesh Site Supporter 2013-2017

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    785
    I think calling this an emulator is perfectly accurate - you can emulate anything from a single chip to a complete system and this is somewhere in the middle in that it's emulating the functions of the hardware that is present on the original arcade machine but not on a regular PC.

    It's just that in a gaming context "emulation" has become pretty much a synonym for "full system emulation", which this obviously isn't.
     
    Borman likes this.
  15. Gamemaster14XIV

    Gamemaster14XIV The Master of All Games

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    30
    The funny thing is, by the time we have computers that can do full system emulation of these games people will consider these to be retro games.
     
    dstyl likes this.
  16. dstyl

    dstyl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. la-li-lu-le-lo

    la-li-lu-le-lo ラリルレロ

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,679
    Likes Received:
    266

Share This Page