"Let's make GD ROM emulation happen" Facebook group.

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by sonicdude10, Jun 18, 2012.

  1. citrus3000psi

    citrus3000psi Housekeeping, you want towel?

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    419
    Yes Sir.
     
  2. mickcris

    mickcris Site Supporter 2014,2015

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    21
    Cool, just wondering as it's still questionable whether its compatible with VA0 boards or not.
     
  3. citrus3000psi

    citrus3000psi Housekeeping, you want towel?

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    419
    Yep I'm curious to know the install too. His 3do usb device isn't the most user friendly install, so I could see the dreamcast install being the same. As in; not geared towards plug and play style.
     
  4. Comp1demon

    Comp1demon Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am getting one of the 3d0 devices I will do a Tutorial on the install when I get it.

    Perhaps some videos/tutorial of the dreamcast one when you get it please.
     
  5. mickcris

    mickcris Site Supporter 2014,2015

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    21
    The only hard part of the 3do install is removing the ic. I stupidly dremeled mine off. I luckily did not damage anything, but it was not a good way to do it and dont recommend doing it that way.

    I am still thinking the DC board looks like its just going to plug in, but I could be wrong.
     
  6. citrus3000psi

    citrus3000psi Housekeeping, you want towel?

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    419
    I used quickchip on mine :)

    I just got a pm from zerowing

     
  7. Rocky5

    Rocky5 Site Supporter 2015

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    95
    How many days has it been since it was posted, mine is still in kazakhstan :-( well I assume its left now since it was at an airport, but bugger knows since it's all Russian lol wish I said to use DHL.
     
  8. citrus3000psi

    citrus3000psi Housekeeping, you want towel?

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    419
    It was shipped/dropped off on the 15th in kazakhstan and it got to US customs on the 20th.

    Where are you located? I'm using the standard usps tracking.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2014
  9. fluxcore

    fluxcore Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yeah, I'd be wary of shoving one of those into a VA0 until it's clear that he has designed it to cope with both 3.3V and 5V signals.
     
  10. citrus3000psi

    citrus3000psi Housekeeping, you want towel?

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    419
    No pics tonight. Looks like I have to sign for the package. I should be able to pick it up at the post office tomorrow am.
     
  11. Friend of Sonic

    Friend of Sonic Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Plug and play? You mean my dumbass could do this?

    Can't wait to hear more. But I have a USA Dreamcast manufactured in August 1999, so it sounds like I am probably VA0?
     
  12. mickcris

    mickcris Site Supporter 2014,2015

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yeah, you just plug it in like the gd-emu after removing the gdrom. You would have to cut out a hole in the back for the usb port though. What region console do you have? It should have a number in a circle on the sticker on the bottom of the console (I think its only not there on japanese consoles). If its a 0, then you have a VA0, etc... Most common version is the VA1.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2014
  13. Friend of Sonic

    Friend of Sonic Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Oh, hey! Good call, I have a 1.

    Also, I totally forgot about the hole needed. I would probably want to commission someone to cut that for me because I do not trust myself to do that.
     
  14. neuroacid

    neuroacid Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    79
    GDmenu v0.01 for GDEMU

    Hey guys, I was bored and decided to develop a very basic menu to use with the GDEMU.

    If like me you have your dreamcast collection spread across a few 32GB SDHC cards, you know how much of a pain it is to navigate through them and select the game you want to play.
    Hopefully this application will make that process less painful.

    I decided to call it "GDmenu" and it is just a temporary solution while we wait for Deunan to release his menu.
    I wanted to make it simple and as easy to use as possible.
    It was made in a couple weekends of work and with no previous experience in dreamcast dev/KOS.
    Some bugs are to be expected since it went through very little testing, although I haven't had any problems so far and KOS is very stable.

    gdmenu1.png

    It displays the currently selected game name and the disc number in case its a multi-disc game, based on the info contained on the ip.bin.
    After selecting the game you can just hit the (A) button to start it.
    You can also build a list of the games present on your SD card while cycling through them and hitting (X) to save it to the VMU after that.
    Next time you start the menu the list will be loaded automatically.
    There is also the possibility of saving multiple lists and cycle between them with (RT) and (LT).
    Each saved list contains in its description the number of the SD card that it belongs to.
    Pressing the (Y) button allows you to go back to the BIOS menu.
    In case you want to get rid of a list simply delete the corresponding save file from the VMU.
    The lists are saved and loaded from the VMU on A1 port and each one occupies 2 blocks.

    gdmenu2.png

    Unfortunately you still need to use the tactile switch on GDEMU to cycle through the games (a remote pcb with two switches helps a lot).
    But anyway I find it a much better solution than using the built-in music player, because a lot of games don't have the 0GDTEX.PVR file.

    Hope this is useful for the people out there with a GDEMU.

    Download
    gdmenu(23-8-2014).zip

    All you need to do is extract the gdmenu.cdi and copy it to the folder 01 of your SD card and rename it to disc.cdi.
    If that folder is already occupied you can always use the "GDEMU SD Card Maker" tool by madsheep to rearrange your folders.
    Also to make the menu more responsive it is recommend to add a file name GDEMU.ini to the root of your SD card with the two following lines inside:
    open_time = 150
    detect_time = 150

    More info on that inside the accompanying readme.txt

    Feel free to report any bugs or make suggestions...
     
    Anthony817 likes this.
  15. Braintrash

    Braintrash Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    24
    Pretty impressive.
     
  16. petterk

    petterk Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    11
    Impressive! You even did it before Deunan did:)

    Great job, although I dont have a GDEMU...
     
  17. keropi

    keropi Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    70
    awesome job on the menu!
     
  18. Helder

    Helder Site Supporter 2014,2015

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    54
    Mine is coming in and with this menu application it will be a perfect match for my lazy ass, great work!
     
  19. hundredtwenty

    hundredtwenty <B>Site Supporter 2014</B>

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    It’s pretty much perfect! No Issues whatsoever, list saving works flawless. Nice! If it could be controlled cia controller there wouldn’t even be
    a need for Deunan’s menu. :)

    But that won’t happen without access to his code, right? I’m no expert but it seems you’re just reading out the currently loaded disc? Anyway, awesome. Makes my GDEMU twice as enjoyable.
     
  20. citrus3000psi

    citrus3000psi Housekeeping, you want towel?

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    419
    Got the usb controller installed and running, zero issues, install is a piece of cake.

    The package:
    [​IMG]

    How it was packed:

    [​IMG]

    Piece of paper/cardboard cutting template for the usb jack in the back.

    [​IMG]

    The board:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    My Va1 Dreamcast:

    [​IMG]

    Now for the install; remove the modem and you will see a total of 4 black screws that need to be removed:

    [​IMG]

    Flip the unit back over and the the top comes right out. Next there are three gold screws holding the cd-rom/controller in place. Take these out and pull up on the unit. It pops out.

    [​IMG]

    Next tape the template to the top part of the case:

    [​IMG]

    I used this style of file to remove the material:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Next simply plug the board into the connector. Put the case back together; using the original 4 black screws. And presto:

    [​IMG]

    A picture with the lid open:

    [​IMG]

    Success!

    [​IMG]


    I can confirm the unit also works with optimized gdi images. I can also say its extremely weird play with cd rom not jamming out tunes.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2014

Share This Page